We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice local hotel with great birding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Posts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Posts Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Posts Hotel
Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A nice local hotel with great birding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is not a tourist hotel and the atmosphere is entirely different. It is on a river with two great waterfalls that can be appreciated from the hotel grounds. The rooms are nice but not as one would find in a tourist hotel. There is a computer internet center at the hotel. When I arrived there was a band playing on the grounds and everyone was having a great time with a large local crowd. Fifteen minutes later the rain began in buckets and that was the end of that. I regret that I missed it. The restaurant was good.

Now for the best part. The birding here is outstanding. On the grounds were seen White-headed Barbets (3), Eastern Honeybird, Montaine White-eye, African Golden Weaver, African Citril, Rupple's Robin-chat, Black-throated Wattle-eye, Scarlet-chested Sunbird, Grey-capped Warbler, and Grey-olive Greenbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Muncie - Birder,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as your preferred destination while in Kenya. We are glad you had a good experience during your stay and you enjoyed the tranquility and serenity that the hotel has to offer. You will be happy to hear that we now have free wi-fi at all our outlets and conference halls. Our band now plays every other weekend and public holiday despite the weather. It is important to also note that we have fantastic bird life as you experienced though you managed to spot just a few out of the wide variety we have, we have well trained naturalists who can take you deeper into our nature trail for a greater experience in your next visit.

Asanti sana.

Regards,

John Ngossorr
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Blue Posts is steeped in colonial history (it's mentioned in Elspeth Huxley's 'The Flame Trees of Thika'). It has a very special atmosphere because of this and its location between the Chania Falls and the Thika Falls. We accepted the slightly sad appearance of the unmodernised rooms and the brave but not entirely successful attempts at English breakfast for the sake of the well-kept gardens, the space, the peace (with the sound of the Falls in the background), the friendly staff. The room itself (we had one with a verandah) was a bit gloomy, but spacious, with a comfortable bed and hot water in the shower. Internet access was available at reasonable rates.
(Beware of misleading maps: Blue Posts is not in Nairobi at all. It is just outside Thika - about 4 km NW of Thika centre).

Room Tip: The nicest rooms face out towards the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The place has really good grounds and a very quite place with the sound of the water falls makes you really relaxed. The buffet menu was really good, suiting every body. found no mosquitoes in the rooms though they have mosquito nets. The animal park and the guides are really good and well conversant with the animals their. Location very strategic can visit mount Kenya on a days outing and was back in time for dinner. conference was good though not very advanced. the curios were very good. note the telephone numbers working are [--], i found out the once at this site do not work.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browndubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Ngossorr, General Manager at Blue Posts Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Browndudai,

Thank you for choosing Blue Post as preferred destination on your visit to Thika. Your kind comments are well noted and appreciated, we have since rectified the telephone number issue. we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

regards,
John Ngossorr
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Very many years ago, about a century, in fact, white settlers and other travelers going upcountry from Nairobi stopped at this place near Thika town for a drink and sometimes to spend the night. Located at the site of two waterfalls, Chania and Thika, it was a beautiful place to pass a few hours.

Nowadays, there is really not much reason to come to Thika or stay here. You'd be better off staying in Nairobi, though you wouldn't get the peaceful grounds and waterfalls there.

The grounds used to be covered with hibiscus and bougainvillea, and brightly colored weaver birds were all over the place. You can still find some of the flora, but the birds are more scarce now. The grounds are still well maintained, and in the evenings and weekends, many locals come to have a drink on the open ground outside the dining room. Some thatched umbrellas have been erected at the Chania falls viewpoint, but they are never occupied, since there is no bar nearby, and no seats. Dinner was terrible, but breakfast wasn't too bad.

A small animal sanctuary has been established, costing about $3 to enter. Not worth it - you'll see an ostrich and some other small creatures. An onsite souvenir workshop should present you with some good bargains of carvings and other curios.

The rooms are pretty rustic, but they have the essentials - a bed and a clean, working bathroom. Mosquitoes could be a problem, but the hotel can provide mosquito nets. Ask for the rooms facing the open grounds towards the falls. You won't see the falls, but you'll get a nice breeze. Air-conditioning is not available.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Dinner, bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
Safari Park Hotel
#37 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#56 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Sportsview Hotel
#65 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Posts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Posts Hotel

Address: Thika-Muranga Road, Nairobi 01000, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Posts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing