We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager/owner lets down potentially great accommodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude manager/owner lets down potentially great accommodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The site itself is lovely and the local staff were friendly and helpful, if only the owner could be bothered to learn a bit of customer service skills. We were told the wrong times regarding dinner and upon speaking to the manager about it he couldn't be bothered to muster an iota of humility and simply apologise for the confusion and offer an alternative. The way he spoke to us was rude and condescending and completely unnecessary. Upon reading other reviews I see we are not the only people to encounter an unpleasant interaction with the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
68
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful grounds and friendly staff. Felt very safe the whole time we were there. Stayed in the dorms and was impressed with the shared bathrooms and the tent. We stayed there before and after our safari and never had any issues. Dinner is served on the deck with lots of opportunities to socialize. Good location for giraffe centre and elephant orphanage but far away from the centre but we were happy with that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've stayed here on two occasions, both times with friends (we stayed in the dorm beds). The camp has been referred to me by a number of friends traveling through Nairobi. Overall, it's a good place to stay if you're looking for cheaper and more relaxing accommodation in the Karen area.

The place is out of the way and would be a bit tough to find on your own if you took public (it's by Langata Road / Galleria, towards Karen on the Ngong Forest side of Langata - but I would call ahead to get good directions when you drop on Langata because it's a bit of a ways). It's about a 10 minute walk down a side street off of Langata, on the left side. It's not well marked, which I found annoying.

The grounds are pretty; there is a nice deck for eating/surfing the web (pretty fast)/socializing, so it's a nice place to escape the mayhem of Nairobi. The dorm beds were comfortable, but they squeeze 7 in a tent, and if you're on the top bunk there's not a lot of space to sit up (the canvas is right there). I've heard good things about the private tents, but I can't say from experience. Food is decent (nice little breakfast is included), but a taxi can take you to the Galleria shopping mall for somewhere around KES 200-400 where there's more variety (and where you can buy pretty much anything you might need in the Nakumatt supermarket. We used Wildebeest Tours for a budget safari, which was a good experience. Overall I'd recommend - not fantastic, but a solid choice, and close to Karen attractions (Elephant orphanage, giraffes, blixen, nairobi park).

Shared bathrooms clean, hot showers, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a deluxe safari tent and loved it. Meals on the deck were great. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, comprised 4 set choices with other (paid) extras available and dinner was a fixed price basic buffet. Staff were all friendly and tours, transport and transfers were all arranged effortlessly. Only fault was the camp ran out of water on our final day which meant no shower or flushing toilet but this was fixed pretty quickly. As two females we felt very safe here and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the wildebeest for two nights on my way from tanzania to Capetown. I loved it here. Check-in/out were effortless, the prices (US citizen) were very modest for all the comfortable features the room afforded me. I was upgraded from a budget tent to to a luxury tent by the staff upon arrival and I have to say, it was nicer than some of the hotel rooms ive stayed in! the camp is beautiful and the scenery leaves little to be desired. The camp operates on a tab system so ordering food/drinks is without the hassle of making sure you have the correct currency. the camp also offers a ride to/from the airport (jkia or local) so all you really have to do is relax! iits next to the national park, elephant recuse and lions so its in the center of everything kenya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wildebeest Camp is my homebase when I'm in and out of Nairobi during a few trips annually. It's comfortable, peaceful, and friendly, and the best property I've found in this price range. The place is good for a variety of travelers, from budget-minded backpackers to families to people in town for work but want some peace and nature which can otherwise be hard to find in Nairobi. The owners work tirelessly and are always very accommodating, particularly when I have groups. Once some nearby road construction projects are finally completed, accessibility will be enhanced tremendously.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What an introduction to Africa. This place came recommended and I can see why. It's set in beautiful grounds surrounding a pond. The tents are well maintained and very comfortable. Facilities include common balcony/dining area, lounge room, wifi, pool table, lockers (need your own lock). There is the facility to donate clothes/items as well, which will go to charity.

I stayed in the dorm tent and found it to be perfectly adequate (if not slightly on the high side of my budget - but still good value for money given the amenities). The shared showers are excellent by any camping standards and awesome by African standards.

Breakfast is included and comprises of tea/coffee/toast with eggs cooked to order. Dinner is not expensive by western standards but was by backpacking standards. I ate out each time for significantly cheaper - even when I was splurging.

The only negative to this place is the location. It's on a road that is not accessed by public transport and a 20-30 minute walk to the main road / nearest bus stop. Not a problem for those with their own transport or willing to pay for taxis. I walked the distance each time but it would be nice to have other (non-expensive) options.

In saying that it is quite well positioned to many of Nairobi's attractions - giraffe centre, elephant orphanage, national park etc. There is also a nice shopping centre with supermarket 30 mins walk up the road.

I can neither comment in the positive nor negative about the staff. Their service was adequate without being memorable. The Aussie owner was very friendly though. All in all it was a fantastic place and I got fit walking to the bus each day!

FYI I got a taxi from the airport for Sh1800. You may even be able to bargain to 1500.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.