We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Luxor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lotus Luxor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Luxor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
yorkshire
2 reviews
“Satisfaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First time we have stayed in this hotel and we got what we paid for...breakfast had fresh fruit yogurt, toast, eggs which ever way required so a good start to the day..pool and all areas clean and tidy, staff very attentive. Our room was clean but the bathroom really needed replacing...new t.v and fridges were being fitted in all rooms while we were there. View from all rooms have a perfect view of the pool, Nile, and westbank.. If we needed anything the staff were eager to help. The only downside to our holiday was the guys touting for business outside, saying no seams to give them the right to hassle you we soon found if we completely ignored them they left us alone. We had great food out each evening and met and made great friends with some of the owners..only warning don't eat at the lantern we heard some horror stories about bugs in food and frozen chicken..

Room Tip: Higher floor gives you a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
84
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chippenham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks. The hotel is good, the rooms are clean and kept that way by a good cleaner daily. Location is excellent; right next to the Nile.The pool is good. However the dining is poor. The waiters were mostly useless and it felt like they were their for their own convenience. Every breakfast we had to ask for more tea bags/coffee sachets, yogurts and fresh fruit salad. The toaster broke down most days. The bread and pastries (yesterdays) came wrapped in clingfilm. The table linen was sometimes dirty from the day before, and we often had to ask for more cutlery, whilst the waiters just stood around.
We booked half board, mistake. The evening meal was bland and tasteless everything with chips and rice and the veg was the same every night: frozen, why? when Egypt produces good vegetables. The starters and puddings were OK but the main course awful, the meat was tough and dry.The dining room had no atmoshere with the same piped music daily (all day) Most people who booked half board went out to eat in the many restaurants closeby after a couple of days.
Having said that, overall this hotel is good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just got back from a week's stay at the Lotus Hotel in Luxor. On arrival we were taken to our room which was very clean and the view was perfect of the pool and the Nile. As we had booked half board we went down for our evening meal and was given a set menu, a choice of four soups, salads, steaks, fish, chicken etc - all looked promising, but on working our way through it was certainly lacking in taste and over the five nights we dined there, there was only one or two other couples, with no atmosphere. We realised then that we should have just gone bed and breakfast as some of the local restaurants were very nice indeed - we can recommend the Kings Head Pub which is opposite the hotel and the Fortune Cookie just down the road.

Breakfast was much the same, very limited choice with hardly anything to offer. Toaster kept breaking and there was never any juice.

Apart from the food side of things, the hotel was very nice. The pool area was lovely, very clean and the staff were very helpful. The maid service in the room was excellent - she made some wonderful arrangements out of the towels each morning which made us smile. One downside is the call to prayer every couple of hours as it can be very loud!

You can book your trips through the hotel as they have their own rep and the prices were very reasonable - it also means that you don't have to go with a load of others as they are all private trips.

The location of the hotel was good, right on the nile. On exiting the hotel to the road there were horse and carriages or taxis that would take you anywhere you wished to go - but you need to haggle with the price!

All in all a good holiday - we would go again but definitely not half board!

Room Tip: Choose a Nile view room on the 3rd or 4th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Lotus Hotel for the past 3 years, I visit twice a year in April and October for a 2 week holiday. I find the staff very friendly and very helpful, breakfast can be a bit hit and miss, but if you want something, just ask.
I don't have dinner at the Lotus, but eat out at Snobs, Dave's Bistro and Jewel of the Nile, very good food at reasonable prices. I usually have lunch by the pool, Alaa is very attentive as are Nazer, Ashra and Mahmoud.
The Calesh drivers can be a nuisance when you step out of the hotel, but just ignore them, it may seem rude, but is effective.
I go for a Falucca boat ride during the heat of the day, very relaxing, drinking mint tea, I always use Mohamed Sayed and his co-owner Hamdi Saadi, they come to the Lotus in their Falucca to pick me up and drop me off at the hotel in the afternoon. The sunset cruise is delightful, as is the trip to Banana island and Crocodile island. You can contact Mohamed on 002-01003846912 and Hamdi on 002-01064894044 they are both lovely guys, and their prices are very good, they will fit in with you and pick you up from the Lotus.
Am going back to the Lotus in April 2013, can't wait to get there and get some sun!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have recently spent a week at the Lotus hotel in Luxor. Last year I stayed at the Sonesta next door. Whilst the Lotus lacks the sophistication of its 5* neighbours it does offer very good value for money. Food is tasty, nutricious and hot although it is a little lacking in variety., The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and have excellent views of the river and the west bank. Staff are friendly and helpful. It has an attractive pool area and numerous terraced areas where guests can relax. The big attraction of this hotel is the price you pay in comparrison to its neighbours. Well worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Don't pay the crazy prices at the Sonesta hotel or others for a Nile view room, we had the best view for half the price, we had room 406 great room and view, I would recommend room on a high floor such as 3rd or 4th or 5th starting at 301 302, 303 304 the suites are 305 and 306, the same on the 4 th floor 401 402403, 404 suites 405. 406, the same for 5 th floor the best room is 504, 404, 304, for the views if you cant afford a suite, the best suites 505 506, 405 406, 305, 306The swimming pool was great heated in winter, The sandwiches we had at the pool were good, about £3 for a large sandwich chips and salad, not bad value I felt.The breakfast was average and a bit laid back, the fruit salad great, and the chef cooked your eggs as requested, but not the best breakfast I have had in Egypt by far! the staff were polite and helpful, we alawyd left our cleaner a E£5 tip on the pillow and our room was clean and always a delight to come back to, to see what animal they had created with towels.
dont agree to whole package trips from the horse and carriage guys outside lots of hassle, pay as you go, small fees and regular, bargain hard or they will rip you off! Have fun with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

