We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at El Nakhil. Clean, helpful, and a good location on the WEST BANK of the Nile in Gezira El Bairat. Very close to the ferry boat to East Luxor, so we could visit sights there, or souq, restaurants, etc, easily day or night. Public ferry is inexpensive (LE1 or less) so avoid the touts unless in a hurry.

Hotel owner and staff helpful and friendly, and we have an enjoyable stay. Great rooftop breakfast and restaurant. Hotel happy to accept LE, GBP, EURO for payment.

Room Tip: Check out the room on arrival as some have small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
69
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times, well my partner 4 times and we have never been disappointed, our review is long overdue. The location is good, away from the hassle, and the accommodation very nice, with tasteful decor and nice and clean. The hosts are wonderful, and we wish them all the best in what must be a difficult time, they deserve to succeed.
Kerry and Nora

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is my second visit to El-Nakhil. The place has not changed much - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff & management attentive and friendly. However the breakfast could be improved with an offering of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uki, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I found this place one of the best to stay in the whole of Egypt. I was warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even going out of their way to take me to a doctor. The food was excellent and was served on their rooftop dining area which had stunning views of Luxor and the Nile. The hotel's location is across the river opposite the Luxor temple and is easy to reach by public ferry (1EGP) and a short walk. I had many a fascinating conversation with Brughid, the Hotel's manager and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The room and bathroom was clean and each day I was presented with a towel design with fresh flowers on my bed which was also very comfortable.The room had a private patio with table and chairs that overlooked the beautiful courtyard garden that was full of trees and birds. So if youre looking for a place thats both relaxing and qualitative then this is definitely the place to stay. Thank you to the fabulous staff at El Nakhil for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We loved El Nakhil for its tranquillity, West bank location, spacious room with a balcony overlooking a garden filled with sparrows and doves, and the best shower we had in Egypt. Contending with the mosquitoes was a problem (too bad no mosquito netting), but the hard beds seem to be standard for Egypt. Birgit was so nice, as were all staff even though they weren't always able to answer our questions about local activities and attractions. Still, it was lovely, and we were so happy to come back to it after our Aswan excursion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

still one of my favourite hotels ever after travelling to several other countries since.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

we have just spent 5 nights at the el nakhil hotel and were very impressed with the value for money.
the owners and staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was to much trouble.we split our trip up by going to cairo and they allowed us to leave our luggage with them.
the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and the food very good.
if you do not need tv and minibar etc this place meets all your needs in luxor,we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.