We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We can only echo the other reviews: Wildebeest Camp is a great place to explore Nairobi and to start your travel in Kenia and to other African destinations. With its beautiful garden, it is a small oasis in the city. Another big plus are the helpful staff and the many interesting people you can meet in the camp. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
68
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I love this place. I love the tents, the people, the food and the ambiance. I have travelled extensively in E. Africa and have never found a better deal. Besides providing a safe and warm place to stay, the staff are so helpful in making travel reccomendations and arrangements. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at Wildebeest Camp for 3 nights before heading out to Safari. We looked at various hotel options in the city, trying to find something safe and comfortable but hopefully not just a plain hotel. Landmarks like The Norfolk were totally out of our price range.

Wildebeest Camp is a really fun option -- We stayed in one of the deluxe tented camps and it was like getting a jump on our safari! Our tent was large and comfortable with a toilet and shower. Know this is sort of like camping, meaning dismal water pressure, a few bugs here and there, sunlight streaming in early, but we really enjoyed it.

We found not as much friendly interaction with the staff as we later encountered throughout Africa -- you are more on your own here, it kind of feels like a headquarters of sorts for people doing all sorts of trips and activities.

If you are looking for something a bit out of the ordinary with an almost "safari" feel to it, this might be the perfect choice for you!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Our first experience ever in Africa was with the staff from the Wilderbeest Camp. And what a great first experience. The staff picked us up in the airport on time and drove us to the camp. At the camp we were met with smiles and a warm hello. Stayed two night in a very nice tent with own bathroom and electricity and nice meals were also served at the camp.

We would stay at the Wilderbeest Camp again if we return to Nairobi and recommend it to everybody as well. Great place and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

It was depressing to get such rude service from anyone that was not Kenyan, I found welcome and heart from the Kenyans on staff but aside from them I would not stay here again. Being charged for every type of service cut deep into my budget and getting little assistance to go the places I wanted left me indebted to only the Kenyans I already knew and went to visit and all the helpful beautiful souls I found about town. The sites I used for location never really told about hidden fees so it really took me for a loop. This would be an adequate place for a one or two day trip but for a longer stay I would recommend a regular hotel in the city proper.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clitheroe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed here on way back from holiday in Malawi. Party of 2 adults and 6 children. Could not fault Wildebeest, picked us up from the airport right on time, massive traffic jam, and then arrived in this oasis. Tents were very comfortable, buffet dinner was great for teens, lovely relaxed atmosphere about the place. We got a early flight, so were gutted to miss breakfast, so early one of the teens left his ipod underneath his bed in the tent.

Then the impressive bit, emailed Dan a week later to see if it had been found. It had , he was reluctant to send it by post, so it was carried by a guest to London, who then gave it to a friend, who then posted it back to a very surprised and happy teenage boy.

Proper Service!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Sadly I only stayed here for one night before I moved on from Nairobi but it was a real pleasure. The setting beautiful, it was like a mini British mansion house with a beautiful garden in which the amazing en-suite tents are set. Very peaceful and quiet, particularly for a city like Nairobi. The accommodation and food were both excellent, the beer was cheap and cold. It was a pleasure hanging out with the manager, his wife and their dogs, shooting the breeze on their terrace.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.