We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate one bit to stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 194 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate one bit to stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A couple of friends and I are backpacking from Cairo to Capetown and Nairobi was one of our stops. We decided to give this place a try due to the great reviews and Wildebeest did not disappoint. We stayed in the dorms here mostly and spent one night in the luxury group tent. The dorms only cost about 14 USD a person, which is a great price for a place of this quality. First off, this place is beautiful. There are numerous amounts of flowers, plants, and trees scattered throughout. The people, the owners are both very nice people. The bathrooms and dorms are cleaned daily. The security here is very high, never once did I feel like my things would be stolen. The food is very good, breakfast is included, and fairly priced for the city. The taxi's are a bit on the high end but for the price of the rooms, it evens out. The only issue about this place is that it is quite far from the city center. A taxi ride to the city center from Wildebeest will down you about 1500 schillings, but if you go with multiple people or don't have a big need to go to the city center, its not a big deal. The location is good in my opinion because it is off the road, which means it is safer than most places, and it is close to the Galleria, which is a pretty big mall where you can buy groceries or other daily essential needs. They even have a bookstore there! Overall, this place is amazing! I would definitely recommend this place and when I come back, I will definitely stay here! They are planning to build a pool soon so hopefully that will be installed soon!

Room Tip: Dorms are the cheapest but if your a light sleeper, then I wouldn't recommend it because some pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Veghel
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On our last day in Kenia we stayed at the Wildebeest camp to leave the next day back home. The place is recently been located to this site and everything was still somewhat under construction. Nevertheless the tent we slept in was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the shower and toilet area was very clean. The dinner was very nice and the camp is set in a beautiful area where you dont even feel like you are in a big city. Definitely worth to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemLeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destelbergen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wildebeest is a very nice and good point to start a long safari from. They pick you up at the airport at any moment of the day / night. They are very friendly and constant on the move to improve the eco camp (new showers, toilets and there are plans for a swimming pool).
We started our trip here in an budget room. It is basic, but nice and need.
At the end of our trip we slept in out own tent and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the camp.
Extra info, the owners are also involved in an orphanage near Nairoby, so If you want to help the poor children and orphans. Lett them know, the will certainly help you to get in contact with them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derooverstof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Can't say enough about how great this place is. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the food was great and most of all, the rooms and tents were very comfortable and well equipped. The grounds were smartly maintained and absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend Wildabeest to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
341 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Wildebeest Camp for a few days before and after a Kenya safari.

The place is still under construction after a recent move to the suburb of Karen. It will probably be very nice when finished, but in the meantime there are lots of things that might get done one day and it is a bit like living in a construction zone.

The deluxe tents are good but pretty chilly in the winter. The public showers for the garden tents are pretty cold. The food is OK and quite reasonably priced.

The biggest issue is the overly laid-back style of the staff and management. Organized transportation may or may not turn up as planned (best to confirm with the driver yourself), necessary repairs may or may not be gotten to as promised, public areas may or may not get cleaned up.

The new location in Karen has plusses and minuses. While it is a long and expensive taxi ride to the center of Nairobi, a lot of the sights in the region are in the Karen vicinity. But the poorly signed dirt road is hard to find and many local drivers have no idea how to get there.

All that being said, the place provides pretty good value in very expensive Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is beautiful. I got the garden tent which had a king sized bed and power and a safe, you were surrounded by the sounds of birds chirping and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but not a far enough away to be a pain. I came here after 6 weeks of camping through Africa so I had been to a lot of campsites in that time, and this was beyond any of my expectations, you get so much for what you pay for. The only thing is (and the reason I didn't give it 5/5) was that it was really hard to find!! There wasn't any sign posts and it was even confusing the taxi driver, but once I got here all that frustration disappeared and I got a delicious lunch overlooking the waterhole... Just beautiful

Room Tip: The garden tent is awesome, even with the shared bathrooms. It is a lot cheaper than the ends with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. We were on a tight budget, planning our trip to Nairobi fairly last minute. But I was remarkably impressed! It is still a little under construction, I think they're expanding, and the site was only just opened this year, but none of that affected our stay.
We chose a deluxe eco tented room to stay in, and it was lovely. The room was huge! The bed was gigantic, and our ensuite had a solar powered shower that was always lovely and hot. The landscaped gardens our tent faced were lovely, there's a large pond and lots of birds.
The staff were very helpful. They have their own excursion company (wildebeest travels) so we could organise any excursions and trips we wanted through them. We didn't have dinner there, the one night we planned to the cook was unfortunately ill, but the lunch food we had was very nice.
It's just out of the city, but if you're looking to get out of Nairobi its perfect!

Room Tip: The deluxe tents are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#29 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 194 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#22 of 194 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing