We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the craziness of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HostelBookers.com
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Escape the craziness of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I worked for 3 months in rural Kitui, Kenya. When I needed to go to the city I always stayed here. There's wifi, delicious breakfast, coffee, tea, comfortable accommodations, hot showers, luggage storage, friendly owners and staff, great gift shop with locally crafted gifts... Galleria mall is in walking distance if you need a supermarket, frozen yogurt, fast food, health food store, or really delicious pizza or Indian food. I'll really miss this place but I'll be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
68
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A peaceful back-packers' place. A little out of town. The night we arrived there had been terrible floods and the owner or manager came out in his 4 wheel drive to collect us from the nearest highway. Some of the tents were completely flooded out.Part of our party were doing basic camping and their tent was moved to under cover. The staff were very helpful in difficult circumstances

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Wildebeest Eco Camp for three nights during our first couple days in Kenya. They arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport at midnight, which provided us with peace of mind when we arrived. The location of the camp is beautiful--really green gardens and a very nice lagoon. We stayed in the garden tent which was right in our budget, and very comfortable. The shared bathrooms were close by, clean, and the showers had hot water. The area that Wildebeest is located is Langata, apparently a very well-off suburb of Nairobi. It was a very safe and peaceful area, but if you want to explore the city center of Nairobi, it isn't very convenient to get to from Langata. However, Wildebeest is pretty close (taxi ride) to Wilson airport, the Elephant Orphanage, and the Giraffe Center. We booked a Nairobi day tour and a 3-day safari through the Wildebeest travel company. We thought the Nairobi day tour was a little pricey, considering it was a basically a taxi driver taking us to the nearby tourist destinations mentioned above. We also were disappointed we didn't actually get to go inside the city of Nairobi. The 3-day group safari was a very reasonable rate. Since there was nobody else from Wildebeest that had booked the safari for the same dates as us, they arranged for us to through one of their partner organizations. The safari itself gave us everything we wanted in terms of animal exposure. The only downside was that the tour guide was more of a driver, and wasn't the most chatty person. However, we still had a great safari experience.

Room Tip: Garden tent was very comfortable and close to clean shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We overnighted here, and whilst the camp itself is lovely, there were a few disappointments which let it down a bit...first, our driver arrived an hour late to the airport and then got lost - it took us 2.5 hours to get from the airport to the camp. Apparently it was the driver's first time. Second, whilst we were informed the camp had been flooded due to heavy rains, we were not informed that this had also knocked out the electricity and hot water in our deluxe tent. This information would have changed out decision to stay here. Third, and this is possibly more a personal peeve, credit card payments attract a surcharge, something I was not aware of. Possibly I did not do my research well enough.

As I say, the camp itself is lovely and peaceful, and the deluxe tent was very nicely appointed - it was just the small details that kinda let it down for me a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great budget friendly accomodations, we booked a double garden tent and it is was truly beautiful. Shared shower and toilet facilities were very clean and up to date. Beautiful garden setting and a wonderful bar area to meet and greet with other guests. All the staff we encountered were extremely professional and helpful. The booking of the accomodations and transport from airport were flawless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at Wildebeest for about a week, and I enjoyed every second of it. Nairobi can be a pretty overwhelming city, and it can take hours to get anywhere. Wildebeest is situated away from downtown on West Langata Road. It's close to the Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Sanctuary, and to Galleria Mall (for some great good).

The place itself is brilliant done up with permanent tents that serve as dorms or private rooms. The deck of the main house served as a great place to meet and chat with other travelers while taking advantage of the great, nightly buffet dinner, or while playing with the friendly dogs and cats. I almost couldn't get up off of my chair one night because one of the cats had settled into my lap for the night and wouldn't let me move.

My stay here really helped me to enjoy my time in Nairobi, which is a fun city, but a hard city to love. Wildebeest Eco Camp, however, was an easy place to love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We love small towns when we travel and avoid big cities, thus Nairobi was the last place we wanted to be. Unfortunately buses were all full and we had to stay in Nairobi. Wildebeest guesthouse was amazing. It's like staying at the Botanical gardens based around a small pond. Beautiful grounds! We stayed in the budget rooms which are small and basic but clean and comfortable. Shared bathrooms and showers are basic but clean with flush toilets and hot showers.excellent. Plus there are only a few budget rooms so it felt like we were the only ones using these shared facilities. If you want to step it up a notch, the safari tents with private bathrooms looked awesome! Good food but a little on the expensive side for us. The galleria- mini mall is a short cab ride away with shopping and fast food. The Giraffe center also was not too far away and worth the visit. The lodge is pretty far from airport and downtown Nairobi. The fair trade shop on site has reasonable prices. Read the welcome manual in your room, it's very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi
Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.