An Egyptian (Luxor) Experience to remember

We stayed at Lotus Hotel for 7nights, half board and have experienced not only the temple tours, balloon flights but also a time spent with a fantastic Egyptian family.

Lotus Hotel is in a great location, having a great view of the River Nile from your room balcony ( just make sure to ask rooms from ( 3rd-5th floor, rm 03-07). The rooms are all just basic, with TV facility (to almost 835 channels, but you have to scroll to find English-speaking channels), fridge (best in keeping all your bottled water bought from outside), safe box deposit (you don't have to pay), a workable not-so-fancy bathroom, and to top it off a room changing service with fancy towel folding skills to tickle you day after a hot walk around town !

If you are booking a half-board offer, the buffet breakfast consist of different Egyptian pastries, with a bowl of fruit and cool yogurts section, and a hot buffet of not-so-tasty offers. The dinner is just as basic with a kebab, beef (hope not horsemeat!), chicken and fish offers. Our fourth day, we have to check out different restaurants around the area, as the hotel's dinner offer became more boring and bland.

The staff varies from being friendly to annoying! I can only count two staff that are paying attention to their guest needs! ... As mostly will attend to your need expecting a tip to be given, otherwise a sour-unfriendly attitude will be given back to you, or more so, will not be even attending to your need.

WIFI- you have to pay if you really need it! They charge £30-35 for a week. And it is per gadget, per person. So if there are two of you in the room, you cannot share it!!!!!

The BEST PART of our travel is when we have met our guide who has taken us in and around the Luxor area. He was recommended by another guest of the hotel, and you can find good reviews of his service here in Tripadvisor. Be aware, the hassling and haggling scenerio in Luxor is ranging from desperate to annoying!!!! At one point, some squared up in front of my face forcing us to use his caleche (horse-driven carriage)!!!! So as a novice visiting this area, having our guide was a relief for us to enjoy the best there is for Luxor to offer.

Our guide, who was recommended by a fellow tourist staying in our hotel, recommended 'Mr Fish'. We later found that 'Mr Fish' is run by three brothers. It was MR WAEL MOHAMED who we have met and gave us a HASSLE-FREE, TRUSTWORTHY, AND RELIABLE tour throughout our stay in Luxor. He did a good job, offering as device and suggestions of what to see and giving us a very good price ( his charges are marked down to less than £20-25 that being offered by hotel/tour agents)

He made our trip to Luxor a more SAFE and ENJOYABLE !!!!

You can contact Mr Wael Mohamed and get a good quote for any private tours and travels in and around Luxor and/or Egypt. He can even give you a DAY IN THE LIFE OF TRADITIONAL EGYPTIAN LIVING.

Business Name: WAEL's WHEELS
Owner: Mr Wael Mohamed
Skype name/address: waelswheels
Email address: wael826@yahoo.com
Contact number (Egypt): 002 01 003745355

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Luxor Hotel

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Luxor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel is a new member in Hostelworld .Lotus Hotel has a unique location in the heart of Luxor. We have 58 rooms and suites all with balcony or terrace overlooking the Nile (40 double rooms, 10 royal suites, 8 triple). All rooms consist of a double bed, air-conditioning, telephone, cable TV, music channel, minibar, smoke alarm, private shower, bathtub and WC. In the hotel we have a restaurant where you can enjoy your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Lotus Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Luxor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.