We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Sandgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had a couple of nights stay here over the weekend. It was such a relaxed but well organised setup. Beautiful grounds, helpful staff, comfortable beds with duvets (in the dorms - a pleasant surprise when travelling on a budget) & good food. The owners work hard to keep this a perfect haven in busy Nairobi. Thanks so much & see you again soon....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
68
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during a long layover for one morning. I emailed them first and got prompt helpful replies. I arrived 4:30 in the morning and had booked the airport pickup. A guard showed me to my tent since reception was not available at that time. I felt safe and comfortable. The tent had sturdy screens but did not have a mosquito net over the beds. I got to sleep for a few hours and enjoy breakfast before completing my journey. Also, they accepted American Express which was a lifesaver because the Visa from my bank would not let me use it at all in Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before taking off on safari - arriving Christmas Day at night to a delicious meal! The the food was great, service was great, the tents were wicked with the beds being perfect for jet lag and we met so many nice people there!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed at Wildebeest twice. The first time was over Christmas and there was a lovely buffet dinner which we shared with the other guests, meeting some lovely people including the owners and their family.
After our first wonderful stay, we booked to stay at Wildebeest for the end of January. We were again met by friendly staff and never had problems throughout our stays.

The camp is constantly being renovated and upgraded to make it even better for guests, though this does not interrupt anything at all nor make any noticeable noise. I hear the pond and pool will be completed soon. Hopefully in time for our next visit.

One suggestion I have is that there should be a DVD player connected to the TV in the guest lounge.

Also note: The camp is some distance from Nairobi City, but close to the Galleria Mall and other attractions such as the Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre.

Room Tip: Bathrooms and toilets are kept VERY clean and there are plenty of them (never have to wait), so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here 1 night during a layover and I really wish I can stay longer.
This is in the middle of Karen - quite close to all the sights.
The rooms are beautifully furnished - Camped Luxury if I may say, very wonderful
Staff - friendly and adequate and the grounds are beautiful
This is my idea of a sweet, romantic stay and did I say that this was one of the best bargains in Nairobi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Firstly it is quite far out of Nairobi, can get Matatus but have to walk the last 2 km and no description of how to get here by public transport on the website. For the price you pay, service is terrible. Only dinner option provided is a buffet for 1000 shillings which is double to triple the price of a meal in other backpackers or 5x the price of a local restaurant. This is poor since the place is isolated and it is difficult to get any other food unless you come prepared. They also will not let you even borrow a knife or plate or anything to cut up any of your own food. Breakfast is included but we had to leave early both mornings and they refused to even boil us some eggs the night before or give us some bread for the morning. The grounds are nice but no value for the money you pay here and rude staff that will not go out of their way to help at all. Just for the luxury traveller that doesn't mind being ripped off on Kenya!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your interesting perspective. We provide a wide range of international dishes which in an ‘all-you-can-eat’ family dinner for less than $12. Unlike street food vendors we pay 18% tax on that rate, pay our chefs well, have staff to serve you and wash the dishes in clean running water. We understand that some guests are travelling on a budget, and as you are not obliged to join the buffet, we encourage you to order from our very affordable lunch menu – with prices starting from $3. We are located 1.5km form the main road (where there is local food available) and 2.5km from a major shopping centre where there are two coffee shops and a food court. A motorcycle taxi costs $1 to the shopping centre and a taxi is $5.

We are not claiming to be a backpackers, but in fact offer a wide range of accommodation to suite a wide range of budgets. Some guests are happy to sleep in a dorm, but then will spend $500 on a balloon safari, or $40 for dinner at Carnivore. The choice is yours.

Kenya, and Nairobi in particular, is a lot more expensive than most people expect. Gone are the good old days of living on less than $10 a day. It is a fact, that when running a business (no matter how customer friendly you want to be), things cost money, and as a business we need to pass those costs on, and hopefully make some profit.

I am not sure if there are many restaurants around the world where you can go and use their tables, cutley, plates, sauce etc – but bring your own food and pay nothing? We have found this not to be a viable business model. And as a licenced premises subject to council health inspections, we cannot offer this service.

Breakfast is ‘free’ and is served from 07:00 – 10:00. All guests are welcome to stay and have breakfast. As you chose to leave early, we are sorry that you missed out on this.
I would agree, if you are watching every penny, and wish to haggle over these small things, then our camp may not be for you. But if you want to stay at a beautiful camp, where you can some nights here lion and hyena from your tent, enjoy the acres of lovely gardens and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city – karibu sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January in the standard tents. The place is really quiet and a good getaway from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. The room was basic but comfortable. Shared toilets and bathroom weren't a problem as they were always kept very clean and the showers were hot! Buffet dinner was simple but really tasty and at 1000 shillings was probably just worth it. Breakfast was average but the coffees are excellent. Close proximity to elephant orphanage, giraffe centre, and Bomas of Kenya. Would definitely visit again if in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.