We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, quiet, charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool, quiet, charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Off a side-street on the West Bank, El Nakhil has no frills, but everything you need. The rooms are cool, spacious, and unique. The walled courtyard garden was lush and quiet, and is filled with birdsong in the mornings. The rooftop terrace has nice views and they serve a good breakfast - and let us linger for an extra half-day with no trouble at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
69
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

After staying in hotels along the western desert, we ended our Egypt trip in this hotel in the West Bank in Luxor. It was a great way to end our trip. Tucked in the quiet area, un-touristy area of Luxor, we were welcomed by the beautiful arches of the windows in the reception area. The place is very well-kept, the restrooms immaculate. The bedrooms are standard but with thoughtful decor and huge spotless toilets. I agree, best shower in Egypt! The place has a homey feel - which is saying a lot!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff and beautifully designed hotel. Spacious, comfortable room (but bring a torch if you like to read in bed !) and bathroom. Lovely garden and roof terrace, where breakfast is served and meals are conveniently available, with a view of Luxor Temple. We tecommend the lemon juice! Very good location, just a few minutes walk from the public ferry and in a real village. All sites within easy reach.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious ground floor room with domed ceiling small terrace. Staff were happy to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at El Nakhil. The garden especially is lovely and secluded, a suntrap even in January. Helpful staff, we arrived very early in the morning by the night train from Cairo, and they let us have the room from 8 AM free of charge.
We can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

El Nakhil Hotel is situated on the West Bank of the Nile, down a quiet alley, away from the traffic, dust and noise of the city of Luxor directly across the river. It is conveniently located for visiting Queen Hapshepsut's Temple, Valley of the Kings, Dar El Medina, Colossi of Memnon, Ramesseum and Habu Medinet. It is a 5 minute boat ride across the river to Luxor and access to Luxor Temple and Karnak. (Boat ride costs 1EL.) The hotel is arranged around a leafy courtyard which fills with birdsong at dawn and dusk. A large roof terrace provides al fresco dining from 7am to 10.30pm. The kitchen is excellent. The downstairs rooms open onto the courtyard. The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking it. We enjoyed sitting out on ours to watch the sun go down. It was our first time in Egypt and the owners, Birgit and Salah, were very helpful making recommendations. The staff at El Nakhil were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs, providing breakfast to order at 6am so that we could get an early start on sightseeing. I couldn't recommend El Nakhil more highly.

Room Tip: We liked being upstairs and having a balcony to watch the sunset from each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Run by Birgit and Salah, El Nakhil is located in the quiet West Bank of Luxor. Since we were arriving late at night, we called ahead, and Salah offered to pick us up. The easiest was for us to take a taxi to the local ferry, from the East Bank to West Bank, and he would be there to take us to the hotel. He was great in that he told us what the taxi and ferry should cost so that we wouldn’t be taken advantage of. Taking the ~5-min. ferry ride, for 1 LE was a nice, non-touristy experience. Salah was waiting for us with a warm greeting, and while our bags were driven to the hotel, he suggested we walk the very short distance so that we would know the way when we went out ourselves. At the hotel Biirgit greeted us and we were shown to our simple, yet super clean and comfortable rooms, each with a private patio.

A generous breakfast is served on the soothing and quiet rooftop terrace, from which you can see across the Nile to Luxor Temple. El Nakhil also serves lunch and dinner. Salah and his staff arranged our transportation to the West Bank sights, like Valley of the Kings/Queens and Ramusem for a good price similar to one quoted in Lonely Planet. What a relief to have a staff who gave us reasonable prices for the local services, unlike our experience in Cairo, where the big hotel quoted us inflated prices for taxis, etc.

I would highly recommend El Nakhil Hotel for its service, rooftop terrace, comfortable rooms and great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at El Nakhil. Clean, helpful, and a good location on the WEST BANK of the Nile in Gezira El Bairat. Very close to the ferry boat to East Luxor, so we could visit sights there, or souq, restaurants, etc, easily day or night. Public ferry is inexpensive (LE1 or less) so avoid the touts unless in a hurry.

Hotel owner and staff helpful and friendly, and we have an enjoyable stay. Great rooftop breakfast and restaurant. Hotel happy to accept LE, GBP, EURO for payment.

Room Tip: Check out the room on arrival as some have small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.