We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL CENTRAL LOCATION FOR BACKPACKERS NEAR AIRPORT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 169 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“IDEAL CENTRAL LOCATION FOR BACKPACKERS NEAR AIRPORT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Spent a couple of days here, the first one after our week-long safari, the other on the night before our return home. There are various back-packers' facilities, from bringing your own tent and camping in the pretty grounds complete wit black kites and vervet monkeys (not a problem), to having a comfortable stay with your family in a luxury tent with proper beds, hot showers and electric lights. The food is good - served in a communal dining room. However service leaves a lot to be desired - well over an hour when we first arrived before we got a cup of coffee. However, the staff are friendly and helpful. All in all a very good experience for a short stay. A bit noisy at night as Nairobi never sleeps. Security on the gate ensures you feel safe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    93
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
80
54
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

A colleague and I extended a business stay in Nairobi to stay at the Wildebeest Camp for two nights.

It was a wonderful experience.

We stayed in a Deluxe Tent which had one double, one single bed. It was comfortable and such a novelty to be in a tent after staying in a hotel, even though we were still in the city. There was an adjacent bathroom with hot shower and proper working western style toilet. I was very impressed by this!

The camp has a very relaxed vibe and there was constantly chilled out music being played by other guests. The staff we encountered were all friendly, helpful and accommodating. There is a small, good, competitively priced gift shop in the main building.

You are served breakfast in the main building and this was basic, but good - toast/jam/etc. We requested dinner on our arrival in advance and were served it as soon as we arrived, including a vegetarian option.

We booked a day tour of the Nairobi National Park, Elephant Sanctuary and Giraffe Centre through the Camp and although this was not cheap, it was easy and we saw loads of wonderful creatures and had some excellent photo opportunities. Our guide was fantastic and I would recommend this to anyone staying with limited time.

There is a mini-mall just round the corner (walkable) with restaurants in - we ate in an interesting Ethiopian place with a group of new friends from the Camp (most of whom were about to climb Kilimanjaro!).

I would recommend the Wildebeest Camp to anyone looking for a relaxed, basic place to stay for a short stopover in Nairobi. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent one night here.... all the facilities were really clean and the staff was helpful. It was nice and quiet and it hardly felt like we were in a big city once we were inside camp.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This place is very nice and peaceful, at times a little too peaceful ..lol.. if you want quiet from your safari and/or the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.. this is the place to be ~
The luxury tent was spectacular, very clean, bed was super comfy and when we did eat there, the food was tasty. I stayed with my partner and mother. There was pleanty of room. The porche was definitly a luxury to sit and read a book/ take in the day. Nice landscaping ...welcoming birds. Cant forget about the resident turtle! and dog that seems to be chasing shadows??? Our first night in Nairobi was in a hotel that was basically scary... so this was very welcoming and safe. We felt comfortable leaving equipement and luggage in the tents. Close to major shopping market. I would hint to go to the grocery store and stock up with snacks. Once the kitchen is closed .. its closed! Overall, a definit go to for the camping experience...
They book safaris and we went on the half day trip. That was nice, we had an immediate sighting of a lioness on the hunt in addition to the rest of the days great sightings. They are one time and ready for servicing the experience.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Wildebeest camp for a night in July. We stayed in a luxury tent, and we really enjoyed our stay! The tents were great, just like being in a room, but with a bit of novelty. The staff were very friendly, and the grounds beautiful. They also let us keep our packs there for the day while we went into town and waited for our flight. We even had dinner there again, as it was really good! The only thing was I wouldn't recommend getting your laundry done there; we had to track pieces of it before we left and we had to rewash it when we got home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Forget the streets of Nairobi, your wallet will be hollowed out from inside the walls of the Wildebeest compound. This place is the biggest mosquito on the continent; In fact, at every morning's breakfast table the only thing being discussed was travellers swapping stories about who had been ripped off the most by Wildebeest.

For example:
*Dinner costs 750 Shillings vs 250 - 500 Shillings at any comparable restaurant
*Taxi quotes were always twice what you could get yourself
*Wifi costs USD $6 a day per person vs they pay USD $30 a month to have the connection
*Laundry costs 600 Shillings vs 150 outside
*Beer costs 190 Shillings vs 70 Shillings at the supermarket.

High prices are one thing, but Wildebeest have a set of policies (see below) that force you to buy their stuff. These policies coupled with the fact that venturing outside after dark in Nairobi requires a measure of courage and good luck make Wildebeest an extortion racquet.

Wildebeest's primary policy (for Wildebeest's other policies see below) seems to be "bleed them dry," this mean spirited business model really killed the whole backpacking vibe.

Other Wildebeest Policies (from the Guest Information Book)
+"we ask guests not to consume their own privately-purchased alcoholic beverages"
+"we do not provide ice, glasses, refrigeration, plates, knives, serviettes, salt, pepper, bottle opener, etc - you need to buy these things."
+”to avoid unpleasant situations, we ask guests to not bring ‘casual acquaintances’ to stay at our camp.”
+”If you would like to shower after check out, we charge a nominal fee”
+”all bookings cancelled within 30 days of arrival [date], pay 100%”

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

O.K....this is NOT the place for 5-star travelers, but if you're looking for safety, and a unique housing environment that won't bust your budget, this is it. Nairobi can be a scary city, and Wildebeest will pick you up from the airport (for a typical fee) so you will not be hassled. They have four different housing options, ranging from a dorm room ($13) to a safari tent w/bed & mattress ($47) and a deluxe tent with its own bathroom ($57). Meals are available all day, cooked by one of their Masai staff, and their dinner buffet is delightful.

They are GREAT at helping you plan your trip, answering questions, and generally being a great asset. I exchanged a dozen emails before the trip, and all were answered timely.

Breakfast is included in all rates, with four options for breakfast, made to order.

Clientele include many younger travelers, and the atmosphere encourages friendly and helpful spirits. This old timer felt perfectly accepted and welcomed.

I also booked a four-day Masai Mara safari through them, and was delighted when Joseph, their Masai cook, went on the safari to be our cook.

The key question: Would I stay here again on a return to Nairobi? Absolutely

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.