We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and a quite place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great facilities and a quite place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My friends and I stayed here twice. We found for its facilities it's pricing was very cheap. We used it as a place to stay just after we arrived at Nairobi airport and just before we left Kenya. it is about £9 to rent a tent or dorm bed, dorm beds are better. The camp offers WiFi with no sign up, power sockets, flushing toilets and hot showers. The food was very good and not too expensive although it can take up to an hour for it to come so get your order in quick at lunch and dinner. Drink was expensive but we bought ours at the galleria about 2km down the road. Staff are mainly friendly but we thought some of their tours and the airport shuttle were expensive. If you want to do the elephant and giraffe sanctuaries I would advise getting the camp to book you a taxi and just do it yourself, also it's 50% off I think if you're a student at the giraffe sanctuary.

Room Tip: Dorms are the same price as tents and they offer lighting, plug sockets and proper beds whereas in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for your great recommendation for guests to stay in the dorm rooms instead of pitched tents. You are correct that they are the same price, and the dorms are more comfortable and have better facilities. Many clients opt for the pitched tent if they prefer the camping experience or want their own space. We are glad that you enjoyed the free high-speed WIFI and solar-hot water showers. Our food is excellent value as are our drinks. We are surprised that you found these expensive, as a 500ml beer costs only $3, a soda less than $2 and spirits start from $1.20 per serve. Our airport transfer costs on $30 for a 30km trip, and is around $12 below the norm which is charged. Thank you for sharing your tip about the student rate at the Giraffe Centre. It is worth noting that tourists travelling with a student card are often not extended student discounts – particularly in the National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    81
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
76
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silsden, West Yorkshire,Uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I'm currently spending 5 nights here (3 down, two to go!). Although it's a bit out of town (not a bad thing - it's quiet, and the area's pretty good, with a shopping mall within easy walking distance, and the National Park attractions within a short drive, or longish walk. The tents (I'm in a standard garden tent with very clean shared toilet and shower facilities - with actual hot water!) are great - large, with 'real' beds and duvets, electricity and a safe for valuables. The food is excellent - the all you can eat buffet dinner is great, and the lunch options fill a space at a very good price. The included breakfast is a bit miserly (choose from two eggs, pancake, omelette), but the add-on options are good and reasonably priced. There's a very helpful reception tent, and a great office which can book you pretty much anything from an airport transfer to a week on the Serengeti, including giving options if you're not sure what you want to do. The staff are polite, friendly an helpful, and the grounds are great. Overall, if you don't want to be in the centre, it's a great accommodation option for a layover in Nairobi.

Room Tip: The non-en suite garden tents are great, or there are en-suite tents, dorms, camping spaces for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review. Clearly you are well travelled and so it is an honour to receive such a great review from someone so well informed. We hope that you enjoyed the French-press Kenyan coffee or local Kenyan tea at breakfast, on the sunny deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Having booked two nights here because of it's close locality to Nairobi National Park, I can only say I was disappointed with my choice.
Firstly though, I am impressed with the De Lux en suite garden tents, they were very clean and tidy on arrival, although they do not tidy or clean the rooms during the stay.
The water eventually comes through very hot, but it's takes many litres of water to get to the tap, not very Eco friendly!
My main problem though was the cold. Now I appreciate that July in Nairobi overnight can be cold, however I wish the camp staff did. The first night was so cold as the bedding consisted of a sheet and thin duvet. I had to go and buy three hot water bottles for the second night; making it more bearable. On checkout I was told I could have requested more blankets, difficult between 1 - 5 am.
I've never slept on such a hard mattress, but maybe people with less ancient joints would bear it better.
Although they advise bed and breakfast, the breakfast is very basic but has the ability to be added to at extra cost. To make it a full breakfast costs 600 Kenya Shillings.
As ever with staff, you may encounter good and bad, we had both.
If you're a "wildlife nut" it has many things going for it because of its location:
Nairobi National Park.
The Safari Walk.
Animal Orphanage,
As well as easy access from the airport, avoiding the city centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is by our customer’s reporting their concerns to us that we are able to improve. We are so pleased that you loved the deluxe tents and thought that they were clean and the standard was very high. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and found the location convenient to explore some of Nairobi’s highlights.
In regards to the showers, the reason that it seems to take a long time for the hot water to come through is because of the water-saving showers that we use. So this means, particularly in the Winter, when the water in the pipe between the tap and solar-hot water system is very cold, this can take a minute or so to come through. All of the water from all showers then goes to our on-site water treatment plant and is recycled for use within the compound – so we are as eco-friendly as possible.

