We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chaotic charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived in the evening with four young children to find that our dinner reservation had not been taken and so there was no food left for us. It was a very busy time for them and the most simple requests( if you could even find anybody available) resulted in an agonising wait.
In fairness the setting and in particular the garden are perfectly nice and the potential you can see is there but the service really lets it down.
I would recommend it for backpackers but not families who have travelled with tired children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    75
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
68
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is probably one of the most unique accommodations in which I have stayed - I'll call it upscale tents. Off the beaten path, but not far from the Galleria Mall, situated around a beautiful pond, the Wildebeest is a wonderful respite from chaotic Nairobi. The facilities are absolutely clean; with comfy beds (even in the dorm); super-fast, free WiFi; delicious food; and a wonderful staff to assist you with anything you might need. Wildebeest is run by two Australians, Alan & Lynita, who know how to please the Western traveler in the heart of Africa - you can just feel the love they've put into their life's work. If you are not compelled to stay in the city center, the Wildebeest is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first night we stayed, we arrived after dark after a long international flight and left in the morning before sunrise to fly to Kilimanjaro - our brief stay in the garden tent was absolutely fine. It's a simple 'room', clean and simply decorated, and within a short walk to the shared bath facilities. The next morning, we left to catch our flight before the kitchen opened; since breakfast was included in the rate, we asked if they offered any sort of bagged breakfast to take with us but were told they didn't do it.

The second time we stayed was on the back end of our trip before departing for home. We stayed in a deluxe safari tent: spacious, with a nice bath and a large private deck overlooking the pond, this was a treat! Just note in both tents that there is no heat and the beds are somewhat hard.

The property is nicely landscaped and a peaceful retreat. The sitting area outside the main building is a pleasant place to relax and eat or have a drink, and the wifi works well. The owners and staff were very helpful in arranging airport transfer and a day tour of some nearby sights, though prices felt a bit expensive, as did prices on food/drinks. I appreciated that they were able to store our luggage for the day before our late-night flight, and that we were able to use the bath facilities for a nominal fee before leaving.

Overall, this is a neat place to stay if you're looking for something a little different!

Room Tip: Variety of room options and prices to fit all budgets - the garden tent was a good choice, but the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

It wa our first time to Kenya on safari and staying at Wildebeest. Having gone down a long very bumpy road it was a nice surprise to see the camp and all it had to offer. The delux tents are very clean and just enough space for us (a family of three). We did not find the staff overly friendly or helpful but we were out and about most of the time so that did not matter greatly to us. Breakfast was ok with toast, eggs or pancakes. If you want anything else you need to pay for it. We did not have dinner there in the evenings as we went out but people told us it was nice. It was very cold in the tents at night in February so make sure you take some warm clothes. The camp also has two dogs which belong to the owners, which are very friendly so if you have children that are not used to dogs be prepared. All in all, we found it a good base for our safari in the national park and to relax in after a full day out and about. Would I go again? Probably not as I would want to experience other places also. Would I recommend it to others? Yes I would.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gbg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Second time on the Wildebeest, first time at the new location. The tents (had a luxary version) is great, the new grounds are great and from my experience it is both possible to work and relax and have a bit of jogging done. Still, it is a distance from town center now and to me this makes it unpractical if you are attending meetings inside town. Pick-up and drop off at airport works nicely and definetely, to me at least, this is a good spot to land in Kenya and spend a few days - this is a first hand choice for me in cases I do not have to go back and forth to city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

So I used to LOVE this place when it was just off Ngong Road. It's location was super-convenient for travelers using it because they were spending time in Nairobi for work or study and were coming and going from downtown a lot. There was tons of food, groceries etc in walking distance and it was easy to catch a matatu into town. The new location (as of April 2012 I believe) is really pretty far from the center of town. This makes it a long matatu ride or walk to the Galleria or a prohibitively expensive taxi ride. If you plan on staying for a week and coming and going from the city centre or elsewhere in the city every day and take taxis even part of the time you will spend more on them then on your room.

That said they got a lot more space, the grounds are pretty, the staff are always nice and the food is good. This is still a great budget choice if you are only in Nairobi over 1 or 2 nights it just is not good for what I used to use it for, as kind of a hostel rather than an eco-camp. It really can't be used that way anymore. It's still a great choice depending what you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My stay at Wildebeest Eco Camp was fantastic. First time in Kenya, could not have wished for a better place to stay. I was greeted by friendly staff, a punctual driver that helped navigate nairobi the first few days.
The meals all day and especially the community dinner at night were splendid. This was a great place to meet other fellow travelers and relax. I spent my first week in nairobi there and liked it so much that i came back for the last day of my trip.
Alan and Lynetta were wonderful hosts and have done an amazing job establishing a welcoming and relaxing environment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.