We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fab pool and great Nile View Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Iberotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, fab pool and great Nile View Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel has a great location near to town and Luxor Temple. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean and well kept. It is a great base for doing all the sightseeing around Luxor. The food is buffet style as you would expect but very nice and good selection. The hotel was quiet so we were given a free upgrade to a room with a great view of The Nile.

Find ‘Craig David’ – the resident tour organiser and he will sort everything for you at really reasonable prices and with a great, friendly service that you can trust – plus he makes you the best tea in Luxor! You will find him and his boat next to the swimming pool, but if for any reason he is not there then call him on (002) 01002056474. The really good thing is he is friendly but does not hassle you like all the rest of the people on the streets of Luxor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    252
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
137
262
50
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was very good although very quiet. We had a nice room on the 4th floor with a Nile view (which is usually extra but we didn't pay) We had a view of the West Bank, the Valley of the Kings and the Hills of Thebes which were illuminated at night. The swimming pool was on a barge on the Nile which was different. We had to walk through the gardens and across a little bridge.
The food was good and the staff very polite and attentive. I would reccommend lunch at the pool which we found better at the restaurant.
As I said, it was very quiet.We were told that there was only 40% occupancy but we think that it was a lot less than that. There were usually about 12 people at the pool and in the bar at night there was more staff than guests!
We did all the antiquities which are awesome. Luxor temple, Karnak temple, Luxor museum. The sheer age just blows your mind. The Valley of the Kings is a must. We went with the hotel boat man known as Craig David, which cost a bit less than with the tour operator. We didn't leave the hotel until 8am and were taken across the Nile by boat and we were in the VOK by 8.30am well ahead of the coaches which leave the hotel at 6.30am. We were allowed into 3 tombs of Rameses which had nothing in them other that the decorated walls and hieroglyphics. We paid extra to go into Tutenkahmens tomb which had the sarcophagus with the solid gold burial mask, and also King Tut's corpse/mummy sealed in a glass case.Just the head and feet were visible.
As for Luxor, never again. The Corniche area is very nice and smart but other areas are scruffy and smelly. They have a lot of the horses and carts for the tourists so the place stinks.
The locals are horrendous. The hassling is more like harrasment.Within 5 seconds of leaving the hotel we were bombarded with guys, taxis, horse and cart, cigs, newspapers, tissues, you name it. I know that they have to earn a living, I get that, but they really do invade your personel space and won't take no for an answer.
They don't seem to realise that if they left people alone they would do more business. Guests who had been to Luxor before say that they are much more aggresive and intimidating now.We tended to do our sightseeing in the morning and holed up in the hotel in the afternoon, couldn't face going out again which isn't like us,we are very intrepid seniors and we have travelled the world,but this place had us beaten
Also, beware of pickpockets on scooters. We had a nasty experience near the hotel. A scooter pulled up near us with 4 (yes 4) people on it. One scruffy guy got off, took off his scarf and pretended he wanted to sell it to me whilst trying to pick my husbands pocket. he wasn't successful, there was nothing in his pocket anyway and they shot off.
The rep warned us about the possibilty of getting 'the runs' and one of the main problems is the money would you believe. We used hand gel all the time. Some of the notes have to be seen to be believed.
I'm glad we did Luxor. We did Cairo in 1974, and Luxor has always been on our 'to do' list. I would reccommend the Iberotel.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor, Nile facing are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days. The hotel is quite nice and really decent value for the money. The staff was friendly, especially in the restaurant at breakfast and around the pool.
Our room was comfortable and spacious and had a safe. Our balcony was roomy and had an amazing view over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings area.
It is located only a 5 minute stroll from the Luxor Temple. The town is pleasant with many options for eating and shopping. It was fun to shop in the market area, and we managed to find some really nice and helpful guys who ran a small liquor store so we could get some beers for the room.
The breakfast buffet was good and as mentioned the service excellent. We never ate lunch or dinner there so I can't comment on that (although dinner smelled good!).
Disappointing (as in many hotels in Egypt) that WiFi is not free. This has now become a basic service and really should be free in these hotels.
The grounds were well kept at all times. The pool and pool area over the Nile was fantastic. What a view relaxing with a beer or swimming and seeing felucca boats gently drifting by.
They accepted Visa for payment and it showed up in US$ making it easy for us to keep track of.
The sunset view off our balcony on the 4th floor was amazing! At night they VOK is lit up as well so that is also a great sight from the room.
In all we really enjoyed staying here. It was a great base for our trips to the VOK, museum, etc and close to many great places to eat. The only criticism is that the carriage drivers are quite aggressive and relentless when we were walking. In addition, many people who merely gave us directions wanted money in return. Now, that's no fault of the hotel and is quite manageable. I would not let it deter me from returning again.

