We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see wildlife by bike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour
Mau mau road, Kenya
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$149*
and up
Ranked #135 of 403 Activities in Kenya
Attraction details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great to see wildlife by bike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Just a couple of hours from Nairobi, this is doable in a day. Rent bikes (test the brakes and gears!) and cycle from the gate to the canyon. A guide (very advisable) will take you through the canyon. Wear sturdy footwear and take lots of water, a hat and sunscreen. Great to see the zebras, Impala and warthogs up close by bike. A lovely break from Nairobi.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is fab you can ride around the park on a bike or stay in the jeep! There are no big cats so its quite safe. Lots of Giraffe's and zebra's - its called hells gate as it is so dry so some visits mean leaving having barely seen anything but a photo with a zebra whilst your riding your bike is worth taking home!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Came here and did the bike + hiking tour. It is such a beautiful ride and getting to see Pride Rock and the views from the very top was worth the 10 mile bike ride. Along the bike ride I seen giraffes, zebras and gazelles and got some AMAZING pictures throughout the whole trip. It is a great experience and although I was very tired at the end of it all, it was SO worth it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bicycle tour and hike - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nov 2012: This was the first park visit on my first trip to Africa. I'm an avid cyclist and love seeing the world from two wheels, so opted for the more adventurous bike rental tour.

My expectation was that this was more of a landscape and hiking tour, but after a mile in, I was amazed to see gazelles, then a host of other wildlife. There was a small group of Zebras that started to stampede when they were spooked by the jeeps that were trailing us and then suddenly I found myself in the midst of them as they crossed the road right in front of me! The hike down in the gorge was amazing as well. I'm glad I went to this park first in my trip - while there was much wildlife there, it was not the same scale as other parks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A day worth experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A place of great learning or knowledge and good experience. A place of enjoying oneself. A place of rangelands that is a habitat for wildlife.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hell's Gate National Park Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.