We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For us, perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nur el-Gurna Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nur el-Gurna Hotel
Save
You added Nur el-Gurna Hotel to your Saves list
Gurna, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“For us, perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Can't imagine a better place to stay in the Luxor area. The garden alone makes it the ideal retreat from the demands of site-seeing. Within walking distance are some of the best Luxor has to offer: Medinat Habou temple, the Ramasseum, and Deir El Medinah, where the workers who built the Pharaonic tombs and temples lived and where you can visit the small tombs they decorated for themselves, modest in scale but as richly painted as the royal tombs in the nearby Valley of the Kings. To visit the temples in Luxor itself, you take a 10 minute taxi ride (hotel can sort this out at pretty short notice) to the public ferry at Gezira, which runs regularly back and forth across the Nile. The family who run (and live in) the hotel are hugely helpful and welcoming and play an admirable role in the local community. Meals are simple but always tasty and generous: they make good use of fresh vegetables and local bread, cheese, chicken and duck. Architecture is also simple and typical: mud-brick walls, palm frond ceilings with wood balconies and small modern bathrooms. Hot water was sometimes intermittent but so what? Can't imagine being more comfortable than we were, in all respects, at Nur el Gurna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Beautiful, romantic, more like staying with the family than a hotel, and the
mudbrick architecture makes you feel great. My favourite hotel in Luxor (I've tried about seven) and worth the hassle of coming to Egypt. Unlike many that claim it, it really is ultra- tranquil, across from the ticket office, walking distance to several temples.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Great location for exploring the Wrst Bank on foot. Impressive hospitality. Delicious food. The accommodation looks a little primitive at first by western standards (mud brick rooms, fairly basic yet homely) - but the benefits are considerable (the mud brick normalises temperatures and moisture, making it an incredibly comfortable and healthy environment, even so near to the desert).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoran Desert AZ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Disclaimer: if you only stay in high end hotels, this is not for you. There are lots of 5 star hotels in Luxor, you'll have no problem finding one. However, if you are looking for a unique and truly Egyptian experience then I strongly recommend Nour El Gourna hotel on the west bank of Luxor (actually in the town of Gourna, near Valley of the Kings, Deir El Medina and the mortuary temples). The hotel is a small compound of adobe buildings and it's utterly charming, and possibly the most interesting hotel in the country. Rooms are good size with private bathrooms, and mosquito netting on the beds gives it a romantic touch (we were there in Feb., no bugs but not sure what it's like in the summer). The owner is well known in the area and spoken of highly as a good man and a man of good character. He was a delight, as was everyone associated with the hotel. The location is fantastic, directly behind the ongoing excavation of Amenhotep's temple and the Colossi of Memnon, across the road from the ticket office for West bank temples and sites, and a lovely easy walk to Medinet Habu, the best preserved of all Egyptian mortuary temples. The hotel is extremely private, in its own small oasis of palm trees and bouganvilla, and the restaurant is fantastic; the food is exceptional and they are extremely generous with portions. I highly, highly recommend this hotel. One note to be aware of; taxi drivers on the east bank of the Nile (where Luxor and Karnak temples are located) may not know where this hotel is, because it's very small. Direct them to the west bank ticket office, and once there tell them to ask anyone-they'll know exactly where it is.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Quaint Hotel with great staff and a very pushy taxi driver.

Great to share my room with Gecko's

In general very clean

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed here after two weeks in the Chaos of Cairo. It was a delight to be somewhere so quiet, peaceful, and authentic. The hotel is right in between desert and farm land. The resulting quiet was heavenly! We called ahead and the manager was kind enough to send a taxi to pick us up at the train station. The taxi driver ended up being a relative of the owner who stayed at the main hotel down the street, so we were able to call for a cab the entire length of our stay. Most of the staff were related which added to the coziness of the stay.

We stayed in their largest suite for 500 lbs a night with our one year old daughter. The staff was so friendly with her! The suite was the perfect size for a family: A large bed with fabulous comforter and mosquito netting, two extra small beds that double as couches, a table and chairs, a lovely tiled bathroom with tub, and a private patio with chairs and table. All the furniture is made from palm branches and the walls are a beautiful soft edged earth tone. Arched windows with shutters created beautiful light and ambiance. I loved being in a building built in traditional Egyptian style. It was so refreshing after the glitzy tourism in Cairo.

The meals were lovely if somewhat limited choices. You could have chicken or steak with many courses including soup, rice, vegetables etc. It was a bit European for me; I would have preferred more traditional food, but it was delicious and filling. If felt like the staff catered to the often French crowd. We often ate at the main hotel Nur al Balad which has a larger restaurant which is open all day.

The only odd thing was that the manager took our passports when we first arrived and headed back to the main hotel (which is a bit of a walk away). We had to call him a couple hours later to get them back. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel ify ou want to stay somewhere peaceful and authentic.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Syria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed at Nour el-Gurna for one night while I was visiting Luxor. This place isn't like anything else I've ever stayed at. Made from mudbrick, it's a one of kind for the average tourist. The place itself couldn't be in a better location for checking out the Valley of the Kings and Al-Deir Al-Bahari Temple - which are on the same side of the Nile.

The hotel is tiny. Only a handful of well-maintained rooms. Considering the fact that the place is constructed out of dirt, it's very clean and hugely endearing. The rooms have bug nets, mine had an new AC unit (which was a funny sight to see on the side of a mud wall, beneath a thatch ceiling), a clean bathroom with fresh towels, soap and toilet paper (a perk in Egypt). The bed was firm, but comfortable. There were many windows to open for a hot breeze of desert air, and there was also a balcony equipped with two chairs and view of the surrounding area.

We loved this place. We've stayed in a variety of places and have enjoyed many of them, but this one was particularly memorable. The guy who managed the place while we were there was so bashful and shy - but proud of his hotel, of the EXCELLENT homemade food it serves, and of his work. He prepared a dinner for us at the time we set, arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport and take us to the docks later that night to go to the other side of the Nile's bank in Luxor. He was such a great guy and really made our stay at this place perfect. If you will be travelling in the area and don't want to stay at some obscenely expensive place (and you don't mind the mudbrick situation of course), this place is a must. Very, very cool.

  • Liked — The management and the overall uniqueness
  • Disliked — Nothing - it exceeded my expectations
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nur el-Gurna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nur el-Gurna Hotel

Address: Gurna, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Number of rooms: 283
Also Known As:
Nur El Gurna Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nur el-Gurna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.