We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place. Cheaper to arrange own transport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. Cheaper to arrange own transport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in December 2013 in one of the deluxe tents which was amazing. It was so nice to have the outdoors feel with the luxury of a hotel.The grounds are well kept & this place offers a tranquil alternative to the city centre.
The food I had was very good- although I had to wait 60 mins for soup!!
The terrace area is a nice idea & makes it very easy for solo travellers to meet people.
Unfortunately the reception man was very rude & untrustworthy- I strongly advise to arrange your own taxis as his were considerably more expensive- presumably so that he can take his cut!!
Overall, I had a lovely stay & would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
68
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is a great value and provides a laid back and mellow atmosphere. Unfortunately I had horrible food poisoning (not from this place, I got sick before I arrived).. So I spent a lot of time in the bed. I can say that tents are really comfortable, having spent a lot of time in one! I would definitely stay here again (hopefully in better health! Haha). Owners and staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stay here two/three times a year on our way in or out of Nairobi. The owners have worked hard to make the whole place homely and comfortable. The staff are fantastic and are very accommodating. Although a way out of Nairobi centre, that is fine as it is tranquil and less noise. Food is good here and it is not far from restaurants if you want something different...the best of both worlds.
This is a home from home, the beds are comfortable, and the ensuites are well maintained. A wonderful place and beautiful grounds. Very relaxing place.

Room Tip: All tents are comfortable, just go with what you can afford and you will be happy as all are of an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valledupar, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just Loved our stay at Wildebeest. The place is so beautiful, very relaxing atmosphere, away from the constant rush in Nairobi.
The food is delicious, we liked very much everything that we ordered. The tents and the bathrooms were clean and well maintained at all times.
The staff couldn't be more friendly. The guys at the lounge and the reception are very nice always! They arrange a day tour to the elephant orphanage and giraffe center, and also airport transfers.
I strongly recommend it!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Positives: 1) Recommend using the transfer from the airport to this accommodation. 2) staff are friendly and helpful with all requests. 3) tents and amenities are clean and close. Breakfast is included. 4) can access wifi easily.
Negatives: 1) far away from central Nairobi. 2) due to location mainly limited to only eating at animation. Food however over all taste good.

Overall would recommend accommodation to others. Rank as A-

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My friend and I had had a very busy couple of weeks, we climbed Kilimanjaro and then headed straight to Nairobi to join a safari in the Masai Mara. After feeling disgusting and knackered the camp was the perfect place to go to relax. The rooms were out of this world and you would never have imagined that you were in a busy city. It was so nice to have running water and a real toilet!! Nairobi wasn't one of the nicest places I have been to but the camp was pure paradise. The reception even helped my friend and I organise a day out the elephant orphanage and Giraffe sanctuary too. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The camp was also great value for money, even considering we had one of the luxury safari tents (we think we deserved it after Kili!) :) The food was also really good! I would definitely recommend this place, it really is an amazing African experience. There is also the chance to meet lots of different travellers and different kinds of people as it is also a hostel.

Thanks so much guys, I will definitely be coming back if I find myself in Kenya again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was a nice stay (2 nights), but there was a strange atmosphere. The girls were very nice, this one man from the bar and reception was rude and unpleasant. The owners were there but not really available. They promised us hot showers but we hadn't...
Good place to stay at the beginning of end of your holiday, close to the airport and not in the city centre. Beautifull garden and vey nice tents. Closeby different tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Take a tent not too close to the main deck, bar is open till midnight and people can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.