We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonable good compromise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Land Hotel

Save Saved
You added Happy Land Hotel to your Saves list
Happy Land Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Land Hotel
El Kamar St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Treviso, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very reasonable good compromise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

is a good compromise between quality and price. the rooms are very clean and quiet. precisely what you need after a day in luxor. the manager is very helpful and really did his best to make our stay pleasant.
the hotel is a 10-minute walk from the city center and train station. good position.
if you need you can leave your luggage after the ceck out (train in the night).
in this period, the breakfast is not very rich ( a cup of tea, beans, bread).
definitely recommend the hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Cheap and basic but the manager, his welcome and his excellent advice make it a pleasure to stay here. And you're not in 'tourist' Luxor, though the temple is still nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Brilliant breakfast, friendly staff, clean, cheerful and everything worked. Shame there weren't many other travellers around though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed three nights in this generally good hostel. Management and staff are very friendly! Rooms are average at best, but the rooftop restaurant is nice. Breakfast is served from 7.30 and consisted of fuul, falafel, tomatoes, bread and, a fried egg and coffee (better than your average egyptian hostel breakfast).

The tour I took was a slight deception (the guide seemed genuinely uninterested in providing a good service and a visit to the "factory shop" was compulsary).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place is nice, realy clean with an excellent breakfast on the roof in a holiday ambiance. ««««««««««we choose to change for 2 reasons, the noise on the street was keeping us awake, the price was high compare to around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Hi
I went to this hotel as suggested by Lonely Planet... my guide was printed in 2006 so I expected changes in prices, anyway.
However, when I arrived, I was surprised by the price but as it was late in the evening I checked in anyway. That evening I went out and checked other hotels nearby, like Princess which was 45% cheaper for similar services.
When I came back to the hotel, I asked the staff why the price was so high compared to other hotels, the staff spoke very poor English and mis-understood that I didnt want to pay, they wanted to retain my passport, etc. It made me furious and finally they called the manager and gave my passport back to me.
Next morning, I had an explanation from the manager/owner about their price. However, I found him very arrogant and unconsiderate so I left out that same morning and went to Princess hotel where staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel has basic rooms and no furniture. The beds are comfy and clean. However the bathroom was very reasonable with enough space to shower and plenty hot water. We had two rooms next to the reception area but it was not very loud during the night. For the price this hotel was adequate. We also had our laundry done here and it costed us less than 20EGP for a load of laundry!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Land Hotel

Address: El Kamar St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Happy Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Land Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.