We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Wildebeest camp was the perfect Start/End to our trip travelling around Kenya. The camp is set in the most beautiful surroundings (you wouldn't believe you were in Nairobi city). The camp was protected by a guard at the entrance and you felt very safe once inside. The camp had such a relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a luxury tent, which was clean and immaculate - just what we needed to start off our travels. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay a few nights in Nairobi.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe tent it was very comfortable and just what we had hoped for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    96
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
81
59
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Im a budget traveler and stayed in dorms so keep that in mind while reading my review.
I decided to stay there due to positive reviews on the internet. At first, I was very pleased with the place. Location is good, very clean building and baths. Even the common baths are in very good condition. The garden is excellent and creates a nice atmosphere...
However, I did not like the fact that you had to pay extra for literally everything you want in addition to your room/bed/tent. The access to WiFi is outrageous 500 KES/day (!). They charge you for making a phone call to get a taxi, for checking status of your flight, towel and many more services that i have not been charged for before in my years of travelling.
So, if you are a budget traveler you might get an affordable bed here but if you need any extra things they might add up very quickly making your bed expensive. Also, their food is , in my opinion, expensive. 450 KES+
Overall: A nice and clean place where you pay for everything you need. There is nothing including with you stay except for your bed. (Keep in mind that I stayed in dorms)

Room Tip: I slept in a 6 bed dorm. It had private bath and was large and spacious. Rack for bags was very help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Firstly - thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes our business model could be compared to other budget travel products - like Ryanair. The reason we have chosen to do it this way is because we believe that most people would prefer to pay a 'base rate' for their room and breakfast and then just pay for the extra services that they choose to use during their stay. As many guests who stay with us (and other hotels worldwide) are just a night or two before or after a safari/flight, it seems fairer to charge just for bed and breakfast and not add a nominal amount onto all room charges to cover things they probably won’t use like phone calls, extra showers after check out etc (all of which do cost money and are not factored into the cost structure of a budget business). Incidentally, towels are included in all rooms except our most budget accommodation.

Future guests will be happy to know that we now have an 'unlimited usage' fibre connection for our internet and wifi is now free for all guests. While it was generally agreed that $5 a day for unlimited wifi was not excessive, we are happy that we no longer need assistance from guests to pay our unsightly internet bill.

We pride ourselves on being very customer service focused and go out of our way to provide a lot of services free of charge, which do cost our small business money (many of which guests don’t see or acknowledge). Although we do reserve the right to pass on the cost of phone calls, typically we would only do this is a guest has been using our phone a lot. We would not charge a guest for a couple of taxi calls.

Our restaurant serves a variety of international-standard food at reasonable prices – but there is certainly cheaper Kenyan-style food available at local outlets that we can recommend.

Also a reminder to all future guests that all room rates are inclusive of bed and breakfast (served from 07:00-10:00) - including French-press Kenyan coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

In October 2011 we stayed here for a couple of nights. We stayed in a luxury tent. I made the reservation via internet from Canada. I paid the minimum fee required by the system. When we arrived in Nairobi the Taxi driver did not have any problems finding the hostel. The establishment is safe and well kept. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the dining room where we met with individuals from all over the world. Everybody was willing to share their experiences o f Kenya. We loved the food at the hostel. It was inexpensive and delicious. And you have to have the bier! The staff at reception are very friendly. You can pay your bills with credit cards (visa, MC, Amex). Please note that if you are a tourist form North America you are better off bringing cash as your credit or debit cards do not work in bank machines in Kenya. We loved the luxury tent. I remember the sound of the near by mosque in the middle of the night and sounds of birds and animals. If you travel to Kenya you have to have an experience of a hostel. Our second night we stayed at Stanley hotel, and let me tell you, me missed the Wildebeest Camp. On the way back to Canada we missed our flight. My boyfriend so happy because he really wanted to spend another night at Wildebeest. The management of the camp prefers that you make your reservations via internet but we were fortunate to book it over the phone. It was my birthday, October 25, 2011, and I had a crape with mango at Wildebeest. Spend the night at Wildebeest and you are going to have an unforgettable memory.