You are right about the temperature during July and August, Nairobi can be chilly at night, and cold for some. We are always happy to give extra blankets to guests who particularly feel the cold, it is a shame that you did not mention this to any of our staff prior to check-out as we would have happily helped. The duvets are the thickest on the market in Nairobi (possibly not European standard). The mattresses are hotel grade inner-spring and while some find them firm, most people appreciate them compared to the poor quality foam mattresses found at many hotels.

As we have a range of accommodation and breakfast is included in all rates, we have made our ‘included breakfast’ something that suits across the board. There is unlimited toast and condiments, plus French-press Kenyan coffee, Kenyan tea, and a choice of pancakes, eggs and fruit salad. Guests are welcome to add to these and extras range between $2 to $7 for a full breakfast.

We are just sorry that you felt it necessary to rate us so low, based on the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Situated comfortably (if not all that conveniently) outside of the centre of Nairobi, this camp sports clean dorms and facilities, a good kitchen and terraced area to hang out, reasonable wifi connectivity, friendly and helpful staff. There is a large mall quite close (walkable for the keen) and they can organise plenty of activities throughout East Africa. Considering the quality, the price for a dorm bed is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Wildebeest very recently in one of the en suite tents and were very impressed. It is a great safe place and also a very attractive place to stay and very clean. We used the camp as our Nairobi base before going on to other places, and each time we came back it felt like coming home. Staff are friendly, food is delicious and not expensive. Could not recommend it more highly. Generally great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I used Wildebeest as a base for various trips all over Kenya. It surpassed all my expectations. Three of us sharing stayed in an en suite tent, it was vast, clean and seriously comfortable with a private deck and chairs. Being right in the corner we were not disturbed. It's not in central Nairobi, which I thought was pretty perfect, but is close to the elephants and giraffe attractions and a short drive to Karen. The place has a lovely atmosphere and the bar/terrace is a perfect setting to while away the evening with a bottle of Tusker and tuck into the buffet supper. I would definitely go back, again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: Any of the en-suite tents with terrace are great value and I think worth spending a little more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived and they quickly put up some tents for us. 1 for me and my husband and 1 for our 3 daughters. My matrass is very thin and very smelly.When we touch down to try get some sleep, rain starts. tent leaking. On top of the 6 Americans on the terrace near the main house, having a very (very!) loud ''conversation. SMoking, drinking and getting louder and louder till well after midnight. For a very late arrival, another tent is been put up 5 meters from ours.Sounds like Japanese. ZIpp open, look for something in a plastic bag. ZIpp close. Again ZIpp open, look for something in a plastic bag Repeat. Repeat. At 05:45 a bus with Germans arrives. They shuot, throw doors , lik eit's in the middle of the day and they're alone on this world. We're glad to leave that day !

Room Tip: Get a fixed tent and fingers crossed you have other guest realizing they're not alone in this wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you were pleased that we were able to respond quickly and accommodate your family when you arrived without a reservation. The tents that we use when our guests reserve a ‘camping tent’ are high quality rip-stop canvas tents which are imported from South Africa. They are generally waterproof, however like most pitched tents, if there is a heavy deluge (which can happen in Nairobi) or if there are items resting against the tent walls, water can seep. It can also be the case that things feel wet from the damp air, but this is not due to any leakage.

We were of course sorry to hear that other guests disturbed your enjoyment and rest during your stay. Our bar closes at midnight, however we cannot force guests to go to bed – but of course we also do not encourage them to keep the noise down and respect their fellow guests. The same is the case for guests who are arriving and departing at odd hours.

On most nights, I can honestly say that all guests are tucked up in bed by around 10pm, and the camp is very peaceful – so every night is different. But I do sympathise, and it is certainly the case that some travellers really do think they are the only people on the planet. It is really a shame that you have judged our camp, based on other people’s ignorance, because it is such a beautiful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.