We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the centre of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
G
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in the centre of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was like entering into a little oasis after hectic Nairobi. we stayed in a garden safari tent and loved it. It was spotlessly clean. I was a liitle bit cold in the middle of the night but just put on extra clothes. It is a tent after all so not too surprising and I feel the cold. the showers were spotless and the hot water was a treat for us after staying in various places in kenya. we had dinner there on one of the nights and the food was good as was breakfast. we did ask about organising a safari through them but the details we got from them was very vague, so we went elsewhere. Highly recommend and was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    82
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
76
53
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Wildebeest Eco Camp in Nairobi is simply perfect. I recently spent 4 nights in a Garden Tent and absolutely loved it.

The garden tent was spacious and very clean. They are also waterproof which was great as we had evening storms each night. There is a choice of twin or double bedding, bedside tables with lamps and a safe if you want to secure valuables. It is only a short walk to the communal bathroom which was clean and had hot water most of the time.

Breakfast is included in the rate and has a good selection which you choose from the menu. If you wants extras there is a small charge per item. Dinner is served at a set time each night and although I didn't dine there l did see the menu and they had a good selection and is served buffet style. I found lunch and drink prices to be very reasonable too. All meals are served on the deck and is very social so even if you are travelling alone you will never be lonely.

They have free wifi and I found this worked well most days, even in my tent. All the staff I encountered were lovely and could not have been more helpful or polite. This is a really special place and if you are looking for a safe and welcoming place to stay in Nairobi this is it. I believe they have plans for a swimming pool too which will be a nice touch and should be completed within the next 12 months.

It is within walking distance to a shopping centre which has nice cafes or just a short taxi ride to the carnivore restaurant. A must do for people travelling to Kenya. Even as I vegetarian I found plenty to eat.

I will certainly stay at the Wildbeest Eco Camp again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great staff and owners. I really like this place, they have it all! Rooms, dorms and tents. I stayed in a tent and it was so good! A great experience to sleep in a tent in Africa!
The food was so delicious, to be honest, I miss it!
Amazing nature around the camp, truly a piece of paradise.
It's a little bit far away from centrum but that's actually good because of the safety.
Best place to stay in Nairobi! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a very relaxing 4 day stay. The deluxe safari tents are very nice, the bed is just perfect. The free wireless internet works good. The camp is not too far from a small shopping centre with a few nice eateries and the Nairobi hospital has a clinic there too. You can go there without appointment which is handy. Our comment is that the deluxe safari tents are too close to each other, so you can hear your neighbours clearly. Breakfast was ok. The dinner in buffet style is ok, but some nights are better than others. The policy that the rooms are not serviced during your stay is ok for short stays, but we do think that it would have been better that the rooms/tents get serviced every 3rd day. The owner was very helpful. The guest lounge felt more like the living room of the owner, so we did not use that too much as we felt less free to do so.

In Nairobi it is quite difficult to find a b&b or hotel for a decent price. The room rate is ok for what they offer. A few attractions (Nairobi NP, giraffe centre, elephant orphanage, Karen Blixen museum) are close by which is handy, but the airport is a bit far and taxi is not cheap either. If you travel by own car then this is certainly a good option for a secure stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived in the evening with four young children to find that our dinner reservation had not been taken and so there was no food left for us. It was a very busy time for them and the most simple requests( if you could even find anybody available) resulted in an agonising wait.
In fairness the setting and in particular the garden are perfectly nice and the potential you can see is there but the service really lets it down.
I would recommend it for backpackers but not families who have travelled with tired children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is probably one of the most unique accommodations in which I have stayed - I'll call it upscale tents. Off the beaten path, but not far from the Galleria Mall, situated around a beautiful pond, the Wildebeest is a wonderful respite from chaotic Nairobi. The facilities are absolutely clean; with comfy beds (even in the dorm); super-fast, free WiFi; delicious food; and a wonderful staff to assist you with anything you might need. Wildebeest is run by two Australians, Alan & Lynita, who know how to please the Western traveler in the heart of Africa - you can just feel the love they've put into their life's work. If you are not compelled to stay in the city center, the Wildebeest is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first night we stayed, we arrived after dark after a long international flight and left in the morning before sunrise to fly to Kilimanjaro - our brief stay in the garden tent was absolutely fine. It's a simple 'room', clean and simply decorated, and within a short walk to the shared bath facilities. The next morning, we left to catch our flight before the kitchen opened; since breakfast was included in the rate, we asked if they offered any sort of bagged breakfast to take with us but were told they didn't do it.

The second time we stayed was on the back end of our trip before departing for home. We stayed in a deluxe safari tent: spacious, with a nice bath and a large private deck overlooking the pond, this was a treat! Just note in both tents that there is no heat and the beds are somewhat hard.

The property is nicely landscaped and a peaceful retreat. The sitting area outside the main building is a pleasant place to relax and eat or have a drink, and the wifi works well. The owners and staff were very helpful in arranging airport transfer and a day tour of some nearby sights, though prices felt a bit expensive, as did prices on food/drinks. I appreciated that they were able to store our luggage for the day before our late-night flight, and that we were able to use the bath facilities for a nominal fee before leaving.

Overall, this is a neat place to stay if you're looking for something a little different!

Room Tip: Variety of room options and prices to fit all budgets - the garden tent was a good choice, but the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.