Room Tip: Try and get up on the 4th or 5th floor for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms were pretty old and worn, fairly clean though. The lobby area has a strange nicotine coloured hue to it from the light coming through the roof. Reception staff weren't very helpful. Breakfast buffet was pretty good. The star attraction is the pool floating on the nile which is great at sunset. Hagag the pool waiter is lovely, the food is cheap and decent, beer is very expensive though. The hotel is very central, 10 minute walk to the temple, lots of taxi, horse and felucca touts outside though. We had a street view and nile view room as I apparently booked a street view room even though it is described on Booking.com as a superior double. They upgraded us to one which you could see the nile and the street, the noise dies down at night though and we slept well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Iberotel for a week in March. The hotel was well maintained, very clean with very attentive friendly helpful staff who did all they could to assist the guests.
The food was simple buffet style but the choices and quality was excellent. Breakfast in particular was much better than would normally be expected with hot and cold selections.
The plumbing and electrics all worked well.
In Luxor you will be hassled in the street, which is fine if the hotel provides some peace and tranquility between outings. In this instance the hotel was a real haven from the street which can be wearing. I'd recommend booking boats, caleche and excursions through a travel agent rather than take the cheaper option og being led by someone approaching you in the street. There are several along the Corniche, we werre very happy with Jimmy (Jamy) Gaaraf at Jolley's.
Guest numbers were low but I can't think of anything negative about the stay and it would be top of my list if returning to Luxor.

Room Tip: Superior room with street view was interesting, Nile view may be obscured by trees but some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned 3/4/13 from a weeks stay at this hotel. this is the second time I have stayed there and the cleanliness and staff have always been excellent. The pool area is spotless and its in a fantastic location for exploring Luxor. On that note... There is a hotel shop just to the right immediatley past the the doorman, selling handbags and poufs . It calls itself NEXT ! go in there, if you want trips at a 1/3 of the price the holiday companies charge. Don't be worried - the trips are excellent, safe and with a really good English speaking guide if required. They ask for a small deposit, the rest isn't paid until you are back at the Iberotel. Ive used the same little shop each time I have been and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Nile view third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Iberotel 20 – 27 March 2013 on a package holiday with First Choice. 4 adults and a baby,(14 month old).

The hotel itself is worth its 3 star rating in our opinion. The rooms were clean and tidy. For us, we just needed a comfortable bed and a shower as we spent very little time in our room. Each day we returned to a clean made up room with fresh linen and towels. We did find that the air conditioning wasn’t the best but we were on the 5th floor so able to have the windows open all night. We had a view of the street and the Nile, this was perfect as we could sit and watch the world go by and see the locals go about their daily lives, which was fascinating, if you like this ensure you have a room on either the 4th or 5th floor.

The hotel pool, bars and restaurants were also clean and they provide towels to use by the pool. I think the only fault was the short walk to the toilets if you were lazing by the pool but this wasn’t really an issue at all, worth it for having a pool on the Nile.

The staff where extremely friendly and couldn’t do enough to help us especially the waiters and bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

There wasn’t much in the way of entertainment but again we mingled with other guests, explored Luxor and discussed the day’s excursions or upcoming trips so again for us this didn’t matter.

As we were all inclusive we ate in the main restaurant for breakfast and evening meal. There was always a fine variety of food to choose from with a selection of salad items, soups, breads and made to order selections which normally included a meat or fish item and pasta. Alongside this the buffet always included a selection of vegetables, chicken, fish and a beef option. We never had any difficulty finding anything to eat. For breakfast there was a selection of local cereals, fruit, yoghurt, breads, a buffet of hot food and made to order eggs, omelettes, pancakes and best of all the home made falafels (amazing!). As the hotel caters for Nile cruise guests at lunchtime we generally ate in the covered area by the pool. Here they did a wide selection of sandwiches and meals, again large portions and very tasty, eaten whilst watching the boats cruise up and down the Nile, bliss.

The local trips we arranged ourselves including viewing Luxor Temple, a ride in the horse and carriage (once at sun set and a morning trip through a local market) and a walk around the town, all of which we would recommend. We used ‘Craig David’ the hotels boat man to arrange our trip over to the West Bank to see the Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple, there were only 6 people on our trip to the west bank which made it very personal and Mohammed our guide was extremely informative, helpful and open to questions, something I don’t think we would have had in a large First Choice trip, the other advantage is that we could arrange if for a day suitable for us (we opted for a cooler day). We also used Craig to take a trip on the Nile at sunset which included local tea refreshments, fruit, a trip to the local banana plantation, an island where you can swim in the Nile and a local house with views of the Nile which where spectacular, well worth it, value for money and something a little bit different. Other guest also used him to arrange various other excursions and boat trips, a vast saving on the First Choice prices. I would recommend using him.

All in all, a fabulous holiday, one which I would recommend. Of course you get hassled when out and about but it is Egypt and this is the way of life there. If you are polite, don’t engage in conversation and carry on walking they are courteous and leave you alone, if you don’t want this I would suggest using a horse and carriage, but make sure it is one with a decent safe carriage. We chose ours after seeing the owner tend to his horse and carriage every evening which satisfied us that he treated his horse well and looked after his carriage keeping it safe.

At the side of the hotel is a HSBC bank with a ATM machine outside, we used our debit card and the exchange rate worked out better than any on offer in the UK before we left.

At the airport you will require a visa before you are allowed entry, this cost $15 per person, but you could pay in dollars, sterling, euro or Egyptian pounds they worked out the exchange rate for you, (approx £10 per person)

If you are going all inclusive with First Choice, read the small print only the main restaurant and pool bar are included for food. If you want to use the other restaurants there is a charge (approximately the same as you would pay for a Chinese in the UK). We didn’t realise this and though we had an array of restaurants to choose from. There was no in-flight entertainment (film or radio) or meal provided, but you can buy food on board. I found though there was very little leg room so if you prefer the extra leg room I would suggest paying for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#14 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.