We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait till refurbishment is completed-end of June 2013(?)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 201 Attractions in Kenya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wait till refurbishment is completed-end of June 2013(?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

05 May 2013 Currently the 'Museum' is semi-open during refurbishment. Four weeks ago the guide did show us round the inside of the house, but all the furniture, carpets, pictures, etc, had been carefully wrapped up to protect them. He had a very worn out guide book but told us there would be fresh copies once they reopened. Today I revisited but got there after the house/museum closing time, so I don't know whether they are allowing visitors into the house just now. Staff were replacing furniture so it looks possible that it will be open very soon. Even so the security staff allowed us to view the outside of the house, the original coffee processing machinery and the very hills she described..."I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills", and there they are! Albeit now with six large wind turbines. This is a must see visit for anyone with a real interest in Karen Blixen, whether engendered by the movie or her books or the legend. The place reeks of atmosphere-this is 'hair up the back of the neck' stuff. Now also see her other home at Rungsted Kyst, north of Copenhagen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to the national park,which started with the 'safari walk',saw all kinds of animals at close range....very close indeed!lions,leopards,rhinoceros,buffalo,i llama,giraffes,crocodiles,etc
Had a scary experience however when our car got stuck in the mud and we were stranded inside the wild reserve for over two hours...getting dark fast!I knew the wild animals came out to hunt when it got dark so I was petrified!Got on the car horn and started honking like a crazed person,I pressed down on that horn for over 20 mins nonstop till eventually some reserve officers heard the ruckus and came to investigate!Luckily our driver who had gone off to seek help soon returned with other people.
We eventually left there by 6.45 pm,as we were leaving the spot,a big lion suddenly sauntered in front of our car!I tremble to think what would have happened if it had stumbled on us some 20 mins earlier!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Biggest problem is price for non-residents. Crazy high and you don't see Elephants and may or may not see Lions. Most likely not--but still charge you as if you were at Masai Mara. Definitely not worth Park Fee. If KWS wants to ruin people coming to parks--then keep increasing park fees. Not sure what they are doing with money, as more elephants were poached and killed this year in Kenya. Sad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My kids were very excited to see some of the animals they always seen on TV. The park attendants were very friendly and helpful.

A must visit when we come back to nairobi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have wanted to visit this national park for some time now and we finally got there a few weeks ago, after a small issue at the main entrance we finally got into the park and I have to say we had a great day.
With the back drop from the city, it seems strange but there we loads of animals to see.
The place is large, so we bought a map at the entrance, shame it never had pictures of which animals where in the park so we could mark them off as we seen them like other places we have been to, so it was a reasonable price.
The orphanage was an added bonus as we got there as they were just feeding the animals at 3 PM, so go to see 4 of the big 5 getting fed.
In summary, a great place if you haven't got time to go further a field like Sweet Waters or Sambura.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.