We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 199 Attractions in Kenya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had Peter as a guide. He was fantastic. Visited at day time which meant than some of the animals were out of sight. Fantastic to maintain a parl almost in the middle of the city

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    51
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“18 guest safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a wonderful safari especially sighting Cheetah and leopard meeting and charging at each other and the lions were watching keenly at Masai Mara.Oh!everyone was anticipating for the worst to happen.
Bathing at Mombasa beach and touching wildlife marine creatures. Wauh.
Sheldrick Falls guided walking with rangers watching live game. It was fantastic and we took bush lunch in the middle of the Park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“as of may 2013. it is open but under repairment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Garden was good. Guidance also good.
But we do not see inside of the house
It will be full open after next dry season

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wait till refurbishment is completed-end of June 2013(?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

05 May 2013 Currently the 'Museum' is semi-open during refurbishment. Four weeks ago the guide did show us round the inside of the house, but all the furniture, carpets, pictures, etc, had been carefully wrapped up to protect them. He had a very worn out guide book but told us there would be fresh copies once they reopened. Today I revisited but got there after the house/museum closing time, so I don't know whether they are allowing visitors into the house just now. Staff were replacing furniture so it looks possible that it will be open very soon. Even so the security staff allowed us to view the outside of the house, the original coffee processing machinery and the very hills she described..."I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills", and there they are! Albeit now with six large wind turbines. This is a must see visit for anyone with a real interest in Karen Blixen, whether engendered by the movie or her books or the legend. The place reeks of atmosphere-this is 'hair up the back of the neck' stuff. Now also see her other home at Rungsted Kyst, north of Copenhagen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to the national park,which started with the 'safari walk',saw all kinds of animals at close range....very close indeed!lions,leopards,rhinoceros,buffalo,i llama,giraffes,crocodiles,etc
Had a scary experience however when our car got stuck in the mud and we were stranded inside the wild reserve for over two hours...getting dark fast!I knew the wild animals came out to hunt when it got dark so I was petrified!Got on the car horn and started honking like a crazed person,I pressed down on that horn for over 20 mins nonstop till eventually some reserve officers heard the ruckus and came to investigate!Luckily our driver who had gone off to seek help soon returned with other people.
We eventually left there by 6.45 pm,as we were leaving the spot,a big lion suddenly sauntered in front of our car!I tremble to think what would have happened if it had stumbled on us some 20 mins earlier!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi National Park also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.