We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for solo women travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nefertiti Hotel to your Saves list
Nefertiti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for solo women travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at Nefatiti Hotel, also arranged itinery with Aladin Tours based here. Cannot give enough praise to the efficient, friendly and caring service. Great place to stay, feels safe and welcoming and relaxed, exactly whats needed after a hard days sightseeing. Aladin Tours arranged a Nile cruise which was perfect, took into account my boat preference and all my guides were good (but ask for Hassan if hes free!). A great place to meet people, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Nefertiti hotel for your recent stay and for your valued time you spent to feed us back about your recent experience with Nefertiti hotel and Aladin tours. of course your comments will encourage all of us to continue deliver excellence service to our guests.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    135
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
69
173
118
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although I didn't stay at this hotel, I did have the pleasure of enjoying its wonderful rooftop. The food was great, the staff was very friendly, and I could tell that it was a very well-run hotel. Unfortunately my tour group stayed next door at a run-down hotel. I wish we could've stayed at the Nefertiti Hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your visit to Nefertiti hotel and of course for your kind review,

It`s our pleasure to welcoming you in the next time to stay in our hotel and enjoy your holiday with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My tour group stayed at the much cheaper and more run down property next door. We stumbled on this hotel while walking in the alley and were immediately drawn to its charm, fun décorations and gorgeous roof top terrace (unlike ours that has astro turf and a bath sized pool)!! There was a beautiful Australian girl working the front desk and every single hallway and space was beautiful with painted murals and lovely staff! Don't hesitate to book! Oh and the food was excellent too! (we never saw the rooms)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your visit to Nefertiti hotel and your kind feedback.

Hopefully next time we will welcoming you to stay in our hotel and enjoy your holiday with us.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a really a nice 10 days stay there, all the staff is lovely and so friendly, there is a nice breakfastbuffet on the roof with nice view to the Luxortempel and the Nile. Room are small but cosy and nice with fridge. The internetconnection is very bad and you loose much time just to send a mail and in the night they stop it, this should really change because they anouncefree interne tconnection in the web. I tried everything , spoke to them, but still very bad, so don't count on it if you need connection you just go somewhere else....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your positive comment about Nefertiti Hotel and of course your kind feedback about the staff is highly appreciated and will encourage our team members to continue work for excellence.

We do apologize for the Internet connection issue, but actually it's mostly out of our hand due to a technical issue from our server provider and it's not back to the hotel only it's happen in all of Egypt.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff is what makes the Nefertiti Hotel really outstanding. I had the unfortunate displeasure of losing my credit card in Luxor; when I got back to the hotel, the woman working at the concierge desk let me use the hotel's computer to straighten out my account, despite being in the middle of doing work for the hotel. Plus, when we came back from a day out, the cleaning crew had fashioned a crocodile out of the fresh towels and a scarf that I'd left sitting out. Really exceptional people.

I stayed here in mid-March with my roommate and his cousin; the price between the three of us was more than affordable. The location is pretty good, being right in the market district. Although for some people this can be a real turn off (expect to be hassled if you walk through it by people who want you to buy their wares), this is not something you can avoid on a trip to a heavily touristy area, particularly one where the economy is in desperate need of rejuvenation. It's also right by the Temple of Luxor, and not too far from Karnak; I can't say anything about the taxi services they offer, since we never made use of them, but they did pick us up from the train station at no additional cost. Also, we were allowed to check out late and pay for a half-day when we were leaving; they're very willing to accommodate for travel plans.

The hotel is also joined with the neighboring restaurant, which serves up some pretty good food (try the camel, seriously) and offers an impressive rooftop view of sunset/the west bank. The air conditioning works really well, same with the television most of the time. Most of the programming is in Arabic, although there was at least one station in English, one in German, and a few in Italian. As far as languages go, the staff is confident in English, and when we stayed, they had an employee from the Netherlands as well who worked at the front desk.

The only complaint I can make is that the bathroom floors get really wet when using the shower, but this is such a minor annoyance that it's well worth overlooking. Just be careful not to slip. Overall, I can't think of a better hotel for the money in the Luxor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valued time that you spent to feed us back about your recent stay with us.

I shared your comments with each one of Nefertiti hotel team, and they are so happy to know that their personalized service has ended up to your enjoyment.

Regarding the bathroom problem of course we will work on it to find a good solution.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at Nefertiti is truly unique. Smiling, helpful and full of attention for our well-being; we spent 9 days feeling great! Add to it, a great roof terrasse overlooking the Nile and the Luxor Temple, our best breakfeasts after a month in Egypt and spotless rooms and public areas. Even the restaurant is a truly interesting place to have good food at a reasonable price. And you have the choice to eat in a car free public corridor downstairs or on the very comfortable roof terrasse with its great view. To finish up with this review, the hotel is located 2 steps away from the lively souk of Luxor and most places of interest on the east bank of this great city. We loved Nefertiti Hotel that much that we decided to stay at this place even while visiting temples and tombs on the west bank of the Nile and rent a taxi at very reasonable price for our transport to those sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti hotel ,As you probably noticed, our guests are what really make Nefertiti a special place .

Of course your kind feedback about the staff is highly appreciated and will encourage our team members to strive to continue for excellence.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsmont, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you read all the reviews of this place you will find that all of them are positive. For a good reason. Sometimes it's easy to be sceptical of on line reviews.But having stayed at the Nefertiti, i can say that the reviews are accurate. Clean comfortable rooms, great staff, great restaurant, to go along with one of the best views in Luxor. All at a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel.

I`m very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , We are always pleased to hear our guests’ positive experiences.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Nefertiti hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefertiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.