We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi National Park” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 201 Attractions in Kenya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nairobi National Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Biggest problem is price for non-residents. Crazy high and you don't see Elephants and may or may not see Lions. Most likely not--but still charge you as if you were at Masai Mara. Definitely not worth Park Fee. If KWS wants to ruin people coming to parks--then keep increasing park fees. Not sure what they are doing with money, as more elephants were poached and killed this year in Kenya. Sad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My kids were very excited to see some of the animals they always seen on TV. The park attendants were very friendly and helpful.

A must visit when we come back to nairobi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have wanted to visit this national park for some time now and we finally got there a few weeks ago, after a small issue at the main entrance we finally got into the park and I have to say we had a great day.
With the back drop from the city, it seems strange but there we loads of animals to see.
The place is large, so we bought a map at the entrance, shame it never had pictures of which animals where in the park so we could mark them off as we seen them like other places we have been to, so it was a reasonable price.
The orphanage was an added bonus as we got there as they were just feeding the animals at 3 PM, so go to see 4 of the big 5 getting fed.
In summary, a great place if you haven't got time to go further a field like Sweet Waters or Sambura.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“first night in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our trip to Kenya in 2011 was an experience organized by Mango Safari that could never be matched! Nairobi had lots to see the first day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You haven't experienced Kenya until you've kissed a giraffe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved all three places to give you the true feel of what Kenya was and is all about. Guides at all three places were excellent. If you have only a short time in Kenya, this gives you a wonderful overview of what's in store, when you can stay longer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.