We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Bangor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here 3 times whilst in East Africa, the accommodation was very good, especially the fixed tents and the outdoor wash facilities are fine. The food was always excellent. We went on safari organised by the camp which was also very good. Its in a good location - a bit out of the centre but thats probably a good thing - and there are lots of shops and a cinema etc. within walking distance. The camp is set in beautiful gardens and is peaceful. Internet is pricey and you have to pay per day for wireless use. My only negative comment is that some of the staff were very unhelpful to the point of being rude (although they were always very polite in front of the owners!) and although I would stay there again because of all its good points this is definitely something that could be improved on.

Room Tip: Fixed tents (with beds in them) are much nicer and quieter than dorm or rooms (they also have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
68
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Immaculate accommodation, peaceful well landscaped gardens, delicious food, pleasant ablutions. What more could you ask for ? Friendly, efficient staff and welcoming owners with "hands-on" service, vaste knowledge, helpful advice re do's and don'ts and a ready smile ? You've go it !! I'll go back at every opportunity even though they will be relocating to a different spot nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stay at Wildebeest regularly, and this past visit was typical. Dinner food is great, dorm and small tent accommodations are comfortable enough given the price, and there is a relaxed atmosphere.

Beware the cost of the wireless internet, extra towels, etc. They are designed to make up for the nicely priced dorm/tent accommodations. Also beware the the "front desk" often tries to tell you that "there are no dorm beds" or "there are no small tents" available, and try to get you to sign up for the terribly ugly 2,500 shilling bedrooms or the 7,000ksh+ luxury tents. It is pretty crazy, and they still try to trick me even though I am a regular!

It just never ceases to drive me nuts how the managers are some of the surliest people anywhere---curt, dry, and disengaged while taking care of simple requests.

There are some gems among the staff--particularly the main guy who runs the dinner and night shifts. But a lot of the others, and the owner.managers, are infuriatingly cold to most of the travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Organising our stay was easy Daniel responded to our emails efficiently. The setting is in a walled garden so it feels safe. Staff were helpful athough sometimes a bit pre-occupied. Our tent was immaculate and just what we hoped for.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe tent it was very comfortable and just what we had hoped for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here a total of three nights, returning here since we enjoyed our stay the first time. Each time, we stayed in the budget rooms for 2500 KSh that are in the corner of the property, behind the house. Rooms were in a basic concrete shed and were small but relatively bright with a few colourful decorations, comfortable bed and big mosquito net. Nearby shared bathrooms were a little dark and small but the bathroom in the house was available and much nicer with a shower that would get warm-hot. Breakfast was included and was had a few good choices like omelets as well as unlimited toast to toast yourself. We ate twice at the restaurant, the first time doing their nightly buffet which was decent but fairly expensive, and a second time ordering a la carte which is much more reasonable.
The compound is guarded 24/7 and are neither in the downtown nor in the outskirts. There's two shopping centres less than a 15 minute walk which was convenient for errands. There was wifi in the main areas to use, and a lounging gazebo that had tv and couches. The reception has a number of handicrafts for sale that were both some of the cheapest we saw in Kenya and supported a women's initiative.
Our only complaint was that the owners were a little standoffish and the place felt very very rule-bound. If you read the rule book they left in the rooms it included things like the fee they'd charge if they called their own taxi for you, that you weren't allowed to use the shower after checking out etc etc. It just made the whole place feel a little bit more uptight than the friendly welcome you'd want. But, that said, it was good value and we found our stay comfortable and would likely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here two nights with a friend. Even though the camp is located in the city, it feels like you're in the country! It's so peaceful and the gardens are nicely kept. The outdoor shared bathrooms are always clean and there was always hot water. There are many different types of lodging here - dorm rooms, pitched tents, tent suites, etc. The value is excellent, and the food is great. The staff is attentive and addresses problems immediately. Also, Wildebeest is only a 5 minute walk away from Presitge shopping center and a 500 shilling cab ride from downtown.

I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This was our first experience with a tented camp so I had great trepidations about staying in a tent when I much prefer a 4-star hotel!! But we had just landed in Kenya, we were starving and tired and had just driven through Nairobi rush hour in our tour van...so we would've been happy with anything.

It was dark when we arrived and our tour driver took a turn off the main road onto a bumpy unpaved street. We approached a large metal door and it opened onto the grounds. All the lodges have security at the gates and are promptly closed after the guests drive through. Take that as a positive or negative....

The "camp" is actually a large converted colonial era home that serves as the kitchen, dining room, staff quarters and gift shop. The property is owned by a British person but is completely run by a staff of Kenyans.

Tents: they are smallish and close together but spotless. I was quite surprised. The bathroom is ensuite and each unit has a hot water maker inside the shower so we never ran out. Toilet was clean and paper provided. You should bring your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. They had hand soap but nothing in the showers. Also recommend anti bacterial wipes just to have on hand. We had a double bed and a single in our tent. There was adequate space but it is a bit dark so make sure to have your own flashlights. The tents are spread out on the grounds of the estate. There are also some pop up tents and people who'd pitched their own accommodations.

We arrived after 7pm so the dinner buffet had ended. We ordered a la carte sandwiches. Not particularly good or filling but we were hungry. The soup was incredible though. It was a pumpkin soup and i am not a big soup person but it sounded interesting so i got some. We had seven in our group. Some ordered hamburgers which some on bread for rolls and also French fries.

There is a really decent gift shop and the prices are very reasonable. They sold things that we didn't find readily in the curio shops along the road. I was hesitant to load up since it was our first place but after seeing other shops, I would highly recommend buying from them.

The staff is small and overworked so my biggest recommendation is having small denomination bills on hand. They did not have readily available change.

There is a basket for donating clothes and whatever items you'd like to shed. We found that clothes, pencils, sweets, meds, etc are welcome anywhere.

Breakfast: the basic breakfast is very basic with toast tea or coffee and a choice of a Spanish omelette or eggs. Everything such as bottled water, bacon, or sides were add-ons. Overall, it was a decent breakfast but not a large amount.

For a unique experience, this was better than a large hotel in Nairobi. Our guides told us the hotels there tend to be loud with nearby nightclubs, etc. At any rate, we did hear a great deal in the tent but it was a novel experience.

Staff was very responsive although understaffed and worked long hours. Recommend this property as a good intro or ending to your trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.