We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Iberotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 5 days in this hotel in March 2013. It was satisfactory in that the location was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet dinners were not exactly revelatory, but kept the wolf from the door. We preferred the salads to the hot meals. There are far more interesting things to do in and around Luxor, so we cannot comment on the swimming pool, but we did once have an OK lunch in the café on the pontoon.
The atrium lobby was invariably a place of respite when we had run the gauntlet of the taxi drivers, calèche or felucca owners who besieged us as we walked back to the hotel along the Corniche.

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile view on the top floor and you, too, can enjoy magnificent sunsets and views of the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    255
    80
    28
    13
See reviews for
141
266
50
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

stayed here 9th january to 16th january 2013, traveled with my friend to celebrate her 50th birthday. The hotel, staff and food are excellent. We stayed in a room with side view of street and nile, it was good fun to watch the traffic at night. The gardens in the hotel are beautiful and the swimming pool is heated, we swam everyday and had lunch by the side of the nile. The bar staff were great especially mahmood he had your next drink lined up for you before your current drink was finished. Food was excellent. We booked a trip to valley of the kings with craig david and this was great value at £30. Yes you do get hassle every time you walk outside the hotel and it did un nerve me very much at first but we meet Stephen and Paul and we went out of the hotel with them. The more you venture outside the easier it became. Just a no thank you and you are left alone. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again as the staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What to say about Iberotel in Luxor ? Management needs flexibility.

If sharing my only first impression, the one given by the rude receptionist when checking in....you'll run away.
Despite being nearly empty, no way to get a room with Nile vew. Not commercial sure bue acceptable if nicely nicely said (some guest paying to be upgraded with Nile view...)
If you'd like internet : 6US$ for 30 minute or 20$ for 2 days...BUT you cannot access internet from your room with street view (i.e. next wasteland) !!!! So you need to accept a downgrade to the dark rooms with view on lobby to use your expensive internet...when it works. Two mornings out of 4, was simply no access.
Upgrade would be charged...downgrade does not give you extra services....even if it is the only way to get service for your paid internet.
Last but not least, when you request a late check out at 4pm...they would like to charge you 30 dollars...despite the hotel being nearly empty. So you check out at 12...

What a lack of management and a pity...because the rooms are nice, the swimming pool perfect and the breakfast among the best we had in Egypt. It could have been a good hotel but it was spoiled by the rules and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street...no internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.

Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the prefect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we did not accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by email: gm@iberotelluxor.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.

Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Panne, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this hotel is great ! location close to many beautiful things to visit .
food is verry good , swimming pool floated on the nile is wunderfull .
rooms are clean and the staff will make ur holiday unfurgetable !

Room Tip: take a room with nile vue !
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here one night with our family. The location is nice. The room was clean, but the carpet was in bad shape. The bar service was quite slow - we had to ask several times for them to take our order. The lobby was pretty. My big complaint is that we paid for 90 minutes of wi-fi, and the maybe got 30 SLOW minutes out of it before we couldn't even get on at all. Asked for a refund or a partial refund, but was refused.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.

Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the prefect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we did not accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by email: gm@iberotelluxor.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.

Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a week on a River Nile cruise on the Crown Prince ship (27-02-13.---06-03-13 where the crew and management were superb thanks to you all and Sue our Rep. The second week (06-03-13. until 13-03-13) we were booked into the Iberotel and pre-booked room 510 in the U.K. a Nile view for £140.00 but this did not happen as the room was already taken and would not be vacant until the next day hotel management did apologise for the error and offered us room 511 which was closer to the road, fumes and noise but was a Nile view. We were asked by management the next day if we wanted to move to room 510 now vacant we declined the offer. Most of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The vendors out in the streets of Luxor were a nuisance and would not take no for answer spoiling the visit to the city sites.

Room Tip: Do not book a Nile view wait until you reach the hotel and see what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble at the Iberotel, the staff can't do enough for you. We had a Nile view room besides the amazing view, the room is kept beautiful and clean. It also meant tea making facilities, there was a good selection of teas, coffees etc. If there isn't a drink there you want, just ask for it and the staff will try and get it for you. The supply of shampoos etc is also above average.
A bulb went in our room and it was changed immediately, you really felt you were a welcome guest rather than just a booking!
The food was delicious, breakfast with everything you could want and fill ups of coffee and tea prompt and numerous. We had one meal in the Italian Restaurant which we enjoyed but after our return from Aswan we found it closed, due to declining numbers of people staying there. So with some trepidation we tried the buffet, our fears were unfounded, the food was varied and fresh.
The hotel is in a good position for seeing the sites, the temple of Luxor within walking distance. We can't wait to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have booked a Nile view room, make sure it is from 200s as the 100s you can't see the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.