We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Nice, But Badly Needs Some Upkeep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wasini All Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wasini All Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 2 more sites!
Wasini All Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Church Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Formerly Wasini Luxury Homes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
681 reviews 681 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
1,496 helpful votes 1,496 helpful votes
“Could Be Nice, But Badly Needs Some Upkeep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Wasini Luxury Homes is an apartment complex consisting of 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom fully serviced apartments. The complex is run like a hotel, though most of the guests seem to be relatively long term. I'm sure Wasini was great when it was new, but it seems to have been poorly maintained and is quite unclean. Literally one of those places that just seems they haven't sunk a dime into it since it was built. The staff is very nice, though not thoroughly trained, and try to be as helpful as they know how. This complex is much better suited to long term stays than it is for the average tourist staying a night or two. If you fall into the latter category, a stay at Tribe will leave you much more satisfied.
However, if you are in Nairobi for business for a month or more, then you may want to give Wasini a look - the spacious apartments with full kitchens will appeal to you.

LOCATION - Wasini is on a quiet sidestreet consisting mostly of apartments, near the upscale area of Westlands, though not as near as the website makes you think. It's only a 250 Ksh cab ride there though. Nothing really within walking distance, and ask the gate guards for a taxi rather than the front desk if you want one within a half hour. Traffic from the airport is terrible, so if you're arriving at rush hour, you will want to stay at an airport area hotel instead.

ROOMS - The rooms are full apartments, with a full kitchen, living room, dining room table etc. This makes them suitable for longer term stays or families. The lighting in the rooms is awful - very dim and seems like it's from the 60s. I don't know why they don't change this. The first room we were put in was a disaster - paint was peeling from the walls (looked almost like it had been jackhammered), it stank of mold, the counter was entirely covered by burn marks, floor molding was badly damaged, marks all over the walls, and mildew was visible around the windows. We asked if this was the right room because , it looked like it was either under construction, or should be. They apologized and said they'd put us in another room - we waited for over four hours for another guest to check out and the room to be ready. It was 9:00 PM before we got to our new room.

The second room was much better than the first, though the bathroom window was covered by bird poop which was never cleaned up during our 4 day stay, the jacuzzi tub/shower had mildew all around the seals, had no shower curtain, and the hand
shower sitting in a rusty metal holder was so clogged up almost no water came out of it, the trim along the floor in the bedroom was badly damaged, the iron had no steam and was burnt on the bottom, the speakers placed all around the apartment didn't work, the towels were threadbare and heavily stained, and the toilet barely flushed and after you flushed it the whole apartment reeked of backed up sewage, while an exposed dirty toilet brush completed the decor. At least it didn't look like it had been recently jackhammered like the first one, and didn't smell of mold.

The bed was super short but relatively comfortable, the furniture in the second room was simple but fairly fresh, there was a large flatscreen tv, free wireless internet, a full kitchen, a large dining room table,and free room service from the restaurant. The lighting was just awful, I don't know what they were thinking. It felt like we were in a psychiatric ward. The rooms were quite large, so good for families or long term stays, if you are not too picky about cleanliness, lighting or maintenance.

SERVICE - The service was warm and friendly, and eager to please, though not thoroughly trained. We asked for maintenance to fix the shower head so we could take a shower, and they were prompt at doing so. The water pressure was still terrible, but at least it was possible now. The restaurant staff were friendly - you just had to go to the restaurant to find them each time, as we were mostly the only ones at the restaurant. One great touch was that when we were dining in the evening, they put a little portable stove with hot coals near us for warmth, very nice.

AMENITIES - There is a swimming pool, free wireless internet in the rooms that worked well, laundry service (by the piece - they say they let you use the laundry facilities, but they don't offer detergent or softener and the day we wanted to do laundry, the hotel was using them for staff laundry so we had to do ours at night), a DVD player, an iron (non-steam and poor) and ironing board, a jacuzzi tub (one person, doubles as the shower), and exercise room, a full service restaurant (food was mediocre, but staff was very nice). There is also a spa onsite, but we didn't use it.

BUSINESS - The free wi-fi works great, and probably the fastest we've had in Nairobi. There is a big dining room table for working at, but no desk. I don't believe there's a formal business centre. City Centre is about 15 minutes away if there is no traffic, about 45 minutes if there is. Cell phone and Blackberry coverage is excellent. Taxis are available, just make sure you call first - ask the security rather than the front desk.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again - just too unclean and poorly maintained for us - but if I was here alone on business, and had an extended stay, I might stay here. Or, if I had a family and a hotel room just wasn't sufficient. The kitchen is definitely nice to have for those circumstances. I just wish they'd clean the place up a bit, fix the lighting and give some attention to maintenance and refurbishment and it would be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkenyahalisi, Director of Sales at Wasini All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that Wasini Luxury Homes did not meet your expectations.

