We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great property, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wildebeest Camp is my homebase when I'm in and out of Nairobi during a few trips annually. It's comfortable, peaceful, and friendly, and the best property I've found in this price range. The place is good for a variety of travelers, from budget-minded backpackers to families to people in town for work but want some peace and nature which can otherwise be hard to find in Nairobi. The owners work tirelessly and are always very accommodating, particularly when I have groups. Once some nearby road construction projects are finally completed, accessibility will be enhanced tremendously.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
71
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What an introduction to Africa. This place came recommended and I can see why. It's set in beautiful grounds surrounding a pond. The tents are well maintained and very comfortable. Facilities include common balcony/dining area, lounge room, wifi, pool table, lockers (need your own lock). There is the facility to donate clothes/items as well, which will go to charity.

I stayed in the dorm tent and found it to be perfectly adequate (if not slightly on the high side of my budget - but still good value for money given the amenities). The shared showers are excellent by any camping standards and awesome by African standards.

Breakfast is included and comprises of tea/coffee/toast with eggs cooked to order. Dinner is not expensive by western standards but was by backpacking standards. I ate out each time for significantly cheaper - even when I was splurging.

The only negative to this place is the location. It's on a road that is not accessed by public transport and a 20-30 minute walk to the main road / nearest bus stop. Not a problem for those with their own transport or willing to pay for taxis. I walked the distance each time but it would be nice to have other (non-expensive) options.

In saying that it is quite well positioned to many of Nairobi's attractions - giraffe centre, elephant orphanage, national park etc. There is also a nice shopping centre with supermarket 30 mins walk up the road.

I can neither comment in the positive nor negative about the staff. Their service was adequate without being memorable. The Aussie owner was very friendly though. All in all it was a fantastic place and I got fit walking to the bus each day!

FYI I got a taxi from the airport for Sh1800. You may even be able to bargain to 1500.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Wildebeest Eco Camp for about a week last November. This was my first trip abroad, I was by myself, and I was lucky enough to get sick my second night in Kenya. I really had a lot going towards having a bad experience but fortunately I was staying here and they treated me like family.

The grounds are beautiful, all of my friends back home were jealous when I showed them the pictures. There had been a mistake in my booking and they upgraded me for free. They made organizing drivers and day trips so easy. One of the owners, I am horrible with names so please forgive me but I know it was the wife, was kind enough to take care of me while I got sick in the middle of the porch from heat stroke. After getting sick the staff continually came and checked on me until they knew for sure that I was ok. I know that I don't have much experience abroad but I am so thankful to the family that runs the Eco Camp because I don't think that I would have ever gotten service like this in the US.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friend and I booked dorm beds for 3 nights. The accommodation is very affordable (we were on a budget) and clean, and included breakfast. Very friendly staff. The breakfast/lunch/dinner menus had a lot of variety, and again, afforable, espeically if you're on a budget.

The entire camp site looked incredibly beautiful, with lots of trees and nicely tucked away in Nairobi. While it is far from downtown Nairobi, it is very close to some of the main attractions in Nairobi, including David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Centre, Carnivore, Bomas of Kenya, etc.

I'd definitely recommend this place, especially for budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you like to stay in a Tent but also have all the luxuries of a hotel, Wildebeest Eco camp provides you that
We were picked up by Mr. Charlie who was kind enough to share all the info about the hotel and Nairobi
when we arrived we were greeted by the owners 2 dogs and 1 cat
the tents were not ready in the beginning as we arrived early but as we finished they had one ready for us
The Deluxe tent is a superb idea if couple or family as it has an experience of a tent and luxury of a hotel
the Bed is the most comfortable which we slept on
the staff was welcoming and friendly
overall an awesomeee Experience
Would definitely be back if i visit Nairobi again

Room Tip: The Deluxe Tent is a superb choice for Couple or for Family of 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this place for two days on 14th & 15th of May. I am totally impressed and would love to come back here. Its a beautiful place, well maintained. Staff are very friendly and the hospitality is great. Rooms are clean and tidy. Services were available as promised.. sumptuous breakfast, free wi-fi, hot water etc. Room rates are very reasonable compared to many hotels in nairobi. This place is little far from city centre but it is closer to many tourist attractions like Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen Museum and Mamba Village. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just read Brabby's review, and could not agree more. I visited in April and had the same flooding scenario, with noisy pumps going throughout the day and until 9 or 10 pm, even after I asked they be turned off after dinner so we could enjoy a bit of peace....still on until they ran out of gasoline.
I often had to go in search of staff, usually finding them at the pool table. At one point when I wanted a sandwich, I asked the cook, who told me to write it up on the waiter's pad myself and give it to him. I had to get my own soda out of the fridge, and write it up on the waiter's pad to be added to my bill!
I stayed in a Garden Tent one night, Deluxe Tent several nights, and Budget Room as a day room prior to my evening departure. Interestingly, the cleanest was the Budget Room, yet you had to walk up a muddy path, stepping over the water pipes to get to the room. (I still don't know why they ran the pipes right up the path instead of off to the side or through the plants, but it again reflects lack of concern for their guests.)
See pics for the spider, the dirty spider web, and the general filth of the Deluxe Tent. These were "old" dirt, not new/fresh dirt.
Their signpost is computer printed on standard Kenyan printer paper, roughly 8.5 by 11 inches, put in a leaky plastic sleeve and tacked to a tree along the road! See the pic! Their website doesn't even give a clue of how far to go down Mokoyeti Road West to find #151 (very few numbers are posted, making it hard to know if you're on track or not), off Langata Road. It would be really NICE if they would say that it's about a mile north of Langata Road, almost to the end of Mokoyeti Road. It would be really nice if there was a Wildebeest Eco Camp sign at the corner of Langata Rd and Mokoyeti Rd West AND a sign at the entrance to Wildebeest Eco Camp.
When I first emailed Wildebeest Eco Camp, I asked "How much should I expect to pay a taxi from Wilson Airport to Wildebeest Eco Camp?" They replied "We can also arrange an airport pick up at Kshs2500 for a small car (Sedan) all we need is flight number and arrival time." Clearly that's a rip off! Wilson is already halfway from Nairobi to Wildebeest Camp, and should have only been 1000-1500 Ksh. When I left Wildebeest Camp for Jomo Kenyata Airport, the taxi fare was only 2000 Ksh.
And the mattresses are really, really firm. Hard.
It all leaves me wondering what's up with this place. General lack of adult supervision? Lack of respect for the paying clients? General apathy? It could be SOOOO GOOOD!!!

Room Tip: Call to ask if the water pumps are still running. If yes, find a different place to stay. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.