We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a clean, comfortable choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nefertiti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nefertiti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Pender Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a clean, comfortable choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Neferiti hotel and found it to be tidy and safe. The free breakfast on the roof was good with both cold items and an egg chef. We stayed in a triple which was very small but we loved the daily towel sculptures.

We did not like the location as it was loud and you could not walk a step out of the hotel without being accosted to buy something (its almost directly on a souq street) or go in a calech. (if you do please choose a horse that looks healthy and a driver that does not use his whip!)

Make sure you book directly with the hotel as their third party website rate is much higher.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti Hotel. We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay with us .

We are always pleased to hear our guests’ positive experiences and receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service .

looking forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    128
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
69
170
107
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a great place, its not 5star luxory but it is very clean and in a fantastic location. Spent a total of 10 days there and have no complaints. The management are very helpful, we had one minor problem which the mnGEMENT SORTED out immediTELY. Great rooftop cafe/resteraunt, no alcohol served but they didnt mind if you brought beers in and drunk them in rooftop restaurant. They were also very helpful in giving guidance about how much to pay for taxis etc. They will try to sell you trips which are a little over priced imo, but not ott, we booked some through them, and used their prices as a guide to bartering elsewhere. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Nefertiti Hotel! As you probably noticed our guests are what really make Nefertiti a special place and we are happy you joined our family for your stay in Luxor.


Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My father came to visit me in Cairo and we decided to fly down to Luxor to see the sights. I'd heard good things about the hotel and can say I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is clean, tidy and especially welcoming with both the staff and owner going out of the way to help and make you feel at home. When we arrived there was no problem making a slight change to the room booking either. The location of the hotel is brilliant, within 1 minute walk of the Souq and 5 minutes walk of Luxor temple. The view from the hotel terrace overlooks Luxor temple, the Nile and on the far side Hatchepsutts temple.

The room was simple but clean and tidy with air-con and en suite toilet and shower. The only improvement would have been a more sturdy shower holder, but its hardly a deal breaker.

Breakfast is included in the price and the Hotel can also provide the rest of your meals from its restaurant from its varied menu (including camel) for a reasonable price. Aladin - the owner - is often around and willing to come and sit and chat with guests, eating the same food (always a good sign) and just being sociable.

Our flights landed about 10 and when we arrived I made a list of about 6 locations I wanted to visit. However after talking with the staff they were able to arrange a tour and guide that fit in all I wanted to see (and time for a few extra bits) included a half day on of sights on the first afternoon. The small price to pay for having this organised was well worth it and meant we did more than I planned, for less effort and with more satisfaction of having "done everything and not been ripped off...too much"

The tour company is also owned by Aladin which meant that everything could be dealt with in the hotel simply. Our guide, Mohamed, was polite, knowledgeable and very helpful - so much that we tried to keep him for all 3 days.

If I go back to Luxor it will not be to another hotel.

Room Tip: There is no lift (yet). The rooftop terrace serves breakfast so at some point you might want to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at Nefertiti Hotel.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed with us during your holiday and the friendless of our staff have ended up to your entire satisfaction.

Looking forward to serving you once again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping, Jönköpings Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I first of all want to say thank you to Mohammed and the crew at the Nefertiti Hotel! Without them our time spent in Egypt would not have been as memorable. As soon as we arrived at the airport we were greeted by our driver from the hotel, who insisted that he carry all of our luggage. Upon arriving to the Nefertiti hotel we met Mohammed, who greeted us with a warm smile, and a cool drink. Mohammed helped us plan our time in Luxor and suggested tours for us, that were simply amazing! I never imagined that our days would be so fun filled and exciting! ( I also travelled with Dessan K, and she has mentioned all our tours in her review, please see her comments). Mohammed helped us with anything that we needed, he was so friendly, polite, and just took the extra time to get to know us. He even said a quick hello to my mother on skype, and reassured her that he would take care of us!
The entire staff was so friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Our room was always made up with extra touches such as a crocodile made out of towels on the bed, making conversation and giving us information about Egypt and Luxor, walking with us to different locations, they definetely made us feel safe and made us feel like family. Deyaa, thanks again for getting us to the Karnak temple, if it wasn't for you offering us a ride, we would have missed seeing that! Also, thanks for the freshly made lemonade, best in the world! The hotel served a complimentary authentic egyptian breakfast, individual-made just how you want them- omelettes, tea and coffee. The entire menu at the Nefertiti was amazing, and the food was so delicious that we didn't even venture elsewhere when it came to dining. Another reason we did not venture too far, was that the view from the roof top terrace was amazing, Luxor temple, the Nile and the Valley of the Kings all within eyesight. All of the tours we went on were arranged perfectly, we were always picked up on time, and set out for early morning adventures with breakfast to go. Our tour guide Amr was very knowledgeable about Egypt and gave us an indepth insight into the mystical and magical history of Egypt. He gave us advice on how to haggle and helped us to know when we were getting a good deal on all the purchases we made. His patience for four women shopping all at the same time was impressive, and he always said, just take your time, no problem, with a smile on his face. Thanks again Amr for being so patient with us ;) I can not express how grateful I am to the entire staff at Nefertiti Hotel, they added so much to our experience in Egypt, and I truly feel that I now have friends in Egypt and I hope to return someday to be able to say hello again... and yes, most definetly I will be staying at the Nefertiti Hotel :) Thanks again for everything... Shokran!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you very much for having chosen Nefertiti hotel for your recent stay and for your valued time you spent to feed us back about your recent experience at our property.

