We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasslefree stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oasis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oasis Hotel
Mohamed Farid St, Luxor 10000, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hasslefree stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. From the first moment we stepped in until the moment we left the staff were so helpful and friendly. After being a bit timid about coming to egypt for the first time Hassan and the staff at the Oasis put our mind at ease and made it a very enjoyable, hasslefree stay. The free sunset tea on the rooftop is a great way to see the surrounding area with Hassan helping us organise all the activities for our trip with cheaper than street prices. Its not a 5 star resort but is great value for money. Ignore the bad reviews as they are probably for the dodgy similar named hotel down the street. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
36
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best VFM hotel i've ever come across in my life. For 40 egyptian pounds, i got a double bed room, with working air con and ensuite facilities. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is average. The tours arranged by them are also nice and are not over priced.
The only problem for us was that our room was on 3rd or 4th floor and the hotel has no elevator, but for 40 L.E you its worth it, the bell boy was very friendly and carried the luggage all the way up and down for us. The free breakfast was just OK, and the manager who we met on our last day was very warm and friendly, they allowed us to use the washroom facilities even after our checkout.
The hostel is also located within few metres of luxor temple and u can easily take a white bus for 0.5 L.E towards karnak temple.
.

Room Tip: Try something on the 2nd floor, dont go too up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The service and dedication of the staff is unmatched in most places I've travelled to. One staff member went as far as running back and forth to the train station to try and get us seats on either a bus or train to get to Cairo. Everyone was so kind, welcoming, and honest. Hassan is always available and extremely caring of his guests. The accomodation itself was perfect: clean, and private. There's even a roof to enjoy the sunset! I would recommend ordering the Falafel on the rooftop restaurant- so good!
Honestly, everyone going to Luxor should skip out on the big names and come to this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kecskemet, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there in early April 2013 with our two young children. This is a budget hotel catering for backpackers. Rooms are very simple but clean and the roof terrace is a wonderful place to meet people. The hotel management is incredibly helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to help. They offer free tea and snacks at sunset, a typical breakfast, and some good value tours although we haven't tried them first hand. Prices are very low all round.
Altogether, a highly recommended budget option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed 5 nights here while visiting Luxor. Hassan picked us up at the train station at 5:30 am and immediately brought us to our room which was nice after our long train ride. The beds are hard and there wasn't enough water for both of us to shower but other then that it's in a great location, offers tours and staff is always willing to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We found this hotel by accident as we where already staying elsewhere in Luxor my partner was looking for a toilet in Luxor when we found the Oasis hotel, we asked the very friendly owner Hassan and he obliged by making us very welcome into his hotel, we ended up staying for lunch which was fantastic food, on the open top terrace. We became friends with Hassan who arranged all our trips whilst in Luxor with a fantastic private guide Mohamed and his driver Ashraf at a great price taking in 2 days at the Valley of the Kings and a trip to Awan,Edfu and Nubian Village. We cannot comment on the rooms as we never stayed but the sevice from Mohamed was fantastic whilst enjoying a cold beer on the terrace roof top and great food. Not forgetting Hassan's hospitality, friendship and kindness. Thank you Hassan for making our stay in Luxor so enjoyable, we hope to see you again David and Tracey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good location.(near Luxor station)
Room was clean and lovely.
Oasis staffs are so helpful.
They like old friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Address: Mohamed Farid St, Luxor 10000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis is popular with backpackers and travelers from all over the globe. The hotel has a pleasant rooftop terrace with great views of Luxor. Oasis hotel is located in the heart of Luxor on the main road. It is just a 3-minute's walk from the train station. We can meet and pick you up at the train station, airport or any other location in Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.