We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms but superb staff - an excellent budget hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nubian Oasis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nubian Oasis Hotel to your Saves list
Nubian Oasis Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nubian Oasis Hotel
Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic rooms but superb staff - an excellent budget hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in Nubian Oasis' sister hostel in Dahab so chose to stay here in Luxor. Rooms were basic but everything worked, and the location was great for us - not too far from the centre and easy to find.

The staff made this place - they really took care of us, sorting out buses, trips, general advice - even getting a friend to pick us up in Hurghada after we left!

Can't thank them enough as they really made our stay in Luxor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our stay in Nubian Oasis really ruined our stay in Luxor. The most frustrating thing was the fact that there was no airconditioning but only a small fan (which didn't help much because it was 45 C). The beds were awful: just two thin matresses which caused us backaches the next morning. The bathroom was absolutely full of ants and was really disgusting. The lock of the room was so old that it couldn't be locked, which made us feel quite unsafe at night. The guy at reception was trying to help us, but it still didn't work out. Even though this hotel might be the cheapest in Luxor, I would really recommend looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My stay in the hotel was very pleasant. The rooms are yes, very basic, but if it's Luxor that You are there for, the room doesn't really matter. The staff is really hospitable, they don't only do what the profession expects, but really make sure You get along well in Luxor. Several times I was taken to the city center by the manager's motor bike:) and thanks to the staff I got invited to an egyptian street-wedding - an event not to be missed in Egypt!

The breakfast is the best in Egypt low-budget hotels. Yoghurt, omlett with salat and bread with cheese and jam!

The rooftop is really nice and cosy and a great meeting place.

Location is simply 5 minute walk form majour attractions and still in a quiet part of Luxor! I didn't even use my ear-pluga while sleeping.

Some of the reviews here are quite dramatic, but I had a very nice experiance!
Shukran Nubian Oasis Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luján
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I was there almost a year ago and it was the best hostel/hotel where I stayed during my jurney in Egypt. It's the best deal for backpackers in Luxor (mainly considering the very cheap price), and all the things that does not have (because it's far away from been a 5 stars hotel) are well compensated by the kindness and good disposition of the people that work in it. For example, they helped me find bus tickets to Cairo, because I couldn't get train tickets. I forgot to post a review before about it, but it's never too late and I think I owed it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

It ain't the Ritz - but for the price it's OK. For backpackers etc, it's more than OK, but if you're looking for a bit of comfort and luxury don't stay here. We met some of the best people on our trip at the rooftop bar of this hotel, it's such a great spot. The staff are also brilliant and the breakfast was great too.

  • Liked — Roof top bar, staff
  • Disliked — Beds, bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We unfortunately only got to stay one night at the Nubian Oasis Hotel, but it was very enjoyable. They organized both a driver and bikes to take us to the sights that we wanted to see. They picked us up from the train station, and took care of finding us tickets home on a busy holiday week.

The rooftop terrace is very nice, and everyone was very friendly.

Really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Where should I begin! This hotel was a nightmare for my 27 year old son and me on our adventure to Egypt. When I booked this online I should have taken a hint at the "low" price of $8 a night, but the reviews on Trip Advisor were very positive and all said it was a great value . It was close to the train station which was a plus but the lobby was not attractive at all. The room we had was awful. First of all the key didn't work so it took about 3-5 minutes to get into the room. Upon arrival my son went to the bathroom to wash his hands and his shoes got all wet because there was a large hole in the pipe. The shower had no curtain and was crawling with ants. The electricity went out for 2 1/2 hours after we arrived so we had no air(overhead fan) and no lights. We checked out before spending a night. This place might work fine for backpackers but for us it was a disaster.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty rooms and bathroom and lack of electricity
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nubian Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Oasis Hotel

Address: Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nubian Oasis Hotel at Luxor is a reputable and friendly backpacker hang out. We offer shared and private rooms all with private bathrooms. Breakfast is served every morning fresh juice, eggs, tea and bread. Our facilities include a roof top garden with bar, satellite TV, music and all the SHEESHA you can smoke. We are conveniently located on Shari Mohammed Farid Street, only a 5 minute walk to the train station and Luxor Temple. Also, near pharmacy , bank , restaurants, bar, supermarket, student cards office, bookshop, and shopping bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Nubian Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nubian Oasis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nubian Oasis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.