We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Luxor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Pola Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Pola Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
New Pola Hotel Luxor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Drammen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Luxor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are many reasons for choosing New Pola if you want to go to Luxor. First of all: It is very good value for money. You stay extremely cheap in a clean and nice hotel with a comforting swimming pool on the roof.Next: The location is ideal for trips to the most exciting places of interest as well as to restaurants and shopping areas. At last I want to mention a smiling, lovely staff who wants to help you whatever your demand is. Thanks to the staff I have visited this hotel a lot of times, and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
25
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Pola on four occassions most recently in April 2012, and have found it to be very good value for money and an excellent base for exploring Luxor. The Coptic owners are very nice and friendly, and despite the dark reception area, this Hotel is very clean and well cared for. The rooms are clean, basic and nice, if you get a room at the front of the Hotel you can watch the comings and goings on the street below. The pool on the roof is small, but a great place to cool down in the heat of the day and a great place to watch the sunset over the Nile. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the Hotel for you, but if you want a clean, basic and very well positioned Hotel, then I would recommend the Pola.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone ,UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nice comfy rooms and standard breakfast. But travel republic rep made us move after a morning as too few guests and too dark. We however were enjoying the place. Great views and clean pool area. Moved to St Josephs which was super.More later

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I usualy stay in the New Pola overnight or at most a couple of days on my arrival in Luxor whilst my flat is being prepared,I have always found the rooms very clean with freshly laundered linen,The breakfast is very poor and I usualy just have coffee and cereal,The waiters can be a bit persistent trying to get you to eat in the restaraunt but just be assertive and politely refuse,The staff are very friendly and just looking for business I did try an evening meal on one occasion but it was very poor and I left it,If you are looking for a holiday filled with luxury and waited on hand and foot then the New Pola isnt for you and lets face it most people after working hard all year want exactly this but if you just want a base to explore the wonderful sights of Luxor I would give it a try,the prices are very cheap and at the end of the day you get what you pay for,

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Dreary reception, dreary, room, dreary service!
Having said that, the hotel was fairly empty in March/April 2011, but the reception desk remained unhelpful when we asked to change room.
Breakfast was okay - if you like mashed potato and salad and cheese and Egyptian 'ful' beans and bread. Actually I did, but it would have been nice if anyone had spoken to us.
Yes, the memory of it remains tired and dreary!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were very impressed by the quality of room and location of hotel. Outstanding. Staff were quite enthusiastic overall. On the other hand, breakfast was about worst I have experienced. Toast and coffee (surely a bare minimum) was difficult to obtain. How do you run out of instant coffee? Wifi was free but did not work... and don't let them talk you into buying their egyptian wine. Pool very heavily chlorinated but appeared to be very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Well what can we say. We arrived at this property on our honeymoon.The first thing you notice is the dark reception area and corridors that stinks of urine.Our first room overlooked a building site,had broken filthy bathroom.We asked for an upgrade and had to pay £75 CASH ONLY only to be given a dirty double room with broken bathroom which had pubic hairs all over the floor,broken air conditioning and broken safe!!The Pool on the rooftop had toilet paper in it and broken tiling. Needless to say we left immediately for another hotel. Please DO NOT GO HERE if you want to avoid upset.It's appalling to say the least.

Room Tip: take a candle with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Pola Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pola Hotel Luxor

Address: Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Pola Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your New Pola Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Pola Luxor
Luxor New Pola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Pola Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.