We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals Hangout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo's

Galileo's
musuem road, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Locals Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is not a tourists spot, which is exactly what my brother and I were looking for on our last night in Nairobi. Unfortunately we'd gotten accustom to using US$ and had dumped all our KSh and when the credit card machine wouldn't accept my Visa card I just overpaid in US$ to resolve the issue. It is very obvious when you get to a spot that doesn't cater to tourists. We noticed that our first round of Tuskers was about 50% more than any other round (the Tourist Reverse Discount). We still enjoyed ourselves and were glad we got out in the city and the patrons seemed to not mind us hanging out, it was just the staff that seemed annoyed. It must have been throwback Friday because the DJ was playing all the club hits from my high school days, Skee Lo, Luniz, Coolio, Blackstreet, DMX...old school stuff. Good times!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

has no enough parking space for its clientele who are forced to park along a busy and risky highway. It's small in size too with no clear fire exit plan or layout. They also sell erinks to underage iids with big bodies

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not an Asian's hub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yup the place is very afro music kinda club. I didnt liek it simply because of music but the placegets so busy on friday or sat nights that one has to park his/her car hundreds of meters away on the highway but dont worry the parking is managed by the extra security the club hires on such nights.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the music and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

the dj was off the hook,the crowd was wild ad adventurous,the sound system gets u in the am da best dancer mood.the service is top class and the ambiance gets u into the party mood

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Your experience will vary depending on hows your day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

been to this place twice, first time the experience was fine, we went for some drinks and good music and enjoyed the place. Second time the place was really crowded and too many single girls around trying to get to you......

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo's also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Galileo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.