We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to the national park,which started with the 'safari walk',saw all kinds of animals at close range....very close indeed!lions,leopards,rhinoceros,buffalo,i llama,giraffes,crocodiles,etc
Had a scary experience however when our car got stuck in the mud and we were stranded inside the wild reserve for over two hours...getting dark fast!I knew the wild animals came out to hunt when it got dark so I was petrified!Got on the car horn and started honking like a crazed person,I pressed down on that horn for over 20 mins nonstop till eventually some reserve officers heard the ruckus and came to investigate!Luckily our driver who had gone off to seek help soon returned with other people.
We eventually left there by 6.45 pm,as we were leaving the spot,a big lion suddenly sauntered in front of our car!I tremble to think what would have happened if it had stumbled on us some 20 mins earlier!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Biggest problem is price for non-residents. Crazy high and you don't see Elephants and may or may not see Lions. Most likely not--but still charge you as if you were at Masai Mara. Definitely not worth Park Fee. If KWS wants to ruin people coming to parks--then keep increasing park fees. Not sure what they are doing with money, as more elephants were poached and killed this year in Kenya. Sad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My kids were very excited to see some of the animals they always seen on TV. The park attendants were very friendly and helpful.

A must visit when we come back to nairobi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have wanted to visit this national park for some time now and we finally got there a few weeks ago, after a small issue at the main entrance we finally got into the park and I have to say we had a great day.
With the back drop from the city, it seems strange but there we loads of animals to see.
The place is large, so we bought a map at the entrance, shame it never had pictures of which animals where in the park so we could mark them off as we seen them like other places we have been to, so it was a reasonable price.
The orphanage was an added bonus as we got there as they were just feeding the animals at 3 PM, so go to see 4 of the big 5 getting fed.
In summary, a great place if you haven't got time to go further a field like Sweet Waters or Sambura.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“first night in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our trip to Kenya in 2011 was an experience organized by Mango Safari that could never be matched! Nairobi had lots to see the first day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.