We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great service and a nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is included and you can buy both dinner, lunch and snacks/drinks. It's a bit out of town but it's quite easy and cheap taking a taxi or local minibus into the central Nairobi. I'm staying in the dorm and you meet a lot of other people! Nice and clean rooms, good shared toilets and showers and a very nice hotel area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    82
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
76
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Wildebeest for 3 nights and thought that it was absolutely amazing. It has a wonderful atmosphere with beautiful landscaping and plenty of open space, giving a sense of freedom in a secure environment. There is plenty of space for children with swings, a sand pit, a trampoline and a ‘flying fox’.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs and spoke perfect English. The safari tents were quite amazing. There is a real sense of being on safari even when you’re not. Ours had an en suite with plenty of hot water, flushing toilet, air conditioning and a very comfortable king sized bed.

The resort is very safe with vetted taxis for trips to the local malls, Nairobi or the National Safari Park. The owners ate with the guests at night and were very accommodating and interesting. They have obviously spent a great deal of money and have expended a lot of hard work to achieve this little oasis. The meals were very reasonably priced and were of European standard with plenty of variety.

We highly recommend this resort to families and couples who want the combination of being on the edge of the National Park (10 mins away), close enough to venture into Nairobi if you wish or just a place to relax for several days, either on a stop-over passing through or just for a place of relaxation. Plans are afoot to include a swimming pool which will add an extra dimension for relaxation.

Room Tip: Large safari tent for absolute comfort - just like a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Wildebeest camp is quite simply one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. I make every excuse to get back to Nairobi to stay here. The new setting just minutes from Nairobi National Park, and The David Sjedrick Elephant Orphanage, is perfect. You feel like you are on safari without even leaving the beautiful gardens and treehouse-type terrace. The food is delicious and plentiful. Do not miss the evening buffet for 1000 ks. The tents are just wonderful. We stayed this time in the Deluxe tent with ensuite, polished wooden floored, bathroom, with scorching shower. Electricity and wifi was a must for us so we could work at the same time. They offer their own safaris. We didn't have time for one but we will next time. Others who were returning said the sfari was great. The ambiance is friendly, familial, with two cute as a button small boys and two equally cute dogs and two cats to play with. There can be no better place to go with children. There is even a flying fox in one secluded part of the garden, plus trampoline and sand pit. And they do private safaris at what seemed a ridiculously cheap price so you could take your kids on a private vehicle and not have to worry about anyone else. Also, the Wildebeest camp has the only "hotel" gift shop where you want to buy "everything". I will never stay in a centra Nairobi hotel again when this is just 30 minutes max from the airport exactly where anyone would want to be.

Room Tip: The beds in the deluxe tents, piled with quilts and pillows are just wonderful. I can't vouch fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had a couple of nights stay here over the weekend. It was such a relaxed but well organised setup. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff, comfortable beds with duvets (in the dorms - a pleasant surprise when travelling on a budget) & good food. The owners work hard to keep this a perfect haven in busy Nairobi. Thanks so much & see you again soon....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during a long layover for one morning. I emailed them first and got prompt helpful replies. I arrived 4:30 in the morning and had booked the airport pickup. A guard showed me to my tent since reception was not available at that time. I felt safe and comfortable. The tent had sturdy screens but did not have a mosquito net over the beds. I got to sleep for a few hours and enjoy breakfast before completing my journey. Also, they accepted American Express which was a lifesaver because the Visa from my bank would not let me use it at all in Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before taking off on safari - arriving Christmas Day at night to a delicious meal! The the food was great, service was great, the tents were wicked with the beds being perfect for jet lag and we met so many nice people there!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed at Wildebeest twice. The first time was over Christmas and there was a lovely buffet dinner which we shared with the other guests, meeting some lovely people including the owners and their family.
After our first wonderful stay, we booked to stay at Wildebeest for the end of January. We were again met by friendly staff and never had problems throughout our stays.

The camp is constantly being renovated and upgraded to make it even better for guests, though this does not interrupt anything at all nor make any noticeable noise. I hear the pond and pool will be completed soon. Hopefully in time for our next visit.

One suggestion I have is that there should be a DVD player connected to the TV in the guest lounge.

Also note: The camp is some distance from Nairobi City, but close to the Galleria Mall and other attractions such as the Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre.

Room Tip: Bathrooms and toilets are kept VERY clean and there are plenty of them (never have to wait), so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.