We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had already been travelling for some time when we arrived to Nairobi, and though it was expected that our budget would have to go up for the Kenya portion of our trip, it was still unpleasant to pay more for a night of camping in our own tent than we had been paying for a private room weeks ago in other cities. But like I said, that was to be expected, and probably even more so at a location of this quality.

Overall Wildebeest Camp was very impressive. Located in a quiet neighborhood, the grounds are beautiful and well cared for, and they seem to be continually making improvements (a new pond was in construction while we were there). As we were camping, I cannot speak to the rooms or luxury tents, but the shared bathrooms were clean and the showers warm. The restaurant had great selection, and the food was tasty. The owner was helpful when we had some questions regarding local transportation within Nairobi. Though not close to the airport (where I imagine many people might be arriving/departing from), it is a clean, comfortable, and welcoming place. (also of note: we did use their transport from the airport, and the driver was waiting for us as our plane landed, and promptly took us to the camp. Good service.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    81
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
76
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at Wildebeest in March and enjoyed the atmosphere and wonderful tents! The deck of the restaurant is a gathering place with wifi and plug ins for convenience. Enjoyed the landscaping. It is difficult to reach from the Nairobi Airport through awful traffic (not their fault!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wildebeest Eco Camp is one of my new favorite places to stay. Our stay there was serene, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The food was excellent and the dining area is a wonderful place to relax. The rooms are beautiful - we stayed in a deluxe tent and loved the bathroom and comfortable beds. The front desk staff are friendly, helpful and really personable. Yes, it is located far from some attractions but the quiet atmosphere and beautiful gardens are so worth it.

Room Tip: We loved the quad tent! Slept four adults in, a tiny bit crowded at times but the comfortable beds w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hostel/camp is located some 10 minutes outside of Nairobi, it has a beautiful garden and you can sleep in a dorm (tent) or private tents. They have drivers available which will bring you everywhere for the same price as a taxi. They have airport transfers as well, which was very convenient, since my flight arrived at 3 a.m.
They have an onsite restaurant, open from 7 a.m. till late, breakfast is included in price, but you can buy lunch, dinner, drinks, snacks. Staff is very friendly and the owners are really helpful. I arrived with no plans whatsoever, not even a safari booked, but Lynita helped me to plan the whole month. Very good advice on everything, also regarding other countries that you might want to visit.
Close to the hostel there's a shopping mall, where you find ATM's and a supermarket.
Showers have hot water, through the whole camp there's free wifi and they even have outlets for charging in the dorm tents.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

After completing an overland truck tour from cape town to Kenya Wilderbeest Eco camp was a wonderful stay! It was relaxing, peaceful, clean, and a good mix between nature and the comfort of a hotel style camp. The people who own this place are very friendly and you feel like you are part of their family. The food sold on the premises is delicious, healthy, HALAL and affordable. I would rate it 4.5. It was very close to the giraffe center and elephant sanctuary. The reception and gift shop sells things made in the community by locals. I think this was one of the best places I have ever stayed. The only thing that was annoying was the large dogs that roam around freely. Another thing that annoyed me was when one of the owners of the place kept wanting to save electricity and asked us a few times if we watching the t.v. or not and then jut shut it down. These two things are annoying but do not take away from the whole experience. If you are booking this place you must keep in mind that there might not be electricity some days thus no internet, and no charging batteries. Finally I loved how safe i felt staying here as a single female.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is included and you can buy both dinner, lunch and snacks/drinks. It's a bit out of town but it's quite easy and cheap taking a taxi or local minibus into the central Nairobi. I'm staying in the dorm and you meet a lot of other people! Nice and clean rooms, good shared toilets and showers and a very nice hotel area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Wildebeest for 3 nights and thought that it was absolutely amazing. It has a wonderful atmosphere with beautiful landscaping and plenty of open space, giving a sense of freedom in a secure environment. There is plenty of space for children with swings, a sand pit, a trampoline and a ‘flying fox’.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs and spoke perfect English. The safari tents were quite amazing. There is a real sense of being on safari even when you’re not. Ours had an en suite with plenty of hot water, flushing toilet, air conditioning and a very comfortable king sized bed.

The resort is very safe with vetted taxis for trips to the local malls, Nairobi or the National Safari Park. The owners ate with the guests at night and were very accommodating and interesting. They have obviously spent a great deal of money and have expended a lot of hard work to achieve this little oasis. The meals were very reasonably priced and were of European standard with plenty of variety.

We highly recommend this resort to families and couples who want the combination of being on the edge of the National Park (10 mins away), close enough to venture into Nairobi if you wish or just a place to relax for several days, either on a stop-over passing through or just for a place of relaxation. Plans are afoot to include a swimming pool which will add an extra dimension for relaxation.

Room Tip: Large safari tent for absolute comfort - just like a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.