We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nefertiti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nefertiti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are a little small but very functional. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The location is very good, the rooftop overlooks the Nile and Luxor temple and the souk is immediately behind. The train station is in walking distance. The rooftop terrace is very nice, spacious, has wifi and comfortable seats. The restaurant has pretty good food too. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti Hotel .

Of course your kind feedback about the staff is highly appreciated and will encourage our team members to continue for excellence.

Looking forward to serving you once again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    131
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
68
169
107
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very central location situated next to the avenue of the sphinxes and the Nile. Room was very clean, towels were changed daily. The roof terrace resturant has great views, buffet breakfast very tasty. The highlight was dinner in the evening, we tried all of the specialities from camel to duck and were never disappointed. All of the staff were extremely helpful and we booked 4 days of trips through the hotel. Ahmet our guide was brilliant, great knowledge and humour made our time with him very enjoyable. I would highly reccommend the Nefertiti, Egypt is a great country, enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Nefertiti hotel for your recent stay and for your valued time which you spent to feed us back about your recent experience at our hotel.

It is great to read that the courteous and professional of the entire team members exceeded your high expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The rooms were clean and just right for what we needed for a family of four. The location by Luxor temple and the bazaar made this a great experience. The roof terrace was a great place to spend some time. The rooms were very good. Nice, roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again to “your home away from home” in Egypt.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkberrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The people are friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is good.

The highlight of the hotel was definitely the terrace. Every evening, you can go and drink a cocktail, eat lovely food and smoke the shisha with a view over Luxor Temple and the River Nile and if you like, you can dive right into the souq of Luxor and visit the town. There are so many things to buy and so much to visit. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quieter room. The people at reception are so friendly, there shouldn't be any pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again to “your home away from home” in Egypt.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Nefertiti again - our fourth time - and this time with a friend. The welcome was great and as always the owners and staff were friendly and helpful.
This is a budget hotel, with bright, clean and air-conditioned rooms. The roof terrace is a great place to eat and drink and has a great view of the Nile, the Avenue of the Sphinxes and of Luxor Temple, just a short distance away.
It's situated just off the main Souk, so really convenient for everything and has its own restaurant. Free wifi is an advantage and the breakfasts (included in the price of the room) are great.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Nefertiti hotel for the fourth time , Of course your kind feedback about Nefertiti hotel is highly appreciated .

I shared your comments with each one of team, and they are so happy to know that their personalized service has ended up to your enjoyment.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Nefertiti hotel for the fifth time .

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are still smiling and talking about our wonderful trip to Luxor and what made it so great was staying at Nefertiti and using the hotel-linked tour guide. We stayed a week in the hotel and had 3 rooms for our 6 family members (myself with 4 kids and my brother). My children are 23, 18, 10 and 7 and so our interests were varied but every person had a great stay here. The rooms are very clean and each day the staff would create fun towel creatures on the bed (no simply swan here). They used the children's toy dolls and things as well and it always made them laugh to get back after trips out to see what was waiting. The rooms we had were wood floors, lovely wood ceiling, and neat murals painted on the walls. Basic furnishings but everything you could need (no hair dryer fyi) and very clean. Our rooms were on the top floor with the roof terrace so at night we could put the little ones to bed and still see the door while sitting out for a drink. The terrace is great -- overlooks the Nile and Luxor Temple. Best spot in town for seeing sunsets and then when the temple lights up at night, and all the horse carriages, and people coming and going to the souk come out, it's fun to sit back with a cold drink and watch. I can't really say enough about Aladin and his staff. They were always above and beyond helpful and friendly. We got to know names, shared contacts and made friends! They truly helped us with everything and took all stress out of traveling around or finding places to eat/shop/laundry.... And on top of that the price is so reasonable -- we easily were able to afford private tour guide and private van to go anywhere we wanted because all of his prices (hotel and tours) are so reasonable. The hotel is next to the tourist souk which is great for buying gifts etc but the people are very pushy and lots of pressure to buy. But if you make it thru there you can walk (5 min) to the regular souk with food and goods for locals. This is really neat to see (get the hotel tour guide Hassan to take you at night as he's a wealth of knowledge) and less hassle. Next to the hotel are multiple shops to buy water/drinks/snacks/pharmacy items and beer/wine. The food in the hotel restaurant (roof top is great eating) is very good and on par with any place in the city. So good food, clean rooms but what sets this hotel apart is the service -- can't beat it. Please go. It's safe in Luxor and will provide trip of a lifetime kind of experience.

Room Tip: If you have children who can sleep alone (not very little) then ask for top floor so you can sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you very much for having chosen Nefertiti hotel for your recent stay and for your valued time you spent to feed us back about your recent experience at our hotel.

I could not find a suitable words to express about our appreciation for your great comments & supportive remarks, of course your comments will encourage all of us to continue deliver excellence service to our guests.

I shared personally your review with the entire team members and they appreciate it so much.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place is a real gem! On luxor's east bank this hotel sits right across from the Luxor Temple. From the hotel's rooftop terrace you have a wonderful view of the Temple, Nile and West Bank mountain ranges.

The staff are all super friendly and helpful, from reception to housekeeping.

Breakfast is the best we have had in Egypt, with lots of fresh products and a cook who will make you a fresh omelette.

Room was spacious and clean and had a king size bed. Most hotels in Egypt only have two single beds. prices were also very competitive making this place excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you very much for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed with us during your stay and the friendless of our staff have ended up to your entire satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefertiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.