We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and jungle stay in the middle of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 163 Nairobi B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Luxury and jungle stay in the middle of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here 1 night during a layover and I really wish I can stay longer.
This is in the middle of Karen - quite close to all the sights.
The rooms are beautifully furnished - Camped Luxury if I may say, very wonderful
Staff - friendly and adequate and the grounds are beautiful
This is my idea of a sweet, romantic stay and did I say that this was one of the best bargains in Nairobi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
76
54
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Firstly it is quite far out of Nairobi, can get Matatus but have to walk the last 2 km and no description of how to get here by public transport on the website. For the price you pay, service is terrible. Only dinner option provided is a buffet for 1000 shillings which is double to triple the price of a meal in other backpackers or 5x the price of a local restaurant. This is poor since the place is isolated and it is difficult to get any other food unless you come prepared. They also will not let you even borrow a knife or plate or anything to cut up any of your own food. Breakfast is included but we had to leave early both mornings and they refused to even boil us some eggs the night before or give us some bread for the morning. The grounds are nice but no value for the money you pay here and rude staff that will not go out of their way to help at all. Just for the luxury traveller that doesn't mind being ripped off on Kenya!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your interesting perspective. We provide a wide range of international dishes which in an ‘all-you-can-eat’ family dinner for less than $12. Unlike street food vendors we pay 18% tax on that rate, pay our chefs well, have staff to serve you and wash the dishes in clean running water. We understand that some guests are travelling on a budget, and as you are not obliged to join the buffet, we encourage you to order from our very affordable lunch menu – with prices starting from $3. We are located 1.5km form the main road (where there is local food available) and 2.5km from a major shopping centre where there are two coffee shops and a food court. A motorcycle taxi costs $1 to the shopping centre and a taxi is $5.

We are not claiming to be a backpackers, but in fact offer a wide range of accommodation to suite a wide range of budgets. Some guests are happy to sleep in a dorm, but then will spend $500 on a balloon safari, or $40 for dinner at Carnivore. The choice is yours.

Kenya, and Nairobi in particular, is a lot more expensive than most people expect. Gone are the good old days of living on less than $10 a day. It is a fact, that when running a business (no matter how customer friendly you want to be), things cost money, and as a business we need to pass those costs on, and hopefully make some profit.

I am not sure if there are many restaurants around the world where you can go and use their tables, cutley, plates, sauce etc – but bring your own food and pay nothing? We have found this not to be a viable business model. And as a licenced premises subject to council health inspections, we cannot offer this service.

Breakfast is ‘free’ and is served from 07:00 – 10:00. All guests are welcome to stay and have breakfast. As you chose to leave early, we are sorry that you missed out on this.
I would agree, if you are watching every penny, and wish to haggle over these small things, then our camp may not be for you. But if you want to stay at a beautiful camp, where you can some nights here lion and hyena from your tent, enjoy the acres of lovely gardens and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city – karibu sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January in the standard tents. The place is really quiet and a good getaway from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. The room was basic but comfortable. Shared toilets and bathroom weren't a problem as they were always kept very clean and the showers were hot! Buffet dinner was simple but really tasty and at 1000 shillings was probably just worth it. Breakfast was average but the coffees are excellent. Close proximity to elephant orphanage, giraffe centre, and Bomas of Kenya. Would definitely visit again if in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at wildebeest many times over the last 12 months and have even written them a good review but things have really gone down hill. There did not seem to be any staff around as they all seemed to be preparing for safaris leaving the very uncustomer focused owner to manage on his own. Breakfast was late and he was really rude about it, the internet no longer works in the tents - owner couldn't care less, and when we got back to our tent late at night we found the zips had been removed and when we asked for them to be replaced we were treated both by the reception and the owner as announces. And the price has gone up. If you are a back packer with no time or internet needs then it's fine but to use it if you are working it is now becoming untenable. A bit of common politeness would not go amiss.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am sorry that you feel that things at our camp have gone downhill. To the contrary, we believe that we have made many improvements. In particular, we are continually investing in our camp and staff to try to ensure that guests have the most positive experience possible. I am sorry that you stayed with us over a period which was quite difficult for us and our staff. Due to public transport issues, many of our staff were having difficulty getting to work on time, and this left us very short staffed on occasion (particularly at breakfast). We have since made some amends to shift times to curb this issue. Mornings are always a very busy period with all guests having urgent request and things to do – leaving for the airport, safaris, etc. This is very much a balancing act for us, and we are sorry if you felt neglected.

The internet was problematic for around 2 weeks over the festive period, and we have now had the providers in to look at it, and believe that this is also resolved. We understand that many people need internet access (which is why we provide it free of charge) and of course we also need it to operate our business. Yes you are right, prices of some of our accommodation has increased. While we would have liked to have kept it the same as 3 years ago, prices around us are going up, our electricity bill is triple, and our staff want to be paid more year on year to be able to provide for their families – and we oblige! We have had to pass this on. I hope you can see though your one bad experience and come and stay with us again. We are putting in a swimming pool : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Came back to Wildebeest again, and it was just as good this time.

Helpful and obliging staff. Great atmosphere. Terrific opportunity to mix over meals and in the gardens with other travellers. Very safe.

Christmas Eve dinner was outstanding and other meals were great.

Range of accommodation is good. A little remote from anywhere, so you have to take a taxi everywhere. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in December 2013 in one of the deluxe tents which was amazing. It was so nice to have the outdoors feel with the luxury of a hotel.The grounds are well kept & this place offers a tranquil alternative to the city centre.
The food I had was very good- although I had to wait 60 mins for soup!!
The terrace area is a nice idea & makes it very easy for solo travellers to meet people.
Unfortunately the reception man was very rude & untrustworthy- I strongly advise to arrange your own taxis as his were considerably more expensive- presumably so that he can take his cut!!
Overall, I had a lovely stay & would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is a great value and provides a laid back and mellow atmosphere. Unfortunately I had horrible food poisoning (not from this place, I got sick before I arrived).. So I spent a lot of time in the bed. I can say that tents are really comfortable, having spent a lot of time in one! I would definitely stay here again (hopefully in better health! Haha). Owners and staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.