We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected, wonderful surprise!! LOVED IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefertiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nefertiti Hotel to your Saves list
Nefertiti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 85951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected, wonderful surprise!! LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I came here with my family (my 60 yr old parents + 21 yr old sister) based on TripAdvisor reviews. Having had a few previous disappointments regarding accommodation in Egypt, I was not sure what to expect. However, this hotel was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The service was excellent and attentive since our arrival ; the owner was always around and the management is very customer oriented, you can tell.

The hotel has a simple Lobby, good enough to wait for a few minutes or book excursions. The restaurant is lovely - you can enjoy a meal either at their rooftop (which has without a doubt, one of the best -if not THE BEST- view of the Nile and the Temple of Luxor. The food was very good, service very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was nice, included cold cuts, beverages, cereal, breads, mezze etc. Overall, it was good and more than we would've expected.

We booked a Quad room for 2 nights, and the room was outstanding. It seemed quite new, the decoration was just right: white, cozy, and minimalist. They bedsheets were new, and as comfortable as they get in any 3-4 star hotel. The bathroom was clean, everything inside the room worked perfectly and was in very good state (aircon, TV with satellite, telephone,etc).

I dont know if this hotel has been rated with stars, but it certainly is a 3star hotel in terms of quality and service. Therefore, the value for money is great. The hotel is an excellent base for you to discover Luxor, and just hang out there if all you want is to relax. I didnt take pictures, but their website shows some. I highly recommend this hotel for any sort of travelers- families, couples, young solo travelers and seniors. The hotel doesnt have an elevator just yet, so if you require a lower floor tell them in advance.

Overall, a wonderful stay that exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed it to the max and would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator, and there are 4 floors. Make a special request if you want to make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your time to write a review about our hotel. We are very happy that you spend a good time in our hotel. It was a big pleasure to have you as our guest .

Hopefully we can welcoming you and your family back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    160
    41
    18
    12
See reviews for
80
202
136
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Were there on honeymoon. We fell in love with the place once we set foot at the hotel. The staffs were great and awesome. They ensured that everything went well for us. Extended our stay from initial 2 nights to 5 nights. Good place to just relax and read a book away. An excellent choice of accommodation for anyone visiting Luxor. Sure to visit the place again when we are back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your time to write a review about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and spend a good time in our hotel. It was a big pleasure to have you as our guest .

Hopefully we can welcoming you and your family back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night on my way to Aswan. Great staff, friendly and helpful without being pushy. Clean room and bathroom, fab roof top terrace with great dinner menu. Staff helped me book onto a sunrise hot air balloon ride over the valley of the kings, highly recommended. Top place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving comments and feedback in order to continually improve on our service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes
Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great value. Great location for Luxor Temple, near souk. Staff very helpful, especially Muhammad. Excellent restaurant. Hearty breakfast. Staff responded quickly to faulty light bulbs. No lift, so choose floor carefully -- note breakfast is on roof terrace. Wifi unstable. Hotel is in a lane, easy to miss. Wrongly marked by GPS. Be warned that Luxor has tons and tons of touts and hustlers, more than any other Egyptian tourist city.

Room Tip: Balance between low floor (no lift) and further from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about the Nefertiti Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving your feedback in order to improve on our services. Therefor, we will do our very best to improve the Wifi situation.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best regards,

Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nerfertiti was our calm oasis in Egypt. The hotel is modern and clean. Our room was comfortable with hot shower, satellite tv, towels, you name it! Nefertiti even had a delicious breakfast buffet, perfect for vegetarians like us! All the reviews are true, it is a very good budget hotel tucked away from all the noise of the bustling city. The roof top patio has stellar views of the Nile and Luxor temple.The owner Aladin and his wife Femke were always helpful, friendly and catered to all our needs. We booked a romantic felucca tour with them and was very happy. Great place to meet other fellow backpackers. Awesome location, walking distance to Luxor temple and Luxor temple. A gallop away from Karnak temple.

Initally we were going to stay for 3 days and ended up staying for a week! That´s how amazing this place was, they treat you like family. We highly reccomend staying at Nefertiti, you will love it! We´re glad we did! THANK YOU AGAIN!

