We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Venus Hotel to your Saves list
Venus Hotel
Youseff Hassan Street, Luxor 99999, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Venus hotel in Luxor in October 2012. We had a triple air-conditioned room with private bathroom, including breakfast, for 80EP (for the two of us, not each.) The hotel is situated in the centre of Luxor, in the next street to the local main souk.

The hotel was being transferred to new ownership while we were there and they have bought new sheets, blankets and towels for every room and are in the process of upgrading the breakfast menu.

Yes, it's noisy outside, but to be quite honest, we just shuttered the wooden window blinds on the outside of the glass windows and we then heard nothing except the quiet-ish air-conditioning in our room.

The staff at the Venus hotel are very friendly and they were always ready and willing to take the extra time to make sure our stay there was enjoyable. We have stayed in two hotels in Luxor in past times but have found the Venus to be the most to our liking.

The Venus also offers day trips to the Valley of the Kings and other sites and they have a taxi driver on-hand to help visitors to plan their itinerary, which we found very helpful when we planned our day-trip visit to the temples of Abydos and Dendara by air-conditioned taxi.

I recommend the Venus hotel to all individual travellers. Their rooms and good and their prices are inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor - you can pick up the wi-fi signal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place has full marks. Abdul the Manager and his staff were the most hospitable and kind people I 've experienced when staying anywhere. They went to great lengths alway going that extra mile to see that we were comfortable looked after and well fed at the Hotel. The Food was fantastic as much as it was generous. The various tours, trips he made sure we were well looked after with and that we paid a fair price if anything the prices were cheap and a real bargain. I had no problems sleeping and the place was very clean. As well as driving us around he also took us to the Airport bearing in mind we were in Luxor and our flight was from Cairo such hospitality and generousity of spirit is exceptional If you do plan on visiting Luxor stay here you'll experience genuine Eygptian hospitality and all the good things of the Culture. The Hotel is a bargain (breakfast is included in the cost) and to be honest we received far more than the very low price (in reality) we paid for. Top marks to abdul and his staff . The location could nt have been better 5 mins to Luxor Temple and 7 mins walk to the Station. Abdul will also pick you up from the station if you contact him first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The place is falling apart, the outside noise is constant, and you can find comfort elsewhere. So why the five stars? Simple: the people. The most inviting, engaging, helpful, interesting and fun group of staff you can imagine. Chat with any of them and you'll understand. As a lodging, you get what you pay for. As an experience, so long as you're up for it, there is no price tag. It's the people who make Egypt such an incredible place, and the Venus Hotel proves it tenfold.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The staff at the VENUS are GREAT. They showed me, told me and took terrific care of me. The room is basic but so is the price. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Yes it's a bargain to stay here but impossible to get a decent night's sleep.
The noise from the street outside is deafening, even when we managed to get a couple of hours kip early morning the hawkers setting up their stalls at 4.00 am woke us up again.
Staff are very young, and service is O.K in terms of asking if you wanted to eat whilst we were using the wi-fi in the restaurant, however whenever we walked past reception we were badgered with whether we wanted any of their tours yet - this is obviously the main way they make their money.
Room was ok, not a very comfy bed, and the bathroom was quite dirty, with hardly any water pressure at all in the shower.
If you must stay at the Venus just bring very good earplugs with you..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tastingfoodie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011 via mobile

I went to the Venus hotel looking for a bargain and got way more than expected! Yes its an old hotel but its really clean and I got a room with a shower and bathtub, ye! The breakfast was included and the management helped us organize a ride to an oasis. A lady called Paola works there and she is super kind, friendly and knowlegable about Egyptology, her being an archeologist helps. The price is more than decent for what you get and the entire staff is friendly (not overbaring) and honest. The location makes its so that you are close to everything; market place, pharmacy, food... Did I mention there is a rooftop terrace and a restaurant(good food AND price) on the second floor?
It was simply a really positive experience that I fully recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here in January 2011, and it was 40 egyptian pounds per person per night. Decent rooms with average beds, clean sheets and uncomfortable pillows. To get hot water we had to ask reception and they turned on the pump for us. There was wifi but it only worked on the ground floor and the second floor. Breakfast was included (bread, cheese, jam, yoghurt and coffee).

Unfortunately it was extremely noisy until at least 2am, but earplugs worked wonders!

The staff were very nice and very helpful, and could organise tours (although we visited sights independently). There was no hassle, the price was constant for the rooms and we found no touts there. There was also a nice rooftop area where we took our food and beers and had a nice evening.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Address: Youseff Hassan Street, Luxor 99999, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venus Hotel is very well located near to the bus or train stations and the pharaohs temples. We have singles, doubles, triples rooms with private bathrooms and hot water, balcony, AC and fan, free room service 24 hours. Also the breakfast is included in the price of the room - you can take it in the restaurant or in the roof top garden, you can use the laundry machine for free or pay a little for the service, we have in the reception the information desk where you can get in all the languages maps, cards and the guide of all the trips and tours in Egypt. You can enjoy in the fun corner the books, magazines, the games, learn Arabic, listen to music or smoke shisha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.