We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nefertiti Hotel to your Saves list
Nefertiti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 572 Reviews
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great rooftop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although I didn't stay at this hotel, I did have the pleasure of enjoying its wonderful rooftop. The food was great, the staff was very friendly, and I could tell that it was a very well-run hotel. Unfortunately my tour group stayed next door at a run-down hotel. I wish we could've stayed at the Nefertiti Hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your visit to Nefertiti hotel and of course for your kind review,

It`s our pleasure to welcoming you in the next time to stay in our hotel and enjoy your holiday with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    140
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
70
182
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My tour group stayed at the much cheaper and more run down property next door. We stumbled on this hotel while walking in the alley and were immediately drawn to its charm, fun décorations and gorgeous roof top terrace (unlike ours that has astro turf and a bath sized pool)!! There was a beautiful Australian girl working the front desk and every single hallway and space was beautiful with painted murals and lovely staff! Don't hesitate to book! Oh and the food was excellent too! (we never saw the rooms)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your visit to Nefertiti hotel and your kind feedback.

Hopefully next time we will welcoming you to stay in our hotel and enjoy your holiday with us.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a really a nice 10 days stay there, all the staff is lovely and so friendly, there is a nice breakfastbuffet on the roof with nice view to the Luxortempel and the Nile. Room are small but cosy and nice with fridge. The internetconnection is very bad and you loose much time just to send a mail and in the night they stop it, this should really change because they anouncefree interne tconnection in the web. I tried everything , spoke to them, but still very bad, so don't count on it if you need connection you just go somewhere else....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your positive comment about Nefertiti Hotel and of course your kind feedback about the staff is highly appreciated and will encourage our team members to continue work for excellence.

We do apologize for the Internet connection issue, but actually it's mostly out of our hand due to a technical issue from our server provider and it's not back to the hotel only it's happen in all of Egypt.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff is what makes the Nefertiti Hotel really outstanding. I had the unfortunate displeasure of losing my credit card in Luxor; when I got back to the hotel, the woman working at the concierge desk let me use the hotel's computer to straighten out my account, despite being in the middle of doing work for the hotel. Plus, when we came back from a day out, the cleaning crew had fashioned a crocodile out of the fresh towels and a scarf that I'd left sitting out. Really exceptional people.

I stayed here in mid-March with my roommate and his cousin; the price between the three of us was more than affordable. The location is pretty good, being right in the market district. Although for some people this can be a real turn off (expect to be hassled if you walk through it by people who want you to buy their wares), this is not something you can avoid on a trip to a heavily touristy area, particularly one where the economy is in desperate need of rejuvenation. It's also right by the Temple of Luxor, and not too far from Karnak; I can't say anything about the taxi services they offer, since we never made use of them, but they did pick us up from the train station at no additional cost. Also, we were allowed to check out late and pay for a half-day when we were leaving; they're very willing to accommodate for travel plans.

The hotel is also joined with the neighboring restaurant, which serves up some pretty good food (try the camel, seriously) and offers an impressive rooftop view of sunset/the west bank. The air conditioning works really well, same with the television most of the time. Most of the programming is in Arabic, although there was at least one station in English, one in German, and a few in Italian. As far as languages go, the staff is confident in English, and when we stayed, they had an employee from the Netherlands as well who worked at the front desk.

The only complaint I can make is that the bathroom floors get really wet when using the shower, but this is such a minor annoyance that it's well worth overlooking. Just be careful not to slip. Overall, I can't think of a better hotel for the money in the Luxor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valued time that you spent to feed us back about your recent stay with us.

I shared your comments with each one of Nefertiti hotel team, and they are so happy to know that their personalized service has ended up to your enjoyment.

Regarding the bathroom problem of course we will work on it to find a good solution.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at Nefertiti is truly unique. Smiling, helpful and full of attention for our well-being; we spent 9 days feeling great! Add to it, a great roof terrasse overlooking the Nile and the Luxor Temple, our best breakfeasts after a month in Egypt and spotless rooms and public areas. Even the restaurant is a truly interesting place to have good food at a reasonable price. And you have the choice to eat in a car free public corridor downstairs or on the very comfortable roof terrasse with its great view. To finish up with this review, the hotel is located 2 steps away from the lively souk of Luxor and most places of interest on the east bank of this great city. We loved Nefertiti Hotel that much that we decided to stay at this place even while visiting temples and tombs on the west bank of the Nile and rent a taxi at very reasonable price for our transport to those sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti hotel ,As you probably noticed, our guests are what really make Nefertiti a special place .

Of course your kind feedback about the staff is highly appreciated and will encourage our team members to strive to continue for excellence.

Looking forward for your next visit to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsmont, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you read all the reviews of this place you will find that all of them are positive. For a good reason. Sometimes it's easy to be sceptical of on line reviews.But having stayed at the Nefertiti, i can say that the reviews are accurate. Clean comfortable rooms, great staff, great restaurant, to go along with one of the best views in Luxor. All at a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel.

I`m very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , We are always pleased to hear our guests’ positive experiences.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Nefertiti hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Neferiti hotel and found it to be tidy and safe. The free breakfast on the roof was good with both cold items and an egg chef. We stayed in a triple which was very small but we loved the daily towel sculptures.

We did not like the location as it was loud and you could not walk a step out of the hotel without being accosted to buy something (its almost directly on a souq street) or go in a calech. (if you do please choose a horse that looks healthy and a driver that does not use his whip!)

Make sure you book directly with the hotel as their third party website rate is much higher.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti Hotel. We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay with us .

We are always pleased to hear our guests’ positive experiences and receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service .

looking forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefertiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.