We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeest Eco Camp

Save Saved
You added Wildebeest Eco Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildebeest Eco Camp
151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't beat the value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This B&B has everything you could possibly want or need at unbelievable prices. Breakfast is great: juice,fruit,cereal,eggs (supert spanish omelet) individual French press coffee. A ala carte menu available till 9 at night. The 3 meat samosa's at $3 or the 2 Spring rolls at $2 are excellent. Internet is available for free. A fixed delicious evening meal is available by advance reservation for $7 (you can pig out).

This place is SAFE,SAFE,SAFE. Unlike big name hotels costing $200+ plus per nite that have previously been bombed by terroists. You are within a walled garden of Eden. Justice the waiter will make you feel like you are the most important person in the world. The smile of Maggie the chef will melt your heart. She is beautiful in every way. Tuskers and mixed drinks are $2.

During our 22 day in Kenya we stayed here on arrival, midway and departure. The basic double room for $25 was totally fine for a 3 am flight arrival and departure. The deluxe tent with ensuite bath at $65/nite was fantastic.The array of guests was unbelievable. Friendly chatter from world travelers, NGO's, business people, backpackers......... lots of young white women.

My only negative is using their services for transportation or tours. Example: On our first day we booked with them for a tour of the Elephant orphanage, Giraffe center, the Kuzuri bead factory and karen Blixen's home. The entire tour took less then 4 1/2 hours. The driver was on the cell phone all the time. She rushed us in and out of each place at a cost of $210. Had we arranged this on our own it would have cost a third of the amount. If you were to book a safari through them you will end up packed in a van.

None the less if you want a really cheap, really great place to sleep, eat, chill you cannot beat Wildbeest Camp.

Another plus. It is closer to the Int'l airport and Wilson (domestic) then the down town hotels. Traffic in Nairobi is absolutely, totally the worst in the world. Thank God the taxis do not run on meters.

Room Tip: Deluxe tents are the way to go spending a full night elsewise a budget room works great for less the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
68
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Wow!

It truly did feel like I was in some peaceful, amazingly beautiful, clean and secure Oasis with fantastic people and atmosphere to match! This place is all about how to make YOU feel at home, welcomed, cared for, helped and safe.

On my first night Lynita gave me some really helpful advice on transport, safari, safety, etc

I have only stayed here 2 nights ( unfortunately ) However, I'd like to stay longer next time I'm in Nairobi. I can't even imagine staying anywhere else and I can't believe this place actually lives in the middle of a crazy busy city.

Thank you for an amazing stay!

love & light

EL

** if you would like to see more pictures, please visit my website.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

...just without any animals;)

it is sooooooo great to live in a safari style tent, surrounded by nice gardens, getting nice homemade food - so much better than these pseudo 3star-hotels with their buffets morning, lunch and dinner!

I really recommend it to everyone who stays in nairobi, be it business trip or vacation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We loved this campsite so much that we stayed 3 times during our recent visit to Kenya!

It is a very relaxing place to stay with nicely maintained gardens and a wonderful gazebo to lounge round in all day. It is very peaceful and quiet here. The deluxe tents are more than comfortable and generally very good value for money. Even if you had booked a basic tent, I dare say that you would have found it very comfortable as there is a nice ambience to the place. The site is securely gated off and manned by a guard so you feel really safe at all times.

It is situated near the Kibera Slum, Giraffe Centre and around a half and hour walk to the city centre on foot so great location overall. The staff are more than happy to organise trips for you and offer reasonable rates for their services.

The only complaint I have to make is that behind the tents there is a factory/shop and you can hear men talking in the early hours of the morning so if you dislike noise then this may be an issue. So, I am knocking off a star rating for that. However, we asked the men to quieten down and they did just that so not such a problem. In any case, I have no doubt in my mind that had we asked the guard to speak to the men, then he would have done so on our behalf.

Breakfast is basic with a choice of say either scrambled eggs or pancake for breakfast with either coffee or tea included in room rate. However, there are other options if you like more (at a cost). More useful information now: turn right out of the gate, walk up then dusty road then left at main road, walk through petrol station, continue walking for 5 minutes and you will reach the supermarket Uchumi and many fast food places.

Very sad to leave....

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We needed a quiet place near the centre of Nairobi for a rest after the long flights and to attend to some pre safari commitments such as buying supplies and other matters.
We chanced upon this place and were not disappointed. Booking by Email was straightforward and the Airport meet and greet worked well despite the early hour.
We arrived way ahead of official check in time but they did their best to make us comfortable until the room/tents were ready.
A very well managed place and very accommodating. Food was excellent and Beer supplies seemed inexhaustable. There was a good supermarket within walking distance for our Safari supplies although we used a car to pick up the bulk of this.
There is a 'resident' car driver available and we booked him for the day for all the errands.
Our tents were large enough and extrmely comfortable. It was like being on Safari already without the bumpy roads.
Definitely one to return to although there is news that they are building another place a bit further out.

Room Tip: There are two styles of permanent tent. Take a De Luxe with ensuite for a 1,000 Ksh more. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wildebeest Camp as part of our 5 week honeymoon in Africa.
We stayed in a basic room for 1 night, and the other 2 nights we camped out in a tent on their grounds. We had a fantastic stay. The owners are great, they employ some locals from Kenya that are very kind, and helpful. The food is amazing. There is a tented outdoor area where you can lounge on some day beds and watch movies, there are games and books to look through, and they can arrange tours for you. We took a day trip to the Shelrick elephant orphanage, it was one of the highlights of our trip.

We walked into Nairobi from the camp, it is about a 15 minute walk, there is no danger, just be aware of your surroundings and where your money is, and do walk around during the day.

Wildebeest Camp is a fab place to stay in Kenya!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights. A brilliant place to stay - owners friendly and service an asset. Food good and was like being part of a big family. Very tidy and clean. Dissapointed on day I left as a mess up was made with my booking. No compensation offered which I felt would have been welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildebeest Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeest Eco Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.