We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tranquility base here ..."” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Posts Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Posts Hotel
Save
You added Blue Posts Hotel to your Saves list
Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Tranquility base here ..."”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

After having experienced a robbery in a guesthouse elsewhere in the city, I was overwhelmed by the tranquility of the area.
Green fields, colorful flowers, many tall trees and well maintained. And yes the cascading Chania waterfall. It all eases your mind and puts your tired body to rest.
Staff professionally correct but a little stand-offish, rooms perfectly cleaned but simple and showing some deferred maintenance, many guards on duty and a swift power back-up system. But the restaurant will never be my choice again: high prices for low quality food and one day not serving as ordered and an other day I unfortunately experienced a sleepless night with frequent bathroom attendance. And all this after a simple meal of rice and cooked veggies.
But everybody says that this is the best in town and that it is owned by the Nations President (and family).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Friendly staff, limited facilities, very average. The location watching the water falls is meant to be a big draw, but the falls lie under a busy road bridge so are hardly the most beautiful. Not a place to rush back to.

Room Tip: The room was quiet and reasonably clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron_Ndegwa, Accountant at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for visiting our property and taking time to comment about it on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that the staff treated you well and you were happy with the service. We will take your comments under advisement and work on creating more activities for our visitors to engage in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masai Mara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We wanted to spend a night in Blue Post hotel (4 of us) and invite 5 persons for dinner to celebrate the birthday of a 3 years old girl, daughter of one of us. Yes the location is nice, facing Chania waterfall. On that day there was a big group celebrating a graduation. they were in the garden. At 7.00 PM all of them left as there was no light. Maybe they could stay longer and spend more money, enjoying. We reserved 2 rooms in Chania Wing, as we've been told it the best wing. Rooms are simple, the building needs maintenance, renovation, like many hotels in Kenya. I read a review that the staff are horrible, this is the worst part of that place. As a hotelier, I can say the staff are what the management makes them. Yes, the service is a bit low, but where are the HODs to make sure everything is going well? A young lady, Ruth was our waitress and until late in the evening you saw her going from tables to tables serving. The following day, I left an envelope for her at the reception. hope she got. Before going back Nairobi, we went to Fourtenn Falls. I haven't been there for the last 20 years; Even I had problem to find them. Now you pay to see the waterfalls. There's so many young boys ready to accompany you like "tour guides". The place is so dirty that I can't imagine people will continue to pay to see that place. It's so dirty that it's sticking. Of course the boys around blame Nairobi people who are the ones who make that pollution. Please go there and even try to convince by one way or another to keep that place clean.

Room Tip: Chania Wing room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel at the environs of Thika town is just an excellent place to relax. It is a family friendly environment. The Hotel is about 30 km from Fourteen Falls waterfall at a spectacular 27 meter deep and a perfect day trip. There is a lot to see and do while in this scenic site, boating, fishing, photography, plant identification, and bird watching are among other activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

First of all, the hotel is located in Thika... Not Nairobi.

Location: Awesome. View of the fall is great.. you can just in the restaurant and just look at it for hours.Spacious grounds to take a stroll.

Rooms: Cramped. Dated. Dirty. I felt like I was staying in a dorm.

Service: almost none. Front desk at take their own sweet time to check you in and for the check out.

Restaurant: Decent. Reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in cottage may be they will be better If possible, fall facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I want to congratulate all the staff at BPH for their hospitality to me and my family, I also liked the place, its soo natural ( Waterfalls, trees, birds, space etc), Look forward to my next tym visit............

Room Tip: Rooms facing chania falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Its about 40min drive from capital city Nairobi so its best to go here if you want a relaxing time away from the noisy city. The place is very affordable, very tranquill, its a hotel between two water falls Thika and Chania, lovely evening walks, very green and a little animal Zoo inside what more can you ask. Its a little haven a real getaway that is a gen unknown to many.
Its just amazing
May be they could do with upgrading it abit but the old fashioned of the rooms and bed makes it feel vintage and because its where Western people stopped for a drink in the old days may be its ok to maintain its old fashioned feel

Room Tip: Room by the waterfall are just awesome hearing the water fall as you fall asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Posts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Posts Hotel

Address: Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Posts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.