I can assure you that we have used your comments to continue to improve on our service and facilities.

I hope we will be able to welcome you to Wasini Luxury Homes in the future and that the experience will finally exceed your expectations.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Staying in Nairobi for the past month I was given the name Wasini Luxury Homes as a highly recommended alternative to the usual hotel experience. One is able to stay in a fully serviced apartment, tastefully furnished(unlike almost every other furnished apartment in Nairobi) with more than enough space for solo travelers, couples, friends or even a family with a child. It has all the perks of a 5 star hotel with the comfort and relaxed feel of having your own apartment. I enjoyed the convenience of having a gym, Clubhouse, Restaurant & Bar. The staff was polite, efficient and attentive making my stay there truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Without any doubt the place to stay in Nairobi!!!! I’m travelling to Nairobi a few times per year, in the last two years d I found Wasini Apartments cosy, with an amazing staff, always ready to help you and provide anything you need. Since the first time I stayed there, November 2008, some improvements were made in the Social areas and apartments decoration, the internet connection now, really allow you to use Skype to call home using wireless connection in the comfort of your apartment, which is something unique in the Nairobi Compounds. The Services included in the price, at least to me are absolutely outstanding e.g. shoe polishing for free :).
They have happy hour, 3 times a week to help to relax after a bus day in the office and often they make parties without any additional cost with live music and catering, which help you to know the other guests and build your network since most o the people is saying there are for business. Valentina and your staff are really amazing keep the good work you've being doing :)

They just have a problem that will be dificult to solve....which is the number of apartments available for the requests they have so try to do your booking as soon you can :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I've stayed the wasini a few times and other hotels in nairobi over the past year or so. Whilst the bigger and more expensive hotels offer you 'european' quality hotels, they miss the 'personal' charm of places like the wasini. The wasini are essentially serviced apartments (spacious at that), with onsite staff (john and priscilla particularly) being very gracious and attentive to your every need.

Good quality food and drink are provided as room service or in the main bar/terrance.. Should the food here not suffice, its a 5 min taxi (westlands) from a series of bars and restaurants that are all popular with ex-pats and locals.

In conclusion: Nice, clean, spacious apartments, friendly staff and a lovely manager making the stay feel like you're at home

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Wasini has it all - amazing space, great pool, absolutely superb management and staff. There are many furnished spaces in the area but Wasini is my first choice for every Kenyan visit...the others pale in comparison.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I have spent a month in Kenya for business and stayed at Wasini . With my travel plans changing everyday I found the staff very accommodating. They would find me somewhere to stay within Wasini if there was availability. Sometimes they could not and I had to leave what felt like home, however, as soon as they had availability I was back in the fold of my new family!! This is really a home away from home for all those who get tired of hotels and want some warmth when spending a long time away from home. Wasini caters really well for the business traveller - breakfast included, WiFi included, room service, laundry - but at the same time it gives you the option of arranging your own meals etc with the amenities of a serviced apartment. There is a gym, sauna and pool on site. The Club House has a pool table and a bar with an open fire as Nairobi can get cold.

Each apartment is fully equipped with modern facilities including flat screen TVs, DVD and radio surround system. Kitchen is fully equipped. Every bathroom has a jacuzzi!

Food - there is a wide selection of food on the menu which is all cooked from scratch for you will have to wait but it is worth it! The chefs can also cater to your tastes as well so if there is something you want which is not on the menu you can ask them and see if it would be possible for them to make it for you.

The apartments are serviced everyday to a high standard so hygiene is not a problem.

Security - Wasini is located in a safe part of town, however, it has CCTV and guarded gates so I felt pretty safe at all times.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who is travelling to Nairobi on business or pleasure.

  • Liked — It was home away from home.
  • Disliked — It got booked up pretty quickly!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights, arranged airport collection but this was a little on the expensive side at €20. In the westlands area of Nairobi and walking distance from Westlands Centre with shops and restuarants. Taxi ride to town 10-15mins.

Had a two bedroom apartment and it was very comfortable. The only complaint was there wasn't a shower but it did have a jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was good and can be delivered to your apartment. Good coffee also.

I would stay here again on my return.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wasini All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasini All Suite Hotel

Also Known As:
Wasini Luxury Homes Hotel
Wasini Luxury Homes Hotel Nairobi
Address: Church Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Formerly Wasini Luxury Homes)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasini All Suite Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wasini All Suite Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located along Church Road in Westlands, Nairobi. We are close enough to the city's business and leisure district to ensure you enjoy the convenience of shopping malls, restaurants,and offices yet distant enough to guarantee that your stay is remarkably relaxed and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Wasini All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasini All Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.