We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could stay longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Pola Hotel Luxor

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
New Pola Hotel Luxor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Maidstone ,UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nice comfy rooms and standard breakfast. But travel republic rep made us move after a morning as too few guests and too dark. We however were enjoying the place. Great views and clean pool area. Moved to St Josephs which was super.More later

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
25
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I usualy stay in the New Pola overnight or at most a couple of days on my arrival in Luxor whilst my flat is being prepared,I have always found the rooms very clean with freshly laundered linen,The breakfast is very poor and I usualy just have coffee and cereal,The waiters can be a bit persistent trying to get you to eat in the restaraunt but just be assertive and politely refuse,The staff are very friendly and just looking for business I did try an evening meal on one occasion but it was very poor and I left it,If you are looking for a holiday filled with luxury and waited on hand and foot then the New Pola isnt for you and lets face it most people after working hard all year want exactly this but if you just want a base to explore the wonderful sights of Luxor I would give it a try,the prices are very cheap and at the end of the day you get what you pay for,

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Dreary reception, dreary, room, dreary service!
Having said that, the hotel was fairly empty in March/April 2011, but the reception desk remained unhelpful when we asked to change room.
Breakfast was okay - if you like mashed potato and salad and cheese and Egyptian 'ful' beans and bread. Actually I did, but it would have been nice if anyone had spoken to us.
Yes, the memory of it remains tired and dreary!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were very impressed by the quality of room and location of hotel. Outstanding. Staff were quite enthusiastic overall. On the other hand, breakfast was about worst I have experienced. Toast and coffee (surely a bare minimum) was difficult to obtain. How do you run out of instant coffee? Wifi was free but did not work... and don't let them talk you into buying their egyptian wine. Pool very heavily chlorinated but appeared to be very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Well what can we say. We arrived at this property on our honeymoon.The first thing you notice is the dark reception area and corridors that stinks of urine.Our first room overlooked a building site,had broken filthy bathroom.We asked for an upgrade and had to pay £75 CASH ONLY only to be given a dirty double room with broken bathroom which had pubic hairs all over the floor,broken air conditioning and broken safe!!The Pool on the rooftop had toilet paper in it and broken tiling. Needless to say we left immediately for another hotel. Please DO NOT GO HERE if you want to avoid upset.It's appalling to say the least.

Room Tip: take a candle with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The management continues to invest in the hotel.
As there are not many tourists now, breakfast has been sized down a bit.
Even in Maritime King's Island (former Mövenpick), not everything is available anymore on the menu card.
Many hotels in Luxor are now available for extremely good value.
Notwithstanding the heath of sometimes 43°, the air is dry and it's really feasable.
The ramadam in Luxor is like a big feast in the evening, and people are surprisingly friendly and less pushy than before the revolution.
At my opinion, nearby Joseph hotel is less pleasant than Pola, for many reasons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

after staying at the pola for 5 or 6 years running i was very dissappointed with the standard this year and will not be returning! theyve lost our custom, breakfast consisted of stale bread and cheese , there was never any lighting on in the hotel or air conditioning in the dining room or reception , its gone really downhill

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Pola Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pola Hotel Luxor

Also Known As:
New Pola Luxor
Luxor New Pola Hotel
Address: Khalid Ben El Walid, Luxor 1868, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Pola Hotel Luxor 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your New Pola Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Pola Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Pola Hotel Luxor to your Saves list