I could not find words to express about our appreciation for your great comments & supportive remarks, of course your comments will encourage all of us to continue deliver excellence service to our guests.

I shared personally your review with the entire team members and Amr and they appreciate it so much.

Looking forward for your next visit to our resort in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I & my entire family were in Luxor for 2 days. After reading various TA reviews, we finally decided to book Nefertiti hotel in advance. I must say this is the best value for money hotel in Luxor. What a location! Right infornt of the Luxor temple..spectacular view from roof top! Swift check-in, great breakfast arrangement, 24 H front desk, clean & comfortable bed...everything was perferct. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again to the Nefertiti Hotel.


Best Regards,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was actually situated at the west bank with another hotel but decided to switch to the east bank instead with all the shops and eateries mainly all over there and at a cheaper price!was not disappointed at all,helpful and friendly staffs,nice room and nice chill out alley during the night,will come again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.



Best Wishes,
Aladin


Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hi!
This hotel was amazing and I enjoyed every seond I stayed at Nefertiti Hotel Luxor. The staff at Nefertiti is genuine, professional and have a great sense of humour. They treated us like Nefertitis when we were there. They picked us up at the airport in the morning and then we met Mohammed at the desk. What a friendly smile!
We went up to the roof top to eat breakfast, which was fantastic. The view was breathtaking: you could see Luxor temple 30 m from the hotel and the lime stone mountains with all the famous tombs (eg Valley of the Kings) if you just lifted your eyes above the Nile over to the west bank. The breakfast buffe was great and I must say it was better then the breakfast at Hiltons in Cairo. A big plus was thet the chef served delicious healthy omelettes.
Mohammed and his crew served us with a smorgosbord of different activities. We went for a felucca cruise on the Nile the first day. Second day: historical highlights on the west bank and quality shopping at a papyrus and alabaster shop. Third day more historial highlights with our passionate, pedagogical and patient guide Amr who knew everything about Egyptian history. In the evening we went to buy perfume and then we went camel riding for 2 hours in the winding streets of beautiful west bank Luxor followed by an unforgetable night cruise on the Nile. Fourth day hot air ballon trip over the Luxor, which words can not deliver the true beauty of and then Luxor and Karnak temple.
I felt that the staff at Nefertiti had service 24/7. They taught us how to haggle, speak Arabic (eg La a Shakran - no thank you), they helped me cut up my suitcase lock when loosing the key, wiped off bird poop of my friends jacket, made towel animals, packed breakfast for early excursions, took us out for adventures and gave us insights to the political and cultural life of Egypt etc etc. Thanks Deyaa for helping us not miss the Karnak temple!
The food was great. We just ate at the hotel the whole time since we didn't see any reason to go elsewhere. Great lemon and strawberry juice, hommus, tahini dip, frappuchini, mosaqa, chicken wings, sea food platter etcetera etc.
Mohammed also planned the trip for us in Cairo which was great. Our guide Neama Ahmed was a fantastic woman and we went to the Egyptian museum, religious centres, Giza pyramides etc with her.
Thanks for making this trip an unforgettable experience! Will never forget the kindness and hospitality!

Best regards Desirée Karlsson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Dessan,

Thank you so much for your kind review ,Thank you for precious time that you spent to write your feedback about your recent holiday at Nefertiti hotel .

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed with us during your stay and the friendless of our staff have ended up to your entire satisfaction , Our guests like you what really makes Nefertiti a special place.

Looking forward to serving you once again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | via Karnak Temple St, Luxor 4114, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefertiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.