We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool. And staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gezira Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Gezira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Gezira Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Geziret-El-Beirat, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great pool. And staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Used this hotel when I stayed at a local flat daily. I paid 15le for the day and trust me this is the best pool on the west bank !!!

Great pool, great cheap food, nice staff especially Saied and Ali.

Always had a smile on their faces and sold ice cold beers for only 10le.

Got talking to a couple of Brits that moved out there and they use the pool daily.

Try it !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife & I spent a few days at El Gezira Hotel. The family room was spacious, clean & very comfortable. We loved the location 1 minutes walk to the river. The rooftop restaurant had superb food, we really enjoyed our breakfasts also. This Hotel gave us a feeling of being close to the traditional Egytpian people & culture. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Marmoud organised tours & sunrise hot air ballooning with precision. We enjoyed the swimming pool, the free internet and the obvious care our hotel staff showed us & we would love to return to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

There are only eleven rooms in this homely hotel, all pristine and with private bathroom. The place has an old fashioned feel, a kind of quaintness, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The roof terrace with a view of the Nile is lovely and a basic breakfast - included in the room price - is served here. In the evenings, the terrace is a simple restaurant serving typical Egyptian food in a variety of set menus. (approx. EGP 40). Portions are large. Rooms are cleaned and fresh towels provided every morning. The hotel can also arrange bicycle hire, (although there are two or three shops on the main street of the village which also provide this service), laundry (EGP 5 per item), taxis, and arrange airport pick-ups and drop offs.
It's quiet (the whole of the west bank is quiet, but there are plenty of restaurants etc.) and just a short walk from the local ferry to the east bank (EGP 1 p.p. - an excellent place to get small change if you're running out). Double room with bathroom EGP 150.
Al Gezira's sister hotel - Gezira Gardens - organises 'Egyptian Nights'. A buffet style meal, live music, dervish dance and belly dance for EGP 150 p.p. The food and music are very good. The dancing is OK if you don't expect anything truely authentic - tourists are encouraged to get up and have a go, and this can last an age. At 22.30 there was no sign of the belly dancer so we left without seeing her.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Room 205 at the end of the first floor had a small sitting area and seemed large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

this hotel is very good value for money. strategically located near the port just walking distance so you can cross from east bank to west bank anytime of the day. The staff are friendly and will help you the best way they can. Would love to stay here again in my next trip to Luxor.
downside=mosquitoes in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I didn't stay at El Gezira while in Luxor but I did eat at the roof-top restaurant several times. The food is delicious and the staff are very welcoming. It's also a great atmosphere and view! I would highly recommend a meal at El Gezira, at least!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were here for 3 nights and loved it very much. It is a nice hotel, good rooftop terrace, you can eat here very good and bring your own drinks if you which to do so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa34
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I took a group of 14 students to saty aty the El Gezira hotel Gamal and his staff were fantastic the studnets had a fantastic good value trip. the amenities in the hotel were great and the omlettes in a morning lovely. I would one again liek to thank all the staff at the hotel for making this trip a really enjoyable experience

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Gezira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Gezira Hotel

Also Known As:
El Gezira Luxor
Address: Geziret-El-Beirat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Gezira Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Gezira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gezira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.