We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 199 Attractions in Kenya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

Went to the national park on the afternoon of the second of November it's well worth a visit have been there in the past also. It's really good considering it's so close to the city centre there are lots of animals to see but alas no elephant you can also visit the animal rescue and rehabilitation centre which is next to it . It's also worth noting that non Kenyan visitors pay considerably more for any attractions they visit . The government do this to promote tourism for their own people but coming from a country who treat everyone equally find this a bit harsh and discrimitory to tourists and visitors

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    51
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Henry, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A safari which we will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We took the Safari from Nairobi, in Kenya. The Driver of the Land Rover went out of his way to make certain that we saw wild life, every day, and sometimes in the evening. In October, the migration is still in progress. The most exciting thing we did was to take the hot air balloon ride at dawn, over the migrating animals. After two weeks in Kenya, we went to Tanzania. The Masai people treated us like family, and took us into their homes, and showed us how they lived. For those of you who like to shop for Jewelry, try Nairobi, but be sure to plan to bargain. At the end of our trip, I had U.S. Dollars, English Pounds, and money of Kenya, so I put it together and purchased beautiful jewelry. The archaeological tour of Tanzania was interesting to those of us who study history. The Ngorangora site is an ecological historical and prehistorical site, not to be missed. Once, we had a picnic, at a picnic table along a river, and our guide warned us to watch for monkeys stealing our food. One lady had a chicken leg in her hand and was waving it around as she was talking. A monkey jumped out of a tree and stole her chicken leg. Another lady, sitting next to the first lady, was not a quick learner, as she had a chicken leg in her hand, and pointed out the monkey thief, and a second monkey jumped across her head and stole her chicken leg. The quiet country side of the wilderness will touch your heart. This website asked when we visited Africa; it was a couple of years ago, but I never wrote a review about it. Today's website only permits one to say they visited a site in 2014. This story is a couple of years old, but it is still valid. Before you go, remember to get out and walk and get your exercise so that you can keep up with the young people!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Silole Sanctuary and NNP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

When I booked our trip to Kenya, I was left with a 24 hour time frame in the Nairobi area and I needed to find something nice to do with my family. I opted for Silole Sanctuary (silolesanctuary.com), thinking it would be close to the park and yet not in the middle of nowhere. What a big mistake, now we need to plan another trip to Kenya just in order to spend more time at Silole. Not only is the villa in a dream location (we were mesmerized by the view from the veranda) but Will, the manager and safari guide of Silole turned out to be a fantastic guide who knows so much more about animals than the average driver. Within a 3 hour game drive we saw all the wildlife you can imagine, including rhinos in various places. No matter what animal we came across, Will always had some interesting facts to tell. Yet, his knowledge is not limited to the animal kingdom. If you want to learn more about local politics, economy, history or modern tribal conflicts including those involving wildlife issues - Will knows it all!

Our next stay in Silole Sanctuary is already planned and confirmed!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

This is no Masai Mara, but it's only a 30 minute trip from downtown Nairobi. Go early and you may see big cats. We were there in the middle of the day. We still saw rhino, giraffe, impala, baboons and zebra. As far as I know, there are no elephants in the park.
It is a good half day trip away from the hectic city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST EXPERIENCE - TOO CUTE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

LOVED interacting with such beautiful creatures. Once of my favorite experiences! Make sure to take pics close up of their faces. They are too funny. Great to do with the kids.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Park also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.