Room Tip: Deluxe tents are specious and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
It is great to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the mango and pancakes. Mangoes are in season at the moment and absolutely devine! Just a reminder to anyone bringing US$ in cash to ensure the series number printed on the notes is 2000 or newer. Banks, forexs and businesses in most of East Africa do not take older notes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

In January we wanted to stay for two nights at Wildebeest Camp. So I ask for a luxury tent via phone and we made a conformed reservation by phone for the luxury tent and a pick up service for the next day from the airport. To confirm my reservation I send an E-Mail to make sure that they have the flight number and the time when we will be at the airport. Unfortunately the next day nobody was picking us up. Because it was nearly midnight, we tried to call someone at Wildebeest Camp to ask for the driver but nobody was answering the phone. It was our first day in Kenya and we were not looking forward to take a taxi to this place during night time and not to know if someone will open the door (especially not, while nobody is answering the phone)!. The end of it: We were looking for a new option to stay for one night and had to pay for it. The next day we called them to ask why nobody cared to pick us up. It seemed that suddenly the person did not want to understand us. The End: We paid nearly 80€ for the luxury tend, even it was not possible to stay in it! Wildebeest Camp was not willing to give us the money for the reservation back, for the reason that they did not confirmed the pick up service???
For me it is not a place to recommend in case you want to book in advance!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This place was awesome; we stayed here for just 3 nights but could have happily stayed longer! The staff were nice (not overly friendly, but very helpful), the food was delicious, rooms (we stayed in a garden tent) were spacious, clean and comfortable. I agree with other comments that this place is a small oasis within Nairobi; it’s just off the main road and feels very safe and secure and you don’t get all the traffic noise and dust. There’s a main house with a central office on the bottom floor that everything goes through (laundry, food orders, booking taxis, etc) so it’s nice and easy. Breakfast was delicious with 5 different choices (included in the accom price) and if you chose to have the buffet dinner there was a wide range of things which were SO tasty (they also catered for me as I’m vegetarian). My only minor complaint was that our room didn’t have a mosquito net – although malaria isn’t a problem in Nairobi there are still mosquitoes around – having said that though it wasn’t a huge problem as we’d just search the tent at night and kill any before going to bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

this place was recomended by the owners of fishermans camp so we expected something excellant. the young man running the office was disinterested to say the least. there had been a huge price hike from the time that the brochure had been produced. the double room consisted of bunkbeds in a concrete block. only one bug net for bottom bed. shared toilet was digusting with used toilet paper all over the floor (this is the toilet that the cook uses-think about where your food is coming from). tried to book a safari but the young man announced that he was in the middle of his lunch. gave us a brochure. another couple also wanted some help but he completely ignored them. the common room was great. as long as you didn't mind listening to people talking loudly on skype.after waiting 40 min for him to finish his extended lunch break we left. went to stay at the acaica campsite. where we were met with a smile and very helpful staff.
in 17 trips to africa this is the first time i have ever walked out of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildinafrica, Owner at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are always trying to improve the way our staff interact with guests and your feedback will provide an excellent example of where we can develop.

With the toilet situation I am unsure if you walked into the staff toilets by mistake, or the shared guest toilets - but toilet paper on the floor - I agree I have no idea how they get in such a state. Our toilets are inspected throughout the day and cleaned everyday, however I do acknowledge that if it has been a busy morning with lots of people getting up to leave at the same time - the bathrooms can be a diabolical mess. We have since installed different toilet paper dispensers, and this seems to be helping.

For our prices, our website and many other booking sites online are always up-to-date with current rates. It is always unreliable to trust a flier you have found as you don't know how old it is – although we have only had two modest price increments in 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here 3 times whilst in East Africa, the accommodation was very good, especially the fixed tents and the outdoor wash facilities are fine. The food was always excellent. We went on safari organised by the camp which was also very good. Its in a good location - a bit out of the centre but thats probably a good thing - and there are lots of shops and a cinema etc. within walking distance. The camp is set in beautiful gardens and is peaceful. Internet is pricey and you have to pay per day for wireless use. My only negative comment is that some of the staff were very unhelpful to the point of being rude (although they were always very polite in front of the owners!) and although I would stay there again because of all its good points this is definitely something that could be improved on.

Room Tip: Fixed tents (with beds in them) are much nicer and quieter than dorm or rooms (they also have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.