We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: National Parks, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A lot of Lions, Giraffes, Zebra's, Deer's, Wild Pigs, and a lot of green right in city and out of city - both

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nothing to dislike - I go to Kenya as an aid worker every year and always love visiting these places.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The proximity to the capital makes the Nairobi National Park a perfect site for a day safari. We have been twice. We hire a taxi in Nairobi for about $60 (USD). The park fees are a little steep. We always start early and get back to town around noon. We packed a snack for the trip. We saw lions, giraffes, gazelles, rhinos, seas of zebras, and many, many more species in the wild in just a few hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The National Park was one of the best experiences of my life!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I can't rave highly enough about the Nairobi National Park. I had high hopes and it didn't disappoint for a second.
We booked the trip through Intrepid who we found online. We only booked a day before arrival and no websites were taking online bookings but we called up and it was quick and easy to get it all confirmed and to organise a pick up for the next morning.
Our driver Michael was lovely. He was so happy and enthusiastic and had great knowledge of the city and all of the animals - exactly what you would want for a guide.
The park was out of this world, I never realised that all of these wild animals would live so close to the city. We were really lucky, we saw lions, zebra, buffalo, crocodiles, hippos, giraffes and loads more animals.
We went for lunch and then off to the giraffe centre, which was fun but you can't spend much time there and then to Karen Blixen's House - to be honest I hadn't seen the film or read the book, the house was lovely and the guide was very enthusiastic which brought it to life for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice nature park with small number of wild life.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

the park is close to city and easy to reach but is small and have mainle Zebras, Anteloes and Girrafs.
My suggestion: avoid the visit in Nairobi national park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.