We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hotel right downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horus Hotel

Horus Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horus Hotel
Karnak Temple Street | Behind the Temple of Luxor, Luxor 22222, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel right downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There's nothing special about this hotel other than the location. It's looks out over the Karnak Temple so you should try to get a room at the top. It's about 3 blocks from the train station which was perfect for me. I stayed 3 nights on one trip and couldn't complain. The staff was very helpful, but I don't know that they spoke much English as they only spoke to me in Arabic. There was a complimentary breakfast, 1 egg, 1 piece of toast and cup of coffee.
The McDonald's right up the street was the closest place I could find with Internet. It's right in the middle of Karnak so if you want to get to Nile (West Bank) you should walk around the North side of temple. Quicker and safer. Walk out the front doors and turn right. Be careful of beggars and people that want to scam you for money around the hotel, but they are all harmless.

Room Tip: The higher the better, the view is great, but make sure you take a room that is on the Temple side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here because our tour agent failed to mention that the abydos trip was finishes right after lunch and train was at 1030 pm..
Poor logistics planning for their part ...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Have nothing good to say about this hotel apart from the location.
I am a travel photographer and am used to stayng in ALL kinds of accomodation. Was going to stay 8 nights left after two.
The place is dirty, toilet leaked on to floor, shower not cleaned, dust on every surface of room. View from balcony good to temple, but right opposite mosque.
Staff were really rude and shouted at me. Breakfast not worth bothering. Lifts not working, limited time electric was put on for fan in room as no A/C, (was 44C in day). No towels. No wonder the place was empty!
I had chosen it for photo opportunity, not that great. There are much better views from the Emilio (great pool) and Susanna great views small pool.
Just wanted to warn others
Avoid this place, it deserves to close unless they take action and clear it up. Its only surviving as its opposite Luxor Temple.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

POSITIVES:
We stayed for 10 days. Had a lovely balcony view to the Luxor Temple. paid 7 Pounds Sterling per night for a 3 bed en-suit. Close to the local market. Lots of shops. Taxi rank right in front of the hotel. Horse and cart also in front of the hotel.Post office is just around the corner. Train station is 10 minute walk. Airport is about 20 minutes away on car. the river Nile is about 5 minutes walk from hotel. We always had hot water. Staff were helpful providing hot water for tea. Nice peacock pattern on your towels made by the cleaning staff.

NEGATIVES:
Lift does not work. We were on the third floor with a pram. Ants infesting the room and a few roaches but was under control with ant and roach powder. Bathroom needed a good scrub. GRIME. we had to get detergents to clean the bathroom out ourselves. The cleaners used to make the room more dirty than what we cleaned because they use a dirty mop. We had to tell them not to clean our room. Beds could have been better as the springs from the mattress were sticking out the sides.

CONCLUSION:
You get what you pay for. If you do chose this hotel make sure you take your own portable kettle or be prepared to give tips for service to the staff. I recommend this hotel as a cheap budget hotel. It is a 2 star hotel with a TV. Much better than Nefertiti hotel for less price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Well for under £10 for 2 for the nights, the location was worth the money alone. AC didnt work and looked like it had'nt for a while, the shower was a dribble and bathroom could do with a good scrub but beds were clean. After paying backpacker money I have no true complaints. Its location is excellent, between hotel and luxor temple there is only a large open park space filled with egyptian families having a chat and a play, so view from room excellent. Its about 10mins in taxi to Karnak 10 min walk to train station and 5mins to nile front with bars and restaurants. The man to trust in that part of town is Ali no doubt he will introduce himself, salt of the earth. Gave us a complete run down on prices and what was what and was bang on with the lot. As the main road passes outside it is both busy and noisy (egyptians are horn mad) in the day with coaches visiting the temple.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Disgusting, that is the only comment I wish to make!!!!!

  • Liked — Getting out of there
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Good location but definitely to avoid!
Very poor hygiene, WC leaking.
When we arrived we asked receptionist if it was possible to get a towel and we were told that maybe the following day they would have arranged one.
The following day another receptionist we asked told us that it was not possible to have any towel because "not important".
He claimed that other guests "did not appreciate towels" since they trew them on the floor after having used them. So, he said, the hotel decided not to provide them any more
In some guides you ll find written the place has been recently refurbished, which is not the case the furniture is in complete disarray

  • Liked — very good location
  • Disliked — lack of hygiene
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horus Hotel

Address: Karnak Temple Street | Behind the Temple of Luxor, Luxor 22222, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel in the city of Luxor where you can see all of the Luxor Temple from your room. Also you will see the Nile River and some of the west bank from your room balcony. Friendly staff, safe place; you feel you are in your home. We do our best for you arrival as guest and you Leaves as friend. Horus hotel in center of town and the tourist area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Horus Hotel to your Saves list