We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Veghel
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet place in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On our last day in Kenia we stayed at the Wildebeest camp to leave the next day back home. The place is recently been located to this site and everything was still somewhat under construction. Nevertheless the tent we slept in was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the shower and toilet area was very clean. The dinner was very nice and the camp is set in a beautiful area where you dont even feel like you are in a big city. Definitely worth to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    107
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
94
61
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Destelbergen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wildebeest is a very nice and good point to start a long safari from. They pick you up at the airport at any moment of the day / night. They are very friendly and constant on the move to improve the eco camp (new showers, toilets and there are plans for a swimming pool).
We started our trip here in an budget room. It is basic, but nice and need.
At the end of our trip we slept in out own tent and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the camp.
Extra info, the owners are also involved in an orphanage near Nairoby, so If you want to help the poor children and orphans. Lett them know, the will certainly help you to get in contact with them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Can't say enough about how great this place is. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the food was great and most of all, the rooms and tents were very comfortable and well equipped. The grounds were smartly maintained and absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend Wildabeest to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Wildebeest Camp for a few days before and after a Kenya safari.

The place is still under construction after a recent move to the suburb of Karen. It will probably be very nice when finished, but in the meantime there are lots of things that might get done one day and it is a bit like living in a construction zone.

The deluxe tents are good but pretty chilly in the winter. The public showers for the garden tents are pretty cold. The food is OK and quite reasonably priced.

The biggest issue is the overly laid-back style of the staff and management. Organized transportation may or may not turn up as planned (best to confirm with the driver yourself), necessary repairs may or may not be gotten to as promised, public areas may or may not get cleaned up.

The new location in Karen has plusses and minuses. While it is a long and expensive taxi ride to the center of Nairobi, a lot of the sights in the region are in the Karen vicinity. But the poorly signed dirt road is hard to find and many local drivers have no idea how to get there.

All that being said, the place provides pretty good value in very expensive Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is beautiful. I got the garden tent which had a king sized bed and power and a safe, you were surrounded by the sounds of birds chirping and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but not a far enough away to be a pain. I came here after 6 weeks of camping through Africa so I had been to a lot of campsites in that time, and this was beyond any of my expectations, you get so much for what you pay for. The only thing is (and the reason I didn't give it 5/5) was that it was really hard to find!! There wasn't any sign posts and it was even confusing the taxi driver, but once I got here all that frustration disappeared and I got a delicious lunch overlooking the waterhole... Just beautiful

Room Tip: The garden tent is awesome, even with the shared bathrooms. It is a lot cheaper than the ends with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. We were on a tight budget, planning our trip to Nairobi fairly last minute. But I was remarkably impressed! It is still a little under construction, I think they're expanding, and the site was only just opened this year, but none of that affected our stay.
We chose a deluxe eco tented room to stay in, and it was lovely. The room was huge! The bed was gigantic, and our ensuite had a solar powered shower that was always lovely and hot. The landscaped gardens our tent faced were lovely, there's a large pond and lots of birds.
The staff were very helpful. They have their own excursion company (wildebeest travels) so we could organise any excursions and trips we wanted through them. We didn't have dinner there, the one night we planned to the cook was unfortunately ill, but the lunch food we had was very nice.
It's just out of the city, but if you're looking to get out of Nairobi its perfect!

Room Tip: The deluxe tents are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my 4th trip to Kenya and first stay at Wildebeest eco camp (previously stayed at Wildebeest camp).

The new camp is fantastic, it certainly is a paradise amongst the noise and madness of Nairobi.

Perfect hosts in lynitta and Alan and great staff too (too many to mention). We are always disappointed that we just use it as a base before and after safaris. Must stay longer in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe ensuites as wanted a break from basic camping. Deluxe tents are wonderfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ndemi Place
#27 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.