We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again to The Lotus.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Luxor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lotus Luxor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Luxor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Millom Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Back again to The Lotus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was my 5th time staying at The Lotus. The hotel offers good value for money. The location is one of the best in Luxor being right by the Nile. The reception is very impressive and the desk staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been improved since my last visit in Nov 2012. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels and bed linen are changed daily. The breakfast is a joke the waiters do not seem to care about serving you, but the food is good and plentiful. Once you accept that is the way it is at breakfast it is ok. The pool staff are lovely. Friendly and helpful. Have booked with 2 friends to stay again in November.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
84
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have enjoyed the hospitality of the Lotus Hotel, Luxor, for approximately 6 years, 5 times a year. Unfortunately, we will not be staying there again.
The management were adamant we paid for a towel rail that broke when a towel was placed on it. There was an obvious flaw in the metal, even explaining and showing this to the management, they still insisted on payment for the "damage".
I must point out that the staff, with the exception of the breakfast staff, are very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble, even to the point of giving us leaving presents when we left.
Other points to mention, the breakfast is not worth eating as service is incomplete or you can find chips in the crockery. The problem being, the breakfast staff lack any motivation.
There is only one pool with a child extention, not two pools as advertised.
There is no gym or running track, as advertised.
The rooms look tired and outdated, even with the new t.v. and fridge that been installed.
And yes, we stayed there for 6 years, 5 times a year, because it was value for money, until they put the price up 39% last year, the location was handy for where we wanted to be, and apart from the breakfast staff and hotel manager, all other staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that don't end in 01 or 02 on any floor if you want better sized rooms. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The first impressions - great! We only spent one night at the hotel - did not eat there and hardly slept there. The room as really just ok - bathroom terrible and the service lousy. Front office person, grumpy and quite unhelpful. But the views are great - sat looking at the sunset over the Nile. great potential - but just ok for a one night stay. Luxor though was amazing! Got onto horse and carriage with Aboo who took us on a wonderful trip all around Luxor - felt 100% safe and enjoyed it all. We chose KFC over the hotel food.

Room Tip: Not sure - maybe just ask for a fresh, clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Don't be fooled by the hotel's nice lobby and pool area, for these are the best things you will experience. The rooms are spacious and have satisfactory furniture. The restaurant has horrible service and the food gave both my fiancé and I food poisoning, thus making our 2-day stay in Luxor quite a hassle. It is by far the most unauthentic food you will find in Egypt, fully catered towards the western guests (frozen kabobs and vegetables, mashed potatoes or fries, and a bowl full of canned fruit for desert). You will have to ask a waiter for tea bags or Nescafé packets and then stand around while they take 15mins to bring it out. There's no toaster for the bread. Honestly, none of the hot-dishes during breakfast even seemed appetizing. We literally ate the bread, jam, cream cheese, and coffee for 2 days, for it was the only thing worth eating there. The waiters seem useless, as they stand around talking amongst eachother all day. They have no sense of urgency for anything that you request.

The pool area looks nice, but they also allow locals access to it for 50 Egyptian Pounds, meaning more awkward stares to make you uncomfortable from those who aren't used to seeing people in swimwear. The pool overlooks the Nile, so if that's very enticing to you, consider perhaps finding another hotel, and paying the L.E. 50 to gain access to their pool when you want.

There's no hot water, nor cold water at that. It all seems to be a slight variation of warm, and there's no telling which direction to turn the faucet to get which temperature, for it varies from sink, shower, etc... They charge more for wifi than any other hotel we've stayed in in Egypt. Most places are actually free, but they charge L.E. 80/day and will charge you double or triple that amount for multiple devices (phone, laptop, tablet) and it doesn't even work in your room, only in the lobby downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

When I first saw this hotel, I was quite impressed. The lobby looked beautiful, the rooms were clean, and the outside view of the Nile was phenomenal. And though I personally didn't go in the pool, I've only heard good things. But as my title suggests, don't let the looks fool you!

The customer service here was atrocious, especially in the dining area. For a city that is greatly dependent on tourism, the service was slow and inattentive. The waiters mostly stood around and were painfully slow when we asked them for things such as cutlery or additional tea/coffee bags. The front desk spoke very little English and did not do much to help us in anyway. The Internet only works in the lobby and they charge 20 L.E. per hour, which in my opinion is ridiculous for slow Internet.

Now lets get to the worst part, the food. Breakfast was pathetic with little variety. They tried to cater to westerners by providing western food like mashed potatoes, canned fruit, etc. Very unauthentic, which I don't understand; I didn't come to Egypt to eat western style food. The worst decision I've made on this trip was to eat lunch/dinner at the hotel. My fiancé and I both got food poisoning and spent the entire night vomiting! We couldn't even finish the tour we planned for the following day. The kebabs were obviously frozen (probably more than once), bland, and almost inedible!

I don't like making generalizations about a city based on one institution, but I can safely say that because of Lotus Hotel, my experience in Luxor was very negatively affected. I don't ever plan on coming back. And if you still decide to book a room at this hotel, save yourself the horror and do NOT eat their food!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A disappointment after the Nile Cruise. Lobby is very nice but rooms are tired. Service in the Coffee bar / Restaurant was very poor. Breakfast was not great but light meals were ok. Try to find a better hotel. Best thing about this hotel is the pool area.

Room Tip: try to find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is nothing like they advertise on there official site,breakfast is very poor you have to find a waiter to get a teabag or a sachet of coffee to get a drink,toaster works when it wants to,all in all very bad.Pool staff look after the women who live in Luxor and pay to use the pool area while they entertain their "egyptian husbands" and also young egyptian boys coming round and going off with european men.Paying guests are just treated like second class guests,we had to go round to the Sonesta Hotel so we could use the pool and not have to listen to what they had being doing the night before.We did complain to the manager along with other guests but nothing was done about it,the manager even admitted that they did have a problem with the same thing a few years ago.When he was informed that we and other guests would not come here again and also we would inform people about the hotel on Trip Advisor he didnt seem too concerned.You would have thought with it been goverment run that they would be a lot more dilligent with the kind of people they allow in.

Room Tip: South side are better rooms,dont ask for Junior suites(dont have any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Luxor Hotel

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Luxor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel is a new member in Hostelworld .Lotus Hotel has a unique location in the heart of Luxor. We have 58 rooms and suites all with balcony or terrace overlooking the Nile (40 double rooms, 10 royal suites, 8 triple). All rooms consist of a double bed, air-conditioning, telephone, cable TV, music channel, minibar, smoke alarm, private shower, bathtub and WC. In the hotel we have a restaurant where you can enjoy your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Lotus Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Luxor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.