We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Palace

Golden Palace
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Palace to your Saves list
Golden Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Television Street, Luxor 856856, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Unkown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

You get what you pay for. The room was clean, but the bathroom was alittle bit dirty and with hard toilet paper. Good breakfast (omlets, butter, vegetable salad, caffe or tea, bread and cheese). I hated that the resturant had cats in it, but they take it out. The front desk were helpful, they guided us to our room as soon as we entered. The pool is crap and not clean at all. You can get a nice sleep though the light noise. The maid cleaned our rooms regulary, made our beds...etc. It was safe as we didn't lose anything there. The location is PERFECT and that's what its all about. There are Internet cafes near and tourism agencies. You can always take a nice walk in the early morning without disturbing. The rooms are not recently redecorated but with a nice tidy view. The air conditioner was very good. The T.V works well, but only channels in Arabic except for one or two. The view was not interesting, it was a street with tolerable noise. There are great shops in the neighbourhood also and most important a pharmacy right infront of the hotel. You can get to Elkarnak easily on feet(may be long) or by taxi or a carriage.
If you are travelling to Luxor by train, the hotel is near than the train station which is great.
The lobby is not fashionable or extremely clean, but again tolerable. There was some kind of casino on the roof, but I haven't really got the chance to go there. It was very pleasent experience and Luxor is amazing. The hotel is tolerable for what you pay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

After we left our luggage at the reception for a short trip in Luxor we could not find our mobile phones and we've checked before, they were there, but when we came back they were no more there. The manager only said to us that this was not possible because the portier was there and also a policeman at the entrance, but we never found our phones. We have a good insurance but i would not recommend this hotel. The manager looks like a 30's gangster.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

when i first walked into golden palace hotel, i already knew my friend had made a mistake. the people at the counter didnt' understand a word of what we were saying and kept asking us to wait 'one minute' for our room. we ended up waiting about 45. lobby was dirty with stained couches. rooms were minimalist, with a hugely loud (But very cold) air conditioner and usable, but dirty bathrooms and tiny little hard towels. they kept our passports forever because they kept saying they needed to copy them, but noone ever did. ended up booking another hotel for my second night. location was a little off the path of the main attractions, walkable to luxor temple, but wouldn't want to go much further. you can catch a cab or one of those annoying touts with the horse-drawn carriages. wifi close by but none in hotel. several food options in vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine, fl
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

We were going to stay at the Nubian Oasis hostel, but that was a terrible dive with non-existent mattresses, so they recommended the Golden Palace as their sister hotel. From the other reviewer it seemed we shared the same TV hookup, ie sparks flying...., defective shower faucets, cats [---] by our breakfast table (not much of a breakfast) and murky pool. Rooftop bar has a nice view, and good restaurant food around as well as cheap internet access. Don't pay for their overpriced tours ...the guide doesn't speak English and you're rushed through everything. Better go to Jolly Tours on the Corniche. Maybe higher prices, but you'll have a great experience.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — Rooftop bar.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palace

Address: Television Street, Luxor 856856, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a stones throw from the train station, The Golden Palace Hotel is a 3 star budget hotel that can be found along Television Street, on Luxor's main avenues. We have 49 rooms, all of them with air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, private bath, and balconies. Our facilities include a swimming pool with a restaurant, bar and billiard table, a main restaurant serving 120 people, a pizzeria, disco and three licensed bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Golden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palace Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.