P.S. This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: We we´re located on the 3rd floor, a floor away from the patio and good view of surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. It heartwarming to hear you stayed longer with us as you planned before. We feel very honored by this.

Hopefully we can meet again in the future!

Best wishes,

Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Recommended by word of mouth, as well as on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. They let me check in early (7am), and everyone was so nice. The manager Mohamed always had time for me and he seemed very genuine. The place was clean and the rooftop bar (i say bar but this is a non alcoholic establishment) has some amazing views over the River Nile.
It was also my safe haven from the streets of Luxor as I found it difficult to even leave the place without being harrassed by peddlars and guides and people offering you directions for a price. It seemed the only place I didnt feel consistently hassled!
Definately would recommend this hotel if you are coming through here - for value and service I am sure you wouldnt be able to find a better place in Luxor!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank a lot for writing your kind review about us. I'm glad we were able to make our recommendations true.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Nefertiti Hotel one day soon.

Best wishes,

Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in the Nefertiti hotel following a recommendation in the Lonely Planet guide and I can honestly say that the commendation is wholly justified. The hotel is centrally located - walking distance from most places you could possibly want to go in Luxor. The Luxor temple is just 5 minutes away and Karnak is a walk of about 20 minutes. There is an overwhelmingly friendly feel to the hotel and Aladdin and his partner make great efforts to make guests feel extremely welcome, as do all of the brilliant staff. When organising trips, Ahmed is the man to talk to and he is very helpful and knowledgeable. We got a wonderful deal on a 2 night cruise, as well as a fantastic day visiting the Valley of the Kings and several other temples with a very enthusiastic and well informed guide, and also a truly magical balloon ride - all things not to be missed. Our room was comfortable, clean, a good size with very effective air conditioning, and fridge in which to keep our snacks and drinks. There is a restaurant that is attached to the hotel and I found the food to be tasty if somewhat limited for vegetarians, but this is something that I found everywhere I went in Egypt as I am not sure vegetarianism is as prevalent here as in other countries. The personal touch is what really marks this establishment out as special and there was a real warmth to the place meaning that its somewhere you feel immediately at home in. I would definitely stay again and would look forward to seeing all the lovely staff again who make the hotel such a success. The roof terrace and sun deck are glorious and the perfect place to unwind after seeing the sights during the day and it is a lovely place to enjoy a meal. All in all I would say that I loved my stay in the Nefertiti and should I ever return to Luxor (fingers crossed I will!) I would definitely stay there again, the only thing that could have improved it would have been a pool (a physical impossibility!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALADINEFERTITI, Owner at Nefertiti Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel in order to inform other travelers about your experiences. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your staying with us, and you find the trips interesting.

It's our big pleasure to host you again in our hotel ones you come back to Luxor. Hopefully we will meet again soon.

Best regards,

Aladin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefertiti Hotel

Address: El Sahabi Street | Via Luxor Temple St, Luxor 85951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefertiti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nefertiti Hotel - your home away from home in Luxor! One of the first family owned, small hotels located in the historical city of Luxor, the Nefertiti Hotel is well known for its superior customer service, cleanliness and value for money. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2010 and all rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, telephone and mini fridge. Daily housekeeping services are provided as well as a complimentary buffet breakfast. Meet people from around the world while lazying on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the River Nile, Luxor Temple, the Avenue of Sphinx and the West Bank. It's a great place to watch the setting sun while enjoying a cup of Bedouin tea and a shisha (hookah pipe). Try our traditional Egyptian cuisine, as well as delicacies such as camel meat, in our restaurant or on the roof terrace. At the Nefertiti Hotel you will experience true Egyptian hospitality in authentic surroundings. To meet the needs of our guests we also provide tours and trips to all the ancient and historical sites in Luxor and throughout Egypt through Aladin Tours, another extension of our family business.Take a look at Lonely Planet and see why the Nefertiti Hotel is their top pick for 2011/2012! We look forward to welcoming you to the Nefertiti Hotel as you discover the beauty of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Nefertiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefertiti Